Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Agriculture

Assembly Bill 635

Relating to: participation by certain persons who buy potatoes in the Agriculture Producer Security Program and granting rule-making authority.

By Representatives Ballweg, Molepske, Ott, Gronemus, Albers, Friske, Hines, Hundertmark, McCormick, Musser, Petrowski, Owens, Strachota and Vos; cosponsored by Senators Brown, Lassa, Breske and Hansen.

August 30, 2005 Referred to Committee on Agriculture.

October 13, 2005 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present:	(10)	Representatives Ott, Nerison, Ainsworth,
		Hines, Suder, M. Williams, Loeffelholz,
		Vruwink, Molepske, Parisi.
Absent:	(5)	Representatives Petrowski, Towns, Gronemus,
		Ziegelbauer and Sinicki.

Appearances For

- Joan Ballweg State Representative, 41st Assembly District
- Paul Sowinski, Rhinelander Sowinski Farms, Inc.
- Mike Finnessy, Plover Wisconsin Potato & Vegetable Growers Association
- Bradley Faldet, Waupaca Wisconsin Potato & Vegetable Growers Association
- Ron Kuehn, Madison Wisconsin Potato & Vegetable Growers Association
- Mike Carter, Antigo Wisconsin Potato & Vegetable Growers Association
- Richard Pavelski, Hancock
- Steve Diercks, Coloma

Appearances Against

- Jeremy McPherson, Madison Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade & Consumer Protection
- Eric Hanson, Madison Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade & Consumer Protection
- Kevin LeRoy, Madison Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade & Consumer Protection
- John Exner, Madison Midwest Food Processors Association

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Jeff Lyon, Madison Wisconsin Farm Bureau Federation
- John Manske, Madison Wisconsin Federation of Cooperatives
- Roger Breske State Senator, 12th Senate District
- Ron Brown State Senator, 31st Senate District

Registrations Against

• None.

October 27, 2005 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present:	(14)	Representatives Ott, Nerison, Ainsworth,
		Petrowski, Hines, Suder, M. Williams,
		Loeffelholz, Towns, Gronemus, Vruwink,
		Ziegelbauer, Molepske and Parisi.
Absent:	(1)	Representative Sinicki.

Moved by Representative Ott, seconded by Representative Nerison that Assembly Amendment LRBa1267 to Assembly Substitute Amendment 1 be recommended for introduction.

- Ayes:(14) Representatives Ott, Nerison, Ainsworth,
Petrowski, Hines, Suder, M. Williams,
Loeffelholz, Towns, Gronemus, Vruwink,
Ziegelbauer, Molepske and Parisi.Noes:(0) None.
- Absent: (1) Representative Sinicki.

INTRODUCTION OF ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT LRBA1267 TO ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Ott, seconded by Representative Nerison that **Assembly Amendment LRBa1267 to Assembly Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

- Ayes:(14) Representatives Ott, Nerison, Ainsworth,
Petrowski, Hines, Suder, M. Williams,
Loeffelholz, Towns, Gronemus, Vruwink,
Ziegelbauer, Molepske and Parisi.Noes:(0) None.
- Absent: (1) Representative Sinicki.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT LRBA1267 TO ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Petrowski, seconded by Representative Towns that **Assembly Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

- Ayes:(14) Representatives Ott, Nerison, Ainsworth,
Petrowski, Hines, Suder, M. Williams,
Loeffelholz, Towns, Gronemus, Vruwink,
Ziegelbauer, Molepske and Parisi.Noes:(0) None.
- Absent: (1) Representative Sinicki.

ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Petrowski, seconded by Representative Loeffelholz that **Assembly Bill 635** be recommended for passage.

Ayes:	(13)	Representatives Ott, Nerison, Ainsworth,
		Petrowski, Hines, Suder, M. Williams,
		Loeffelholz, Towns, Gronemus, Vruwink,
		Ziegelbauer and Molepske.
NT	(1)	

- Noes: (1) Representative Parisi.
- Absent: (1) Representative Sinicki.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 1

Erin Ruby Committee Clerk