Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Tourism, Recreation and State Properties

Assembly Bill 585

Relating to: the commencement of fall classes in public schools.

By Representatives J. Ott, Jeskewitz, Pope-Roberts, Musser, A. Ott, Nass and Pridemore; cosponsored by Senators Lehman, Miller and Harsdorf.

November 27, 2007 Referred to Committee on Tourism, Recreation and State Properties.

February 14, 2008 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (11) Representatives Kaufert, M. Williams, Gunderson, Bies, Hines, Van Roy, Van Akkeren, Soletski, Hraychuck, Young and Schneider.

Absent: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Jim Ott Rep., 23rd Assembly District
- Sheri Krause, Madison Wisconsin Association of School Boards
- Caroline Wieman, Whitewater
- Robert Slotterback, Mequon Dr., Mequon School District

Appearances Against

- Chet Gerlach, Madison Association of Wisconsin Tourism Attractions
- Romy Snyder, Wisconsin Dells Wisconsin Dells Visitor & Convention Bureau
- Kathi Kilgore, Madison Wisconsin Association of Campground Owners
- Trisha Pugal, Brookfield Wisconsin Innkeepers Association
- Jeff Machut, Monona Monona Americinn
- Dave Blank, Sturtevant Wisconsin Association of Convention & Visitors Bureaus
- Ed Lump, Madison Wisconsin Restaurant Association
- Steve Davis, Oshkosh Ardy & Ed's Drive In
- Amy Shaffer, Crivitz Shaffer Park Resort

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Joseph Quick, Madison Madison Metropolitan School District
- John Forester, Madison School Administrators Alliance
- Chris Thiel, Milwaukee Milwaukee Public Schools
- Jack O'Meara, Madison WEAC

Registrations Against

- Jan Iselin, Powers Lake
- Bill Jones, Twin Lakes
- J.A. Hines Rep., 42nd Assembly District
- Bill Smith, Madison National Federation of Independent Business (NFIB)
- Julia Hertel, Sun Prairie Wisconsin Association of Convention & Visitors Bureaus
- Jeannie Place Cunningham, Spring Valley
- Kevin Gruber, Wisconsin Dells Noah's Ark

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

March 13, 2008 Failed to pass pursuant to Senate Joint Resolution 1.

Adam Field Committee Clerk