## Assembly

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on Energy and Utilities**

#### **Assembly Bill 348**

Relating to: requiring the Public Service Commission to advocate on matters related to the centralized interim storage of, and any license application for, a federal repository for high-level radioactive waste and transuranic waste and requiring nuclear power plant owners and operators to provide information required by the Public Service Commission.

By Joint Legislative Council.

May 21, 2007 Referred to Committee on Energy and Utilities.

December 18, 2007 PUBLIC HEA

## PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present:	(10)	Representatives Montgomery, Petersen, Hahn,
		Honadel, Davis, Nerison, Zepnick, Staskunas,
		Steinbrink, Soletski.
Absent:	(0)	None.

Appearances For

- Forrest Ceel, Menomonee Falls IBEW Local 2150
- Bob Seitz Wisconsin Utility Investors
- Roger Cole Wisconsin Utility Investors

Appearances Against

• Charlie Higley, Madison — Citizens Utility Board

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Eric Van Abel, Madison self
- Aaron Lee, Madison self
- Amy Wiersma, Madison self
- John Orth, Grafton self
- Troy Hoskin, Madison self
- Stepen Revis, Madison self
- Brian Gross American Nuclear Society
- Philip Fowler American Nuclear Society
- Megan Sharrow, Columbus self
- Denise Schuh, Wausau self
- Mark Reihl Wisconsin State Council of Carpenters

- David Boetcher IBEW Construction Electricians
- Jim Boullion Associated General Contractors of Wisconsin
- Todd Stuart Wisconsin Industrial Energy Group
- Paul Wilson, Madison self
- Beata Kalies Wisconsin Federation of Cooperatives
- Brian Rude Dairyland Power
- Rebecca Larson Xcel Energy
- Bill Skewes, Madison Wisconsin Utilities Association
- R.J. Pirlot Wisconsin Manufacturers & Commerce
- Mary Reid We Energies
- Jeff Landin Wisconsin Paper Council

## Registrations Against

- Caryl Terrell Seirra Club Johm Muir Chapter
- Andrea Kaminski, Madison League of Women Voters of Wisconsin

## **Registrations for Information Only**

• None.

## January 22, 2008 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

 Present: (10) Representatives Montgomery, Petersen, Hahn, Honadel, Davis, Nerison, Zepnick, Staskunas, Steinbrink, Soletski.
Absent: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Montgomery, seconded by Representative Petersen that **Assembly Bill 348** be recommended for passage.

> Ayes: (9) Representatives Montgomery, Petersen, Hahn, Honadel, Davis, Nerison, Staskunas, Steinbrink and Soletski.
> Noes: (1) Representative Zepnick.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 1

Kristin Ruesch Committee Clerk