Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Ways and Means

Assembly Bill 402

Relating to: creating a nonrefundable individual income tax credit for certain amounts of taxable social security benefits.

By Representatives Kerkman, Loeffelholz, Owens, Albers, Bies, Boyle, Davis, Freese, Gielow, Gronemus, Gunderson, Hahn, Hines, Honadel, Hundertmark, Jensen, Jeskewitz, Krawczyk, Kreibich, LeMahieu, Lothian, McCormick, Meyer, Mursau, Musser, Nass, Nischke, Ott, Petrowski, Pettis, Pridemore, Suder, Townsend, Van Roy, Vos, Vrakas and Wood; cosponsored by Senators Kedzie, Darling, Harsdorf, Kanavas, A. Lasee, Lassa, Lazich, Leibham, Roessler and Stepp.

May 05, 2005 Referred to Committee on Ways and Means.

June 8, 2005 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (12) Representatives Wood, Nass, Hahn, Jeskewitz,

Kerkman, Strachota, Pridemore, Berceau,

Ziegelbauer, Toles, Hebl and Fields.

Absent: (1) Representative Lothian.

Appearances For

• Samantha Kerkman — Representative, Author

Appearances Against

None.

Appearances for Information Only

• Sherrie Gates-Hendrix — WI Dept. of Revenue

Registrations For

- Neal Kedzie Senator, Author
- Joe Leibham Senator
- Gabe Loeffelholz Representative
- Carol Owens Representative
- Jeff Schoepke, Madison WMC
- Gail Sumi, Madison AARP Wisconsin

Registrations Against

• None.

Present: (12) Representatives Wood, Nass, Hahn, Jeskewitz, Kerkman, Strachota, Pridemore, Berceau,

Ziegelbauer, Toles, Hebl and Fields.

Absent: (1) Representative Lothian.

Moved by Representative Jeskewitz, seconded by Representative Kerkman that **Assembly Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (12) Representatives Wood, Nass, Hahn, Jeskewitz, Kerkman, Strachota, Pridemore, Berceau, Ziegelbauer, Toles, Hebl and Fields.

Noes: (0) None.

Absent: (1) Representative Lothian.

ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 12, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Jeskewitz, seconded by Representative Kerkman that **Assembly Bill 402** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (12) Representatives Wood, Nass, Hahn, Jeskewitz, Kerkman, Strachota, Pridemore, Berceau, Ziegelbauer, Toles, Hebl and Fields.

Noes: (0) None.

Absent: (1) Representative Lothian.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 12, Noes 0

Anthony Blodgett Committee Clerk