Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Corrections and Courts

Assembly Bill 579

Relating to: increasing the jurisdictional amount in small claims actions.

By Representatives Ballweg, Albers, Berceau, Bies, Gottlieb, Gronemus, Gunderson, Gundrum, Hahn, Hines, Jeskewitz, Kerkman, LeMahieu, Montgomery, Moulton, Mursau, Musser, Nygren, Owens, Petrowski, Van Roy, Vos and M. Williams; cosponsored by Senators Lassa, Cowles, Grothman, Olsen and Lazich.

February 04, 2008 Referred to Committee on Corrections and Courts.

February 13, 2008 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (10) Representatives Bies, Montgomery, Kaufert,

Owens, Kestell, LeMahieu, Parisi, Pocan,

Wasserman, Pope-Roberts.

Absent: (1) Representative Seidel.

Appearances For

- Joan Ballweg Rep., 41st Assembly District
- Gary Antoniewicz Midwest Equipment Dealers Association
- Michael Metz WI Independent Businesses

Appearances Against

- Nancy Rottier Director of State Courts
- James Smith Milwaukee Clerk of Circuit Courts
- John Reinemann Wisconsin Counties Association

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Pete Hanson WI Restaurant Association
- Bill Smith National Federation of Independent Businesses
- Julie Lassa Sen., 24th Senate District
- Chris Tackett WI Jewelers Association

Registrations Against

- Eric Englund WI Insurance Alliance
- Mark Wadium Outagamie County
- Lena Taylor Sen., 4th Senate District
- David Krahn Waukesha County

- Louie Schubert American Family Insurance
- Ray De La Rosa Milwaukee County

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

February 21, 2008 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (11) Representatives Bies, Montgomery, Kaufert,

Owens, Kestell, LeMahieu, Parisi, Pocan, Wasserman, Pope-Roberts and Seidel.

Absent: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Kestell, seconded by Representative Montgomery that **Assembly Bill 579** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (6) Representatives Bies, Montgomery, Kaufert,

Owens, Kestell and LeMahieu.

Noes: (5) Representatives Parisi, Pocan, Wasserman,

Pope-Roberts and Seidel.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 6, Noes 5

Andrew Nowlan Committee Clerk