Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Education Reform

Assembly Bill 3

Relating to: the number of pupils eligible to participate in the Milwaukee Parental Choice Program.

By Representatives Vukmir, Fields, Ziegelbauer, Huebsch, Nass, Montgomery, Gottlieb, Towns, Vrakas, Kaufert, Hundertmark, McCormick, Nischke, Stone, Gundrum, Jeskewitz, Honadel, Ott, Wood and Vos; cosponsored by Senators Darling, Plale, Kanavas, Stepp and Reynolds.

January 18, 2005 Referred to Committee on Education Reform.

January 18, 2005 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (7) Representatives Vukmir, Towns, Wood,

Nischke, Pridemore, A. Williams and Lehman.

Absent: (2) Representatives Nass and Sinicki.

Appearances For

- Representative Vukmir, Wauwatosa 14th Assembly District
- Senator Darling, River Hills 8th Senate District
- Representative Fields, Milwaukee 11th Assembly District
- Senator Plale, South Milwaukee 7th Senate District
- Henry Tyson, Milwaukee St. Marcus Lutheran School
- Jessie Mae James St. Marcus Lutheran School
- Tim Sheehy, Milwaukee Milwaukee Metropolitan Association of Commerce
- Basima Abdullah, Milwaukee Clara Mohammed School
- Donna Schmidt, Milwaukee Prince of Peace School
- Martha Freiman Jared Bruce Academy
- Terry Brown, Milwaukee St. Anthony School
- Dr. Howard Fuller, Milwaukee Alliance for Choices in Education
- Duane Moss Jared Bruce Academy
- Jeff Monday, Milwaukee Messmer Catholic Schools
- Dennis Alexander, Milwaukee African American Association of Independent Schools

Appearances Against

• Sam Carmen, New Berlin — Milwaukee Teacher's Education Association

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Denise Ritchford, Milwaukee CEO Leadership Academy
- Edna Mathews, Milwaukee African American Association of Independent Schools
- Senator Lazich, New Berlin 28th Seante District
- Bishop Cheryl Brown, Milwaukee Believers In Christ Academy & Ministry
- Judy Schultz, Wauwatosa Lutheran Special School
- Margo Downey, Milwaukee Jared Bruce Academy
- Judd Schemmel, Madison WI Council of Religious & Independent Schools
- Joan Hansen, Madison WMC
- Barbara Sella, Madison WI Catholic Conference
- Jerald Fair, Milwaukee African American Association of Independent Schools
- Nora Esparza, Milwaukee St. Anthony School
- Alma Teran, Milwaukee St. Anthony School
- Erika Caelr, Milwaukee St. Anthony School
- Miriam Martinez, Milwaukee St. Anthony School
- Maria Saenz, Milwaukee St. Anthony School
- Ismael Magana, Milwaukee St. Rafael School
- Margarita Gonzalez, Milwaukee St. Adalbert
- Monica Bames, Milwaukee St. Adalbert
- Maria Navarro, Milwaukee St. Adalbert
- Hilda Vargas, Milwaukee St. Adalbert
- Beatriz Bustos, Milwaukee St. Adalbert
- Wendy Lopez, Milwaukee St. Adalbert
- Margarita Alvarez, Milwaukee St. Adalbert
- Mayra Castillo, Milwaukee St. Rafael School
- Juana Juarez, Milwaukee St. Rafael School
- Araceli Vacquez, Milwaukee St. Rafael School
- Patricia Fuller, Milwaukee St. Rafael School
- Flavio Zambrano, Milwaukee St. Rafael School
- Carla Hart, Milwaukee Holy Wisdom Academy
- Maile Muro, Milwaukee Holy Wisdom Academy
- Thelma Craft, Milwaukee Holy Wisdom Academy
- Doris Madison, Milwaukee Holy Wisdom Academy
- Virginia Sanchez, Milwaukee St. Rafael School
- Rosalia Gonzalez, Milwaukee St. Rafael School
- Miriam Miranda, Milwaukee St. Rafael School

- Virginia Rios, Milwaukee St. Rafael School
- Margarita Chavez, Milwaukee St. Rafael School
- Taryw Moore, Milwaukee St. Marcus Lutheran School
- Juana Rodriguez, Milwaukee St. Anthony School
- Ruth Alvarez, Milwaukee St. Rafael School
- Gabriela Garcia, Milwaukee St. Rafael School
- Maria Padilla, Milwaukee St. Rafael School
- Carla Gardea, Milwaukee St. Rafael School
- Dorothy Smith, Milwaukee Messmer & La Brew Tropper
- Mano Montalvo, Milwaukee
- Maria de la Cruz, Milwaukee St. Anthony School

Registrations Against

- Bob Beglinger, Madison AFT-Wisconsin
- Michael Walsh, Madison WEAC
- Chris Thiel, Milwaukee Milwaukee Public Schools
- Jennifer Kammerud, Madison WI Dept. of Public Instruction
- Representative Polly Williams , Milwaukee 10th Assembly District
- Jennifer Morales, Milwaukee Milwaukee School Board
- Representative Sinicki, Milwaukee 20th Assembly District
- Mariono Martinez, Milwaukee

January 18, 2005 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (7) Representatives Vukmir, Towns, Wood, Nischke, Pridemore, A. Williams and Lehman.

Absent: (2) Representatives Nass and Sinicki.

Moved by Representative Vukmir, seconded by Representative Towns that **Assembly Bill 3** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (5) Representatives Vukmir, Towns, Wood, Nischke and Pridemore.

Noes: (2) Representatives A. Williams and Lehman.

Absent: (2) Representatives Nass and Sinicki.

According to Assembly Rule 11 (5)(b), Representative Nass asked that the record indicate he would have voted Aye on Passage of Assembly Bill 3 if he had been present.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 2

Dean Cady Committee Clerk