# **Senate Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Housing and Financial Institutions**

#### Senate Bill 269

Relating to: various modifications to housing loan programs and loan guarantee programs, increasing the bonding authority of the Wisconsin Housing and Economic Development Authority (WHEDA), and removing limitations on WHEDA's authority to acquire property.

By Senators Kanavas, Taylor, Brown, Olsen and Roessler; cosponsored by Representatives Wieckert, Young, Fields, Grigsby, Townsend, Strachota, Turner, Sinicki, Sheridan, Ballweg, Ott, Berceau, McCormick and Hines.

July 27, 2005 Referred to Committee on Housing and Financial Institutions.

October 12, 2005 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD** 

Present: (6) Senators Stepp, Brown, Reynolds, Plale, Lassa

and Coggs.

Absent: (1) Senator Harsdorf.

# Appearances For

- Lena Taylor, Madison Sen., 4th Senate District
- Steve Wieckert, Madison Rep., 57th Assembly District
- Jeremey Shepherd, Madison Office of Senator Ted Kanavas
- Antonio Riley, Madison Wisconsin Housing and Economic Development Authority
- Mary Zins, Madison Wisconsin Housing and Economic Development Authority
- Jenny Ebert, Eau Claire Associated Bank
- Rose Oswald Poels, Madison WI Bankers Assn
- Connie Loden, Wisconsin Rapids Heart of Wisconsin Business and Economic Alliance
- Terry Testolin, Richland Center NHS of Richland County
- Steve Parliament, Glenwood City

#### Appearances Against

• None.

### Appearances for Information Only

None.

#### Registrations For

• Tom Larson, Madison — WI Realtors Assn

- Daryll Lund, Madison Community Bankers of WI
- Bryan Antony, Onalaska WHEDA
- Tim Elverman, Milwaukee JP Morgan Chase (Bank One)
- Amy Boyer, Madison Wisconsin Mortgage Bankers Association

# **Registrations Against**

• None.

# October 13, 2005 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (7) Senators Stepp, Harsdorf, Brown, Reynolds,

Plale, Lassa and Coggs.

Absent: (0) None.

Moved by Senator Stepp that **Senate Bill 269** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (6) Senators Stepp, Harsdorf, Brown, Plale,

Lassa and Coggs.

Noes: (1) Senator Reynolds.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 6, Noes 1

Scott Nelson Committee Clerk