# Assembly

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Rural Affairs**

### **Assembly Bill 79**

Relating to: the powers of certain towns, authorizing the creation of charter towns by certain town boards, and expanding the authority of charter towns to create tax incremental financing districts.

By Representatives Kerkman, Owens, Bies, Lothian, A. Ott, Ballweg, Albers, Musser, Hines, F. Lasee, Pridemore, Hahn, Vos, Gunderson, Smith, Hraychuck, Boyle, Davis, Petersen and Petrowski; cosponsored by Senators Breske, Schultz and Kapanke.

February 20, 2007 Referred to Committee on Rural Affairs.

January 24, 2008

## PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present:	(0)	None.
Absent:	(0)	None.

Appearances For

- Samantha Kerkman Representative, 66th Assembly District
- Richard Stadelman, Shawano Wisconsin Towns Association
- Sherrie Gates-Hendrix Wisconsin Department of Revenue
- Bob Crooks, La Crosse Town of Campbell
- Sharon Leair, Genessee Depot Town of Genessee
- Jan Cuccia, Hudson Town of Troy
- Robert Hultquist, Oconomowoc Town of Oconomowoc
- Terence McMahon, Union Grove Town of Yorkville
- Jerry Derr, Columbus Wisconsin Towns Association
- Chester Dietzen, Appleton Town of Harrison
- Joe Sprangers, Menasha Town of Harrison
- Jim Erdman, Oshkosh Town of Oshkosh
- William Goehring, Random Lake Town of Sherman
- Karen Kessenich, Cottage Grove Town of Cottage Grove

Appearances Against

- Pat Stevens, Madison Wisconsin Builders Association
- Brad Boycks, Madison Wisconsin Builders Association
- Curt Witynski, Madison League of Wisconsin Municipalities

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

**Registrations For** 

- Roger Breske, Madison Senator, 12th Senate District
- Ernest Walters, Mosinee Town of Mosinee
- Frank Zebro, Mosinee
- Jim Heinz, Lake Mills Town of Lake Mills
- Chris Johnson, Brooklyn Town of Oregon
- Jeff Musche Town of Lisbon
- Richard Nawrock, Hartland
- Travis Parish, West Salem Town of Campbell
- Sara Ludtke, Verona Town of Middleton
- William Rasmussen, Oshkosh
- Roger Fetterly, Sun Prairie Town of Sun Prairie
- Al Colvin, Mount Horeb
- Ann Jablonski, Madison Wisconsin Towns Association
- Jolene Plautz, Madison Wisconsin Towns Association

### Registrations Against

- Ed Huck, Madison Wisconsin Alliance of Cities
- David Krahn, Waukesha Waukesha County

#### Registrations for Information Only

• None.

### February 12, 2008 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present:	(8)	Representatives Nerison, Tauchen, Hahn,
		Petrowski, Wood, Smith, Jorgensen and
		Garthwaite.
Absent:	(1)	Representative Schneider.

## Moved by Representative Hahn, seconded by Representative Tauchen that **Assembly Amendment 2 to Assembly Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

- Ayes:(8)Representatives Nerison, Tauchen, Hahn,<br/>Petrowski, Wood, Smith, Jorgensen and<br/>Garthwaite.Noes:(0)None.
- Absent: (1) Representative Schneider.

## ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 2 TO ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Smith, seconded by Representative Petrowski that **Assembly Amendment 3 to Assembly Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes:	(8)	Representatives Nerison, Tauchen, Hahn,
		Petrowski, Wood, Smith, Jorgensen and
		Garthwaite.
Noes:	(0)	None.
A 1 (		

Absent: (1) Representative Schneider.

## ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 3 TO ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Smith, seconded by Representative Hahn that **Assembly Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes:	(8)	Representatives Nerison, Tauchen, Hahn,
		Petrowski, Wood, Smith, Jorgensen and
		Garthwaite.
Noes:	(0)	None.

Absent: (1) Representative Schneider.

ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Tauchen, seconded by Representative Smith that **Assembly Bill 79** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes:	(8)	Representatives Nerison, Tauchen, Hahn,
		Petrowski, Wood, Smith, Jorgensen and
		Garthwaite.

- Noes: (0) None.
- Absent: (1) Representative Schneider.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 0

Sandra Smith-Loomans Committee Clerk