Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Labor and Industry

Assembly Bill 757

Relating to: various changes in unemployment insurance law and making an appropriation.

By Representative Honadel; cosponsored by Senator Coggs, by request of Unemployment Insurance Advisory Council.

February 04, 2008 Referred to Committee on Labor and Industry.

February 14, 2008 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present: (8) Representatives Honadel, Gottlieb, Nass,

Wieckert, Murtha, Nelson, Sheridan and Van

Akkeren.

Absent: (1) Representative Newcomer.

Appearances For

- Hal Bergan DWD, Division of Unemployment Insurance, Administrator
- James Buchen, Madison WMC
- Phil Neuenfeldt, Milwaukee Wisconsin AFL-CIO
- Wayne Corey, Madison WI Independent Businesses

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Amy Boyer, Madison WI Assn. of Convention and Visitor Bureaus
- Eric Englund, Madison WI Insurance Alliance
- Chet Gerlach, Madison Assn. of WI Tourism and Attractions
- Misha Lee, Madison Sentry Insurance
- Ed Lump WI Restaurant Association
- Trisha Pugal, Brookfield WI Inkeepers Association
- Mark Reihl, Madison WI State Council of Carpenters
- Louis Schubert American Family Insurance

Bill Smith, Madison — National Federation of Independent **Business**

Registrations Against

None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

February 20, 2008 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (9) Representatives Honadel, Gottlieb, Nass, Wieckert, Newcomer, Murtha, Nelson,

Sheridan and Van Akkeren.

Absent: (0)None.

Moved by Representative Gottlieb, seconded by Representative Nelson that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

> Ayes: (9) Representatives Honadel, Gottlieb, Nass, Wieckert, Newcomer, Murtha, Nelson, Sheridan and Van Akkeren.

(0) None. Noes:

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Gottlieb, seconded by Representative Van Akkeren that **Assembly Bill 757** be recommended for passage as amended.

> (8) Representatives Honadel, Gottlieb, Wieckert, Ayes: Newcomer, Murtha, Nelson, Sheridan and Van Akkeren.

(1) Representative Nass.

Noes:

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 1

Jason Vick Committee Clerk