# **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Ways and Means**

### **Assembly Bill 910**

Relating to: creating a procedure for certain taxpayers to defer taxation on certain reinvested capital gains.

By Representatives Wieckert, Wood, Kaufert, Nischke, Freese, Ainsworth, Hahn, Vos, Hines, Musser, Friske, Nass, F. Lasee, Petrowski, Albers and Jeskewitz; cosponsored by Senators Brown and Roessler.

January 03, 2006 Referred to Committee on Ways and Means.

January 18, 2006 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD** 

Present: (12) Representatives Wood, Nass, Hahn, Jeskewitz,

Kerkman, Lothian, Strachota, Pridemore, Berceau, Ziegelbauer, Toles and Hebl.

Absent: (1) Representative Fields.

## Appearances For

• Steve Wieckert — Representative, Author

#### Appearances Against

• None.

### **Appearances for Information Only**

• None.

#### Registrations For

- Ron Brown Senator
- Steve Nass Representative
- Jeff Schoepke, Madison WMC
- Bill Smith, Madison National Federation of Independent Business

## Registrations Against

• Sherrie Gates-Hendrix — WI Dept. of Revenue

### February 8, 2006 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (13) Representatives Wood, Nass, Hahn, Jeskewitz, Kerkman, Lothian, Strachota, Pridemore, Berceau, Ziegelbauer, Toles, Hebl and Fields.

Absent: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Hahn, seconded by Representative Kerkman that **Assembly Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (9) Representatives Wood, Nass, Hahn, Jeskewitz, Kerkman, Lothian, Strachota, Pridemore and Ziegelbauer.

Noes: (4) Representatives Berceau, Toles, Hebl and Fields.

ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 4

Moved by Representative Wood, seconded by Representative Kerkman that **Assembly Bill 910** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (9) Representatives Wood, Nass, Hahn, Jeskewitz, Kerkman, Lothian, Strachota, Pridemore and Ziegelbauer.

Noes: (4) Representatives Berceau, Toles, Hebl and Fields.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 4

Anthony Blodgett Committee Clerk