Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Ways and Means

Assembly Bill 244

Relating to: eliminating the personal property tax.

By Representatives Albers, Fields, Vukmir, Ballweg, Vos, Bies, Strachota, Gunderson, Townsend, Musser, Owens and Mursau; cosponsored by Senators Schultz and Lazich.

April 10, 2007	Referred to Committee on Ways and Means.
May 30, 2007	PUBLIC HEARING HELD
	Present: (13) Representatives Kerkman, Lothian, Hahn, Jeskewitz, Wood, Pridemore, Strachota, Ziegelbauer, Steinbrink, Fields, Hebl, Toles and Kessler.
	Absent: (0) None.
	 <u>Appearances For</u> Sheryl Albers, Madison — Representative, 50th Assembly District Jeff Schoepke, Madison — Wisconsin Manufacturers and Commerce Bill Smith, Madison — National Federation of Independent Businesses <u>Appearances Against</u> Constance Threinen, Middleton — League of Women Voters Jean Vito, Superior — City of Superior Russ Schwandt, Green Bay — City of Green Bay
	 <u>Appearances for Information Only</u> Sherrie Gates-Hendrix, Madison — , Department of Revenue
	 <u>Registrations For</u> David Storey, Madison — Wisconsin Merchants Federation Kathi Kilgore, Madison — Wisconsin Association of Campground Owners Michelle Kussow, Madison — Wisconsin Grocers Association Michael Metz, Madison — Wisconsin Independent Businesses

• Louie Schubert, Madison — American Family

• Matt Hauser, Madison — Wisconsin Petroleum Marketers and Convenience Association

Registrations Against

- Ed Huck, Madison Wisconsin Alliance of Cities
- Curt Witynski, Madison League of Wisconsin Municipalities
- John Forester, Verona School Administrators Alliance
- Mark Wadium, Appleton Outagamie County
- David Krahn, Waukesha Waukesha County
- Jennifer Gonda, Milwaukee City of Milwaukee
- Mickey Biel, Madison Office of Dane County Executive Kathleen Falk
- Jolene Plautz, Madison Wisconsin Association of Assessing Officers
- Dan Rossmiller, Madison Wisconsin Association of School Boards
- Jayme Sellen, Madison Wisconsin Counties Association

Registrations for Information Only

- None.
- March 13, 2008 Failed to pass pursuant to Senate Joint Resolution 1.

Vicky Halverson Committee Clerk