Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Judiciary and Ethics

Assembly Bill 565

Relating to: operating a motor vehicle without a valid driver's license or after suspension or revocation of an operating privilege and providing penalties.

By Representatives Krusick, Gundrum, Stone, Albers, Bies, Gunderson, Kaufert, LeMahieu, Molepske, Nass, Nygren, A. Ott, Shilling, Townsend and Zepnick; cosponsored by Senators Carpenter, Lazich, Lehman, Darling, Harsdorf, A. Lasee, Olsen and Roessler, by request of the family of Nicholas Dams; the family of Kristy Wanek; Greendale Police Chief Rob Dams, father of Nicholas; Wisconsin Chiefs of Police Association; Milwaukee Police Association; Milwaukee County Law Enforcement Executives Association and Milwaukee County District Attorney John Chisholm.

November 02, 2007 Referred to Committee on Judiciary and Ethics.

January 31, 2008 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present: (10) Representatives Suder, Kramer, Friske, Kerkman, Kleefisch, Pridemore, Staskunas,

Hintz, Turner, Kessler.

Absent: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Peggy Krusick, Milwaukee Representative, 7th Assembly District
- Rob Dams, Greendale Chief

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- John Nygren, Marinette Representative, 89th Assembly District
- Josh Zepnick, Milwaukee Representative, 9th Assembly District
- Jeff Stone, Greendale Representative, 82nd Assembly District
- Mary Lazich, New Berlin Senator, 28th Senate District
- Tim Carpenter, Milwaukee Senator, 3rd Senate District

- Todd Meurer, Madison
- Alice O'Connor, Madison Wis. Chiefs of Police Association
- Thomas Fischer, Milwaukee Milwaukee Police Association

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

February 21, 2008 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (10) Representatives Suder, Kramer, Friske, Kerkman, Kleefisch, Pridemore, Staskunas, Hintz, Turner, Kessler.

Absent: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Turner, seconded by Representative Kerkman that **Assembly Bill 565** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (8) Representatives Suder, Kramer, Friske, Kerkman, Kleefisch, Pridemore, Staskunas and Turner.

Noes: (2) Representatives Hintz and Kessler.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 2

Steve Knudson Committee Clerk