Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Health

Assembly Bill 709

Relating to: licensing midwives, granting rule-making authority, and providing a penalty.

By Representatives Underheim, Lamb, Hahn, Hines, Townsend, Musser, Pope-Roberts, Pettis, Owens, Molepske, Seidel, Montgomery, Young and Davis; cosponsored by Senators Grothman, Darling, Lassa, Reynolds, Coggs, Erpenbach and Olsen.

October 03, 2005 Referred to Committee on Health.

October 11, 2005 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (12) Representatives Underheim, Gielow, Wieckert, Krawczyk, Hundertmark, Strachota, Moulton, Wasserman, Shilling, Vruwink, Benedict and Nelson.

Absent: (1) Representative Vukmir.

Appearances For

- Carolina Gonzalez Schlenker, Pleasant Prairie Dr., Latino Health Organization
- Michael D. Feigel, Monomonie Dr.
- Alicia Glenn, Janesville Self
- Kathryn Prown, Fox Point WI Guild of Midwives
- Jane Crawford Peterson, Scandinavia WI Guild of Midwives
- Ingrid Anderson, Madison
- Mary Sommers, Oregon
- Ann Corazon Gauch, Mount Horeb
- Amanda Okopski, Madison

Appearances Against

- Leona VandeVusse, Grafton Dr., Individual Educator
- Lisa Hanson, Grafton

Appearances for Information Only

- Ron Laessig, Madison WI State Hygiene Lab
- Gina Dennik Champion, Madison WI Nurses Association
- Jeremy Levin, Madison Wisconsin Medical Society
- Pat Osborne, Madison WI Chapter American College of Nurse Midwives

 Kathryn Osborne, Madison — WI Chapter American Colleg of Nurse Midwives

Registrations For

- Mary Kohl, Sheboygan
- Valerie Szudy, Madison
- Billie Jo Waitola, Montello
- Cathy Szudy, Madison
- Sue Badger, LaValle
- Mary Jo Schiavoni, Madison
- Mary Batson, Madison
- Judy Shank, Manchester
- Anna Teter, Madison
- Behah Bree Gottschalk, Montello
- Chris Roberts CPM, Montello
- Michael A. Glenn, Janesville
- Timothy Wells, Beloit
- Levi Glenn, Janesville
- Stacey Feiner, Blue River
- Florence Yoder, Cazenovia
- Amanda J. Trayer, Loganville
- Gretchen Spicer, Avoca
- Lael Sheber, Madison
- Jennifer Draeger, Madison
- John Booth, Scandinavia
- Virginia R. Priest, Cascade
- Christina Reynolds, Scandinavia
- Tamas Peterson, Scandinavia
- Megan J. Collins, Madison
- Christina Dauter, Madison
- Mervin Peterson, Scandinavia
- Tami Schroeder, Verona
- Leah Hatcher, Shell Lake
- Debbie Healy, Madison
- Henry Prown, Milwaukee
- Karolina Johnson, Madison
- Julia Vance, Madison
- Margaret Kolbek, Cumberland
- Ann Mackowski, Waukesha
- Katie Schmucker, Brodhead
- Rhonda Borntrager, Brodhead
- Rhonda Borntrager, Brodhead
- Grace Policastro, Brodhead
- Erin Torres, Rewey Friends of WI Midwives

- Jenny Battke, Janesville
- Camryn Battke, Janesville
- Jordan Battke, Janesville
- Nichole Baumbach, Madison
- Marcy Huffaker, Baraboo
- Lydia Elmore Bertrand, Madison
- Iddo D. Yoder, Hillpoint
- Erma Hershberger, Loganville
- Sierra Hatcher, Shell Lake
- Brenda Gagnon, Eau Claire
- Michelle Breen, Algonquin Coalition for Illinois Midwifery
- Edythe Wells CPM, Beloit National Association of Certified Professional Midwives
- Aszani Kunkler, Madison Madison Birth Center
- Paula Bernini-Feigal, Mazomanie Morning Star Birth Services

Registrations Against

• April Scheener, Madison

November 22, 2005 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (12) Representatives Underheim, Vukmir, Gielow, Wieckert, Krawczyk, Hundertmark, Strachota, Wasserman, Shilling, Vruwink, Benedict and

Nelson.

Absent: (1) Representative Moulton.

Moved by Representative Underheim, seconded by Representative Gielow that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (11) Representatives Underheim, Gielow, Wieckert, Krawczyk, Hundertmark, Strachota, Wasserman, Shilling, Vruwink, Benedict and Nelson.

Noes: (1) Representative Vukmir. Absent: (1) Representative Moulton.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 11, Noes 1

Moved by Representative Underheim, seconded by Representative Wasserman that **Assembly Amendment 2** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (11) Representatives Underheim, Gielow, Wieckert, Krawczyk, Hundertmark, Strachota, Wasserman, Shilling, Vruwink, Benedict and Nelson.

Noes: (1) Representative Vukmir. Absent: (1) Representative Moulton.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 2 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 11, Noes 1

Moved by Representative Underheim, seconded by Representative Vruwink that **Assembly Amendment 3** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (11) Representatives Underheim, Gielow, Wieckert, Krawczyk, Hundertmark, Strachota, Wasserman, Shilling, Vruwink, Benedict and Nelson.

Noes: (1) Representative Vukmir. Absent: (1) Representative Moulton.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 3 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 11, Noes 1

Moved by Representative Underheim, seconded by Representative Gielow that **Assembly Bill 709** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (11) Representatives Underheim, Gielow, Wieckert, Krawczyk, Hundertmark, Strachota, Wasserman, Shilling, Vruwink, Benedict and Nelson.

Noes: (1) Representative Vukmir. Absent: (1) Representative Moulton.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 11, Noes 1

Randy Thorson
Committee Clerk