## **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Joint Committee on Finance**

## **Assembly Bill 294**

Relating to: a state electrical wiring code; regulation of electricians, electrical contractors, and electrical inspectors; inspections of electrical wiring; regulation of electrical wiring; regulation of heating and air conditioning contractors by a county with a population of 500,000 or more; and granting rule-making authority.

By Representatives A. Ott, Mursau, Sheridan, Gottlieb, Nelson, Tauchen, Hubler, Hahn, Berceau, Kestell, Travis, Pope-Roberts, Van Roy, Richards, Mason, Kreuser, Nerison, Boyle, Turner, Hintz, Gunderson, Gronemus, Jorgensen, Zepnick, Nygren, Shilling, Sinicki, Moulton, Hixson, Molepske, Schneider, Petersen, Smith, Hraychuck and Parisi; cosponsored by Senators Decker, Olsen, Hansen, Lassa, Lehman, Sullivan, Roessler, Breske, Cowles, Kreitlow, Erpenbach, Coggs, Wirch, Grothman, Plale, Miller and Vinehout.

December 06, 2007 Referred to Joint Committee on Finance.

January 30, 2008 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD** 

Present: (16) Senators Miller, Hansen, Taylor, Lehman, Robson, Lassa, Darling and Olsen; Representatives Rhoades, Meyer, Stone, Kestell, Suder, Vos, Pocan and Colon.

Absent: (0) None.

Moved by Senator Miller, seconded by Representative Rhoades that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (16) Senators Miller, Hansen, Taylor, Lehman, Robson, Lassa, Darling and Olsen; Representatives Rhoades, Meyer, Stone, Kestell, Suder, Vos, Pocan and Colon.

Noes: (0) None.

ADOPTION OF ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 RECOMMENDED, Ayes 16, Noes 0

Moved by Senator Miller, seconded by Representative Rhoades that **Assembly Amendment 2** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (16) Senators Miller, Hansen, Taylor, Lehman, Robson, Lassa, Darling and Olsen;

Representatives Rhoades, Meyer, Stone, Kestell, Suder, Vos, Pocan and Colon.

Noes: (0) None.

ADOPTION OF ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 2 RECOMMENDED, Ayes 16, Noes 0

Moved by Senator Miller, seconded by Representative Rhoades that **Assembly Bill 294** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (15) Senators Miller, Hansen, Taylor, Lehman, Robson, Lassa, Darling and Olsen; Representatives Rhoades, Meyer, Stone, Kestell, Suder, Pocan and Colon.

Noes: (1) Representative Vos.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 15, Noes 1

Diane Harmelink Committee Clerk