## Assembly

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# Committee on Aging and Long-Term Care

#### **Assembly Bill 296**

Relating to: modifying certain restrictions on admissions to, protective placements in, or transfers to intermediate care facilities for the mentally retarded and nursing homes.

By Representatives LeMahieu, Kestell, Vos. Ott, Krawczyk, Pettis, Hundertmark, Lothian, Townsend, Kaufert, Gronemus, Gunderson, Hahn, Gottlieb, Gielow, Albers, Van Akkeren, Nischke and Freese; cosponsored by Senators Roessler, Grothman, Brown, Kapanke, Lazich, Schultz and Olsen.

April 04, 2005 Referred to Committee on Aging and Long-Term Care.

#### April 28, 2005 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present: (9) Representatives Townsend, Hines, Pettis, LeMahieu, Strachota, Krusick, Vruwink, Pope-Roberts and Parisi.

Absent: (1) Representative Nischke.

### Appearances For

- Phil Ristow, Jefferson Jefferson County
- Diane Fett, Fond du Lac Fond du Lac County
- Sandra Roberts, Pardeeville Columbia County Health and Human Services Dept.
- Ann Wondergem, Sheboygan Sheboygan County Health & **Human Services**
- Joan Ketterman WI Counties Human Services Assoc.
- Craig Thompson WI Counties Association
- Andrew Phillips WI Counties Association
- Rep. Dan LeMahieu, Madison WI Assembly

#### Appearances Against

• Diane Greenley, Madison — WI Coalition for Advocacy

### Appearances for Information Only

None.

#### Registrations For

- Kevin Underwood, Hartford WI Parents Coalition for the Retarded
- Rebecca Underwood, Hartford Behalf of her son

- Tom Ramsey WI Assn. of Homes and Services for the Aging
- Mike Serpe, Kenosha Kenosha County
- David Krahn, Waukesha Waukesha County
- Sen. Carol Roessler, Oshkosh WI Senate
- David Carlson, Madison Dane County

#### Registrations Against

• None.

### May 26, 2005 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (9) Representatives Townsend, Hines, LeMahieu,

Nischke, Strachota, Krusick, Vruwink, Pope-

Roberts and Parisi.

Absent: (1) Representative Pettis.

Moved by Representative LeMahieu, seconded by Representative Nischke that **Assembly Bill 296** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (9) Representatives Townsend, Hines,

LeMahieu, Nischke, Strachota, Krusick,

Vruwink, Pope-Roberts and Parisi.

Noes: (0) None.

Absent: (1) Representative Pettis.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 0

Minette Lawrence Committee Clerk