Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Labor and Industry

Assembly Bill 294

Relating to: a state electrical wiring code; regulation of electricians, electrical contractors, and electrical inspectors; inspections of electrical wiring; regulation of electrical wiring; regulation of heating and air conditioning contractors by a county with a population of 500,000 or more; and granting rule-making authority.

By Representatives A. Ott, Mursau, Sheridan, Gottlieb, Nelson, Tauchen, Hubler, Hahn, Berceau, Kestell, Travis, Pope-Roberts, Van Roy, Richards, Mason, Kreuser, Nerison, Boyle, Turner, Hintz, Gunderson, Gronemus, Jorgensen, Zepnick, Nygren, Shilling, Sinicki, Moulton, Hixson, Molepske, Schneider, Petersen, Smith, Hraychuck and Parisi; cosponsored by Senators Decker, Olsen, Hansen, Lassa, Lehman, Sullivan, Roessler, Breske, Cowles, Kreitlow, Erpenbach, Coggs, Wirch, Grothman, Plale, Miller and Vinehout.

April 30, 2007 Referred to Committee on Labor and Industry.

October 17, 2007 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present:	(7)	Representatives Honadel, Gottlieb, Nass,
		Newcomer, Murtha, Nelson and Sheridan.
Absent:	(2)	Representatives Wieckert and Van Akkeren.

Appearances For

- Al Ott Representative, 3rd Assembly District
- Bob DuPont WI Dept of Commerce
- Ron Klossner, Green Bay Stiegler Electric & ABC-WI
- Bob Stephenson, Appleton Town & Country Electric
- John Mielke, Madison ABC of WI
- Chris Jarosch, Woodville WI Electrical Trade Council
- Bill Skewes, Madison WI Utilities Association
- Ben Gottlieb, Madison University Audio
- Darren Reaman, Indianapolis Custom Electronic Design & Installation Association (CEDIA)
- David Boetcher, Waunakee IBEW
- Fred Brown, Cambridge
- Richard Kolb, Lancaster Scenic Rivers Energy Cooperative
- Tom Binish, Green Bay NSCA / CEDIA
- Forrest Ceel, Menomonee Falls IBEW 2150
- Steve Baas MMAC
- Jim Biesterveld, Menomonie

• Beata Kalies, Madison — WI Electric Cooperatives

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• Jeff Beiriger, Milwaukee — WI Plumbing, Heating, Cooling Contractors Assocation

Registrations For

- Mary Kay Puntillo, Madison Paragon Video & Stereo
- Bill Jordahl Alliant Energy
- Phil Uekert, Madison WI Public Service Corp.
- David Hansen, Beaver Dam Rural Electric Power Services Program (DATCP)
- Jeff Lyon, Madison WI Farm Bureau Federation
- Rich Hackner, Madison GDS Associates / Rural Energy Management Council
- Scott Meske, Sun Prarie MEVW
- Keeley Moll Dept of Agriculture, Trade & Consumer Protection
- Russ Decker Senator, 29th Senate District
- Tim Elverman Plumbers Local 75
- Tim Elverman Heat & Frost Insulators, Local 19
- Shawn Pfaff, Madison Dairy Business Association
- Brad Boycks, Madison WI Builders Association
- Curt Witynski League of Wisconsin Municipalities
- Jim Bullion, Madison Associated General Contractors of WI
- Robert Gerbert, Medford NBK Electrical
- Brian Mitchell, Oconomowoc Mechanical Contractors Association of WI
- Rebecca Larson, Madison Xcel Energy

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

November 28, 2007 EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD

Present: (8) Representatives Honadel, Gottlieb, Nass, Newcomer, Murtha, Nelson, Sheridan and Van Akkeren. Absent: (1) Representative Wieckert.

Moved by Representative Gottlieb, seconded by Representative Newcomer that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes:	(8)	Representatives Honadel, Gottlieb, Nass,
		Newcomer, Murtha, Nelson, Sheridan and
		Van Akkeren.
Noes:	(0)	None.

Absent: (1) Representative Wieckert.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Murtha, seconded by Representative Gottlieb that **Assembly Amendment 2** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes:	(8)	Representatives Honadel, Gottlieb, Nass,	
		Newcomer, Murtha, Nelson, Sheridan and	
		Van Akkeren.	
Noes:	(0)	None.	
Absent:	(1)	Representative Wieckert.	

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 2 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Sheridan, seconded by Representative Van Akkeren that **Assembly Bill 294** be recommended for passage.

Ayes:	(8)	Representatives Honadel, Gottlieb, Nass,
		Newcomer, Murtha, Nelson, Sheridan and
		Van Akkeren.
Noes:	(0)	None.

Absent: (1) Representative Wieckert.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 0

Jason Vick Committee Clerk