## **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on Rural Affairs**

#### **Assembly Bill 599**

Relating to: the regulation, preservation, and restoration of historic buildings; the supplement to the federal historic rehabilitation tax credit and the state historic rehabilitation tax credit; requiring the certification of downtowns; promoting certain downtown areas in this state; highway projects involving business and downtown areas; and granting rule-making authority; and making appropriations.

By Representatives Shilling, Hintz, Sheridan, Vruwink, Richards, Gunderson, Hilgenberg, Soletski, Fields, Vos, Molepske, Zepnick, Pope-Roberts, Jorgensen, Seidel, Boyle, Hixson, Sinicki and Albers; cosponsored by Senators Lassa, Darling, Erpenbach, Harsdorf, Lehman, Plale, Risser, Roessler, Schultz and Vinehout.

November 29, 2007 Referred to Committee on Rural Affairs.

January 24, 2008

### PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present:	(9)	Representatives Nerison, Tauchen, Hahn,
		Petrowski, Wood, Schneider, Smith, Jorgensen
		and Garthwaite.
Absent:	(0)	None.

Appearances For

- Jennifer Shilling Representative, 95th Assembly District
- Bud Miyamoto, LaCrosse Downtown Mainstreet, Inc.
- Michael Stevens, Madison Wisconsin Historical Society

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

**Registrations For** 

- Julie Lassa Senator, 24th Senate District
- Sharon Leair, Genesee Depot Town of Genessee
- Alice O'Connor, Madison Gorman Company
- Curt Witynski, Madison League of Wisconsin Municipalities

**Registrations Against** 

• None.

#### Registrations for Information Only

• None.

### February 26, 2008 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present:	(9)	Representatives Nerison, Tauchen, Hahn,
		Petrowski, Wood, Schneider, Smith, Jorgensen
		and Garthwaite.
Absent:	(0)	None.

Moved by Representative Schneider, seconded by Representative Smith that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes:	(9)	Representatives Nerison, Tauchen, Hahn,
		Petrowski, Wood, Schneider, Smith,
		Jorgensen and Garthwaite.
Noes:	(0)	None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Schneider, seconded by Representative Tauchen that **Assembly Amendment 3** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes:	(9)	Representatives Nerison, Tauchen, Hahn,
		Petrowski, Wood, Schneider, Smith,
		Jorgensen and Garthwaite.
Noes:	(0)	None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 3 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Nerison, seconded by Representative Schneider that **Assembly Bill 599** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes:	(9)	Representatives Nerison, Tauchen, Hahn,
		Petrowski, Wood, Schneider, Smith,
		Jorgensen and Garthwaite.
Noes:	(0)	None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 0

Sandra Smith-Loomans Committee Clerk