Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Education

Assembly Bill 870

Relating to: virtual charter schools.

By Representatives Davis, LeMahieu, Pridemore, Gottlieb, Gunderson, Kerkman, Kestell, Kramer, Lothian, Montgomery, Mursau, Murtha, Newcomer, Nygren, A. Ott, Suder, Tauchen, Townsend, Vukmir, Ziegelbauer and Zipperer; cosponsored by Senators Leibham, Grothman, Kapanke, Lazich and Roessler.

February 22, 2008 Referred to Committee on Education.

February 25, 2008 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present:	(9)	Representatives Davis, Newcomer, Nass,
		Townsend, Vukmir, Nygren, Pope-Roberts,
		Van Akkeren and Hixson.
Absent:	(1)	Representative Mason.

Appearances For

- Craig Mayo, Mukwonago Wisconsin Coalition of Virtual School Families
- Rose Fernandez, Green Bay Wiconsin Coalition of Virtual School Families
- Dave Schmidt, Waukesha Superintendent, Waukesha School District
- Larry Brown, Monroe Superintendent, Monroe School District
- Bill Harbron Superintendent, Northern Ozaukee School District
- Jeff Bush, Grantsburg Insight School
- Katherine Siegmann, McFarland
- Kaye Martin, Muskego WIVA
- John Ashley Wisconsin Association of School Boards
- Rick Chandler, Madison Wisconsin Coalition of Virtual School Families

Appearances Against

- Dan Schooff, Madison Deputy Secretary, Department of Administration
- Dan Burkhalter, Madison WEAC
- Matt McClenaghan, Madison

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Dan LeMahieu Representative, 59th Assembly District
- Mary Lazich Senator, 28th Senate District
- Alan Pauls, Dane
- Chris Gaylord, Sauk City

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

February 26, 2008 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present:	(10)	Representatives Davis, Newcomer, Nass,
		Townsend, Vukmir, Nygren, Pope-Roberts,
		Mason, Van Akkeren, Hixson.
Absent:	(0)	None.

Moved by Representative Nass, seconded by Representative Nygren that **Assembly Bill 870** be recommended for passage.

Ayes:	(6)	Representatives Davis, Newcomer, Nass,
		Townsend, Vukmir and Nygren.
Noes:	(4)	Representatives Pope-Roberts, Mason, Van
		Akkeren and Hixson.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 6, Noes 4

Luke Bacher Committee Clerk