# **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Natural Resources**

#### Senate Bill 197

Relating to: restrictions on the use and sale of fertilizer containing phosphorus and other lawn fertilizer and providing a penalty.

By Senators Miller, Breske, Cowles, Hansen, Jauch, A. Lasee, Lehman, Risser, Sullivan and Vinehout; cosponsored by Representatives Bies, Ballweg, Berceau, Black, Boyle, Hubler, Jorgensen, Lothian, Molepske, Richards, Sherman, Smith, Tauchen and Van Roy.

January 17, 2008 Referred to Committee on Natural Resources.

## February 12, 2008 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present: (13) Representatives Gunderson, J. Ott, Bies, LeMahieu, M. Williams, Moulton, Nerison,

Mursau, Molepske, Steinbrink, Hraychuck,

Hebl and Mason.

Absent: (1) Representative Black.

#### Appearances For

- Rep. Garey Bies 1st Assembly District
- Sen. Mark Miller 16th Senate District
- Monica Groves-Batiza Wisconsin Counties Association
- Lisa Conley Rock River Coalition
- Dan Kohler Wisconsin Environment
- George Meyer Wisconsin Wildlife Federation
- Julian Zelazny Wisconsin Land and Water Conservation Association
- William O'Connor Wisconsin Association of Lakes

# Appearances Against

• None.

#### Appearances for Information Only

- Mike Turner Wisconsin Crop Production Association
- Brian Swingle Wisconsin Green Industry Federation
- Scott Manley Wisconsin Manufacturers and Commerce
- George Klaetsch Wisconsin Agribusiness Council
- Chris Tackett Wisconsin Merchants Federation

# Registrations For

- Jennifer Giegerich Wisconsin League of Conservation Voters
- Rep. Jeff Wood 67th Assembly District
- Greg Hubbard Milwaukee Metropolitan Sewage District
- Rep. Joan Ballweg 41st Assembly District
- Brad Boycks Wisconsin Builders Association
- Kurt Thiede Wisconsin Conservation Congress

# Registrations Against

• None.

## Registrations for Information Only

• None.

### March 10, 2008 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (13) Representatives Gunderson, J. Ott, Bies, LeMahieu, M. Williams, Moulton, Nerison,

Black, Molepske, Steinbrink, Hraychuck, Hebl

and Mason.

Absent: (1) Representative Mursau.

Moved by Representative Black, seconded by Representative Gunderson that **Assembly Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for introduction and adoption.

Ayes: (13) Representatives Gunderson, J. Ott, Bies, LeMahieu, M. Williams, Moulton, Nerison, Black, Molepske, Steinbrink, Hraychuck, Hebl and Mason.

Noes: (0) None.

Absent: (1) Representative Mursau.

INTRODUCTION AND ADOPTION OF ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Black, seconded by Representative Gunderson that **Senate Bill 197** be recommended for concurrence as amended.

Ayes: (13) Representatives Gunderson, J. Ott, Bies, LeMahieu, M. Williams, Moulton, Nerison, Black, Molepske, Steinbrink, Hraychuck,

Hebl and Mason.

Noes: (0) None.

Absent: (1) Representative Mursau.

CONCURRENCE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 0

Mike Bruhn Committee Clerk