Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Labor, Elections and Urban Affairs

Senate Bill 130

Relating to: a state minimum wage and granting rule-making authority.

By Senators Decker, Hansen, Breske, Sullivan, Carpenter, Lehman, Jauch, Erpenbach, Risser and Miller; cosponsored by Representatives Mason, Sherman, Van Akkeren, Sheridan, Boyle, Travis, Sinicki, Pope-Roberts, Turner, Pocan, Young, Zepnick, Berceau and Black.

April 03, 2007 Referred to Committee on Labor, Elections and Urban Affairs.

August 28, 2007 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (5) Senators Coggs, Wirch, Lehman, Grothman

and A. Lasee.

Absent: (0) None.

Appearances For

• Russ Decker — Senator

- Cory Mason Representative
- Jim Carpenter AFT Local 212
- Forrest Ceel IBEW 2150
- Royce Austin SEIU Healthcare
- Carrie Budahn SEIU Local 150
- Ray Bish
- Nathan Hoffmann

Appearances Against

- Bill Smith National Federation of Independent Business
- Jason Johns
- Pete Hanson Wisconsin Restaurant Association

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Alicia Treadwell
- Beth Hadley
- Mark Reihl Wisconsin State Council of Carpenters
- Joanne Ricca AFL-CIO
- Karla Smith
- Beth Kirchman Teamsters Local 662

- Mike Williquette
- Gabe Kirchner AFT Wisconsin
- Deb Sybell WEAC
- John Huebscher Wisconsin Catholic Conference
- Sabrina Gentile Wisconsin Council on Children and Families
- Lyle Balistreri Building Trades
- Robert Turner Representative

Registrations Against

- Michael Metz Wisconsin Independent Business
- Kathi Kilgore Wisconsin Innkeepers Association
- Matt Hauser Wisconsin Petroleum Marketers & Conveniece Store Association
- Nick George Midwest Food Processors Association
- Kris Levanetz Wisconsin Society for Human Resource Management
- James Buchen Wisconsin Manufacturers & Commerce

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

January 8, 2008 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (5) Senators Coggs, Wirch, Lehman, Grothman

and A. Lasee.

Absent: (0) None.

Moved by Senator Wirch, seconded by Senator Lehman that **Senate Bill 130** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (3) Senators Coggs, Wirch and Lehman.

Noes: (2) Senators Grothman and A. Lasee.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 3, Noes 2

Adam Plotkin Committee Clerk