Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Education

Senate Bill 6

Relating to: the number of pupils eligible to participate in the Milwaukee Parental Choice Program.

By Senators Darling, Plale, Kanavas, Stepp, Reynolds and Lazich; cosponsored by Representatives Vukmir, Fields, Ziegelbauer, Huebsch, Montgomery, McCormick, Nischke, Stone, Jeskewitz, Nass, Honadel, Gottlieb, Towns, Vrakas, Kaufert, Hundertmark, Gundrum, Ott, Wood and Gunderson.

January 12, 2005 Referred to Committee on Education.

January 18, 2005

PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present:	(6)	Senators Olsen, Darling, Harsdorf, Grothman,
		Jauch and Hansen.
Absent:	(1)	Senator Erpenbach.

Appearances For

- Leah Vukmir State Representative, 14th Assembly District
- Alberta Darling State Senator, 8th Senate District
- Jason Fields State Representative, 11th Senate District
- Katy Venskus on behalf of Senator Plale State Senator, 7th Senate District
- Henry Tyson, Milwaukee St. Marcus Lutheran School
- Jessie Mae Jones, Milwaukee St. Marcus Lutheran School
- Tim Sheehy, Milwaukee Milwaukee Metropolitan Association of Commerce
- Basimah Abdullah, Milwaukee Pupil Association Council, Clara Mohammed School
- Donna Schmidt, Milwaukee Prince of Peace School
- Martha Freiman, Milwaukee Jared C. Bruce Academy
- Terry Brown, Wauwatosa St. Anthony School
- Howard Fuller, Milwaukee Dr., Alliance for Choices in Education
- Duane Moss, Sr, Milwaukee Jared C. Bruce Academy
- Jeff Monday, Milwaukee Messmer Catholic Schools
- Dennis Alexander, Milwaukee AAAIS

Appearances Against

• Sam Carmen, New Berlin — Milwaukee Teacher's Education Association

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Edna Mathews, Milwaukee AASIS
- Denise Pitchford, Milwaukee CEO Leadership Academy
- Cheryl Brown, Milwaukee Bishop, Believers in Christ Academy and Ministry
- Mary Lazich State Senator, 28th Senate District
- Margo Downey, Milwaukee Jared C. Bruce Academy
- Judy Schultz, Wauwatosa Lutheran Special School
- Joan Hansen, Madison Wisconsin Manufacturers and Commerce
- Judd Schemmel, Madison Wisconsin Council of Religious and Independent Schools
- Barbara Sella, Madison Wisconsin Catholic Conference
- Jerald Fait, Milwaukee African American Association of Independent Schools
- Alma Teran, Milwaukee St. Anthony School
- Nora Esparza, Milwaukee St. Anthony School
- Miriam Martinez, Milwaukee St. Anthony School
- Erika Caeb, Milwaukee St. Anthony School
- Ismael Magana, Milwaukee St. Rafael Arcangel
- Maria Saenz, Milwaukee St. Anthony School
- Monica Ramos, Milwaukee St. Adalbert
- Margarita Gonzalez, Milwaukee St. Adalbert
- Hilda Vargas, Milwaukee St. Adalbert
- Maria Navarro, Milwaukee St. Adalbert
- Wendy Lopez, Milwaukee St. Adalbert
- Beatriz Bustos, Milwaukee St. Adalbert
- Mayra Castillo, Milwaukee St. Rafael the Arcangel
- Margarita Alvarez, Milwaukee St. Adalbert
- Araceli Vasquez, Milwaukee St. Rafael Arcangel
- Juana Jaurez, Miwlaukee St. Rafael Arcangel
- Flavio Zambrano, Milwaukee St. Rafael
- Patricia Fuller, Milwaukee St. Rafael
- Maite Muro, Milwaukee Holy Wisdom Academy
- Carla Hart, Milwaukee Holy Wisdom Academy
- Doris Madison, Milwaukee Holy Wisdom Academy
- Thelma Craft, Milwaukee Holy Wisdom Academy
- Rosalia Gonzalez, Milwaukee St. Rafael School
- Virginia Sanchez, Milwaukee St. Rafael School

- Miriam Miranda, Milwaukee St. Rafael
- Margarita Chavez, Milwaukee San Rafael
- Virginia Rios, Milwaukee San Rafael
- Taryn Moore, Milwaukee St. Marcus Lutheran School
- Juana Rodriguez, Milwaukee St. Anthony School
- Gabriela Garcia, Milwaukee San Rafael
- Ruth Beatriz Alvarez, Milwaukee St. Rafael School
- Carla Gadea, Milwaukee San Rafael
- Maria Padilla, Milwaukee St. Raphael
- Mona Montaluo, Milwaukee
- Dorothy Smith, Milwaukee Messmer Catholic School
- Maria la Cruz, Milwaukee San Anthony School

Registrations Against

- Bob Belinger, Middleton AFT-Wisconsin
- Michael Walsh, Madison WEAC
- Chris Thiel, Milwaukee Milwaukee Public Schools
- Polly Williams, Milwaukee State Representative, 10th Senate District
- Jennifer Kammerud, Madison Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction
- Christine Sinicki State Representative, 20th Assembly District
- Jennifer Morales, Milwaukee Milwaukee Public School Board
- Maniono Montez, Milwaukee

January 19, 2005 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present:	(0)	None.
Absent:	(0)	None.

Moved by Senator Olsen that **Senate Bill 6** be recommended for passage.

- Ayes: (4) Senators Olsen, Darling, Harsdorf and Grothman.
- Noes: (3) Senators Jauch, Erpenbach and Hansen.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 4, Noes 3

Rebecca Hogan Committee Clerk