Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Criminal Justice and Homeland Security

Assembly Bill 992

Relating to: the Volunteer Fire Fighter and Emergency Medical Technician Service Award Program and the exclusion of wages earned for services performed as a volunteer fire fighter, emergency medical technician, or first responder from partial unemployment benefit determinations.

By Representatives Gunderson, M. Williams, Ainsworth, Albers, Kerkman, Petrowski, Rhoades, Sherman, Suder, Vos, Wood and Lehman; cosponsored by Senators Zien, Brown, S. Fitzgerald, Grothman, Lazich, Miller, Wirch and Erpenbach.

February 07, 2006 Referred to Committee on Criminal Justice and Homeland

Security.

February 8, 2006 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (11) Representatives Suder, Friske, Owens, F.

Lasee, Jeskewitz, Gundrum, Vukmir, Turner,

Krusick, Black and Grigsby.

Absent: (1) Representative Kessler.

Appearances For

- Dave Zien Senator, 23rd Senate District
- Scott Gunderson Representative, 83rd Assembly District
- Bob Seitz, Monticello LOSA Board
- Pete Christianson, Madison WI State Fire Chiefs Assoc.
- Jeff Wiswell, Monona
- Larry Plumer President, WI State Firefighters Assoc.
- Forbes McIntosh, Madison WI EMS Assoc.

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

- Hal Bergan WI Dept. of Workforce Development
- Lutfi Shahrani WI Dept. of Workforce Development-Unemployment Insurance
- James Buchen, Madison WI Manufacturers and Commerce

Registrations For

Bob Moy, Marshall — Marshall EMS

Registrations Against

• None.

February 15, 2006 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (11) Representatives Suder, Friske, Owens, F.

Lasee, Jeskewitz, Gundrum, Turner, Krusick,

Black, Kessler and Grigsby.

Absent: (1) Representative Vukmir.

Moved by Representative Suder, seconded by Representative Friske that **Assembly Bill 992** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (11) Representatives Suder, Friske, Owens, F.

Lasee, Jeskewitz, Gundrum, Turner, Krusick,

Black, Kessler and Grigsby.

Noes: (0) None.

Absent: (1) Representative Vukmir.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 11, Noes 0

Anne Emerson Committee Clerk