# Assembly

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on Ways and Means**

#### Assembly Bill 149

Relating to: eliminating the estate tax.

By Representatives LeMahieu, Lothian, Suder, Nass, Zipperer, Gunderson, Gundrum, Montgomery, F. Lasee, Townsend, Kerkman, Vos, Roth, Musser, Van Roy, Pridemore, Ziegelbauer, Vukmir, Hahn, Ballweg, Petersen, Tauchen, Strachota, Meyer, Albers, Bies, Petrowski, A. Ott and Kramer; cosponsored by Senators Leibham, Lazich, Grothman, Olsen, Darling, A. Lasee and Roessler.

March 05, 2007 Referred to Committee on Ways and Means.

March 21, 2007

#### **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present:	(11)	Representatives Kerkman, Lothian, Jeskewitz,
		Wood, Pridemore, Strachota, Ziegelbauer,
		Steinbrink, Fields, Hebl and Toles.
Absent:	(2)	Representatives Hahn and Kessler.

Appearances For

- Dan LeMahieu, Oostburg Representative, 59th Assembly District
- Joe Leibham, Sheboygan Senator, 9th Senate District
- James Buchen, Madison Wisconsin Manufacturers and Commerce
- Bill Smith, Maidson National Federation of Independent Business
- Michael Semmann, Madison Wisconsin Bankers Association

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

#### Registrations For

- Leah Vukmir, Wauwatosa Representative, 14th Assembly District
- Joan Hansen, Wauwatosa Americans for Prosperity
- Paul Zimmerman Wisconsin Farm Bureau Federation
- Luther Olsen, Madison Senator, 14th Senate District

• Tom Lothian, Madison — Representative, 32nd Assembly District

## Registrations Against

- Sabrina Gentile, Madison Wisconsin Council on Children and Families
- Joanne Ricca, Milwaukee Wisconsin AFL-CIO
- Gail Sumi, Madison AARP Wisconsin
- Sue Beitlich, Chippewa Falls Wisconsin Farmers Union

**Registrations for Information Only** 

• None.

## May 16, 2007 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present:	(13)	Representatives Kerkman, Lothian, Hahn,
		Jeskewitz, Wood, Pridemore, Strachota,
		Ziegelbauer, Steinbrink, Fields, Hebl, Toles
		and Kessler.
Absent:	(0)	None.

Moved by Representative Kessler, seconded by Representative Hebl that **Assembly Bill 149** be recommended for indefinite postponement.

- Ayes: (3) Representatives Hebl, Toles and Kessler.
- Noes: (10) Representatives Kerkman, Lothian, Hahn, Jeskewitz, Wood, Pridemore, Strachota, Ziegelbauer, Steinbrink, Fields.

INDEFINITE POSTPONEMENT NOT RECOMMENDED, Ayes 3, Noes 10

Moved by Representative Ziegelbauer, seconded by Representative Wood that **Assembly Bill 149** be recommended for passage.

- Ayes: (10) Representatives Kerkman, Lothian, Hahn, Jeskewitz, Wood, Pridemore, Strachota, Ziegelbauer, Steinbrink, Fields.
- Noes: (3) Representatives Hebl, Toles and Kessler.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 3

Sarah Popp Committee Clerk