Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Joint Committee on Finance

Assembly Bill 4

Relating to: creating a nonrefundable individual income tax credit for certain amounts relating to health savings accounts that may be deducted from, or are exempt from, federal income taxes.

By Representatives Kaufert, Moulton, Nischke, Hundertmark, Wieckert, Gielow, Rhoades, Jensen, Vos, Kerkman, Ott, Van Roy, McCormick, Davis, Suder, Ainsworth, Nass, Stone, Freese, Gundrum, Underheim, Hines, Petrowski, Gronemus, Ziegelbauer, Lothian, Hubler, Ward, Kestell, Townsend, Albers, LeMahieu, J. Fitzgerald, Owens, Vrakas, Meyer, Strachota, Jeskewitz, Kreibich, Pettis, Musser, Kleefisch, Towns and Vukmir; cosponsored by Senators Darling, Leibham, Harsdorf, Kapanke, Zien, A. Lasee, Stepp, Olsen, Kanavas, Roessler, Grothman and Lazich.

January 13, 2005 Referred to Joint Committee on Finance.

January 18, 2005 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (16) Senators S. Fitzgerald, Lazich, Darling, Cowles, Leibham, Olsen, Decker and Taylor;

Representatives Kaufert, Ward, Jensen, Stone,

Rhoades, Meyer, Colon and Pocan.

Absent: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Kaufert, seconded by Senator Darling that **Assembly Substitute Amendment LRB 0004/1** be recommended for introduction.

Ayes: (16) Senators S. Fitzgerald, Lazich, Darling, Cowles, Leibham, Olsen, Decker and Taylor; Representatives Kaufert, Ward, Jensen,

Stone, Rhoades, Meyer, Colon and Pocan.

Noes: (0) None.

INTRODUCTION OF ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT LRB 0004/1 RECOMMENDED, Ayes 16, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Kaufert, seconded by Senator Darling that **Assembly Substitute Amendment LRB 0004/1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (12) Senators S. Fitzgerald, Lazich, Darling, Cowles, Leibham and Olsen; Representatives Kaufert, Ward, Jensen, Stone, Rhoades and Meyer.

Noes: (4) Senators Decker and Taylor; Representatives Colon and Pocan.

ADOPTION OF ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT LRB 0004/1 RECOMMENDED, Ayes 12, Noes 4

Moved by Representative Kaufert, seconded by Senator Darling that **Assembly Bill 4** be recommended for passage as amended with emergency statement attached pursuant to s. 16.47(20, Wisconsin Statutes.

Ayes: (12) Senators S. Fitzgerald, Lazich, Darling, Cowles, Leibham and Olsen; Representatives Kaufert, Ward, Jensen, Stone, Rhoades and Meyer.

Noes: (4) Senators Decker and Taylor; Representatives Colon and Pocan.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 12, Noes 4

Diane Harmelink Committee Clerk