Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Housing

Senate Bill 228

Relating to: the regulation of construction contractors and subcontractors, granting rule-making authority, and providing a penalty.

By Senators Wirch, Hansen, Lehman, Decker, Cowles, Schultz, Harsdorf, Sullivan, Olsen, Lassa and Erpenbach; cosponsored by Representatives Kaufert, Mason, Steinbrink, Kreuser, Boyle, Hahn, Montgomery, Jeskewitz, Sheridan, Jorgensen, Bies, Albers, A. Ott, Petrowski, Townsend and Musser.

November 13, 2007 Referred to Committee on Housing.

January 24, 2008 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present: (7) Representatives Wieckert, Stone, Townsend,

Honadel, Hebl, Young and A. Williams.

Absent: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Ron Hanko, McFarland
- Patrick Smith, St. Germain
- Bradley Hasheider, Sauk City
- Mark Reihl, Madison Wisconsin State Council of Carpenters
- Tim Elverman, Milwaukee Plumbers Local 75
- Jim Steele, Madison
- Bob DuPont, Madison Wisconsin Department of Commerce
- Robert Wirch, Madison Senator, 22nd Senate District
- Dean Kaufert , Madison Representative , 55th Assembly District
- Cale Battles, Madison State Bar of Wisconsin
- Kevin La Mere , Madison Wisconsin Pipe Trades Association
- Dan Gengler, Madison Wisconsin Fire Protection Coalition
- Gregory Hunt, Elkhorn
- Brett Large, West Bend
- Joe Strohl, Madison Operating Eineers Local 139

Appearances Against

- Brad Boycks, Madison Wisconsin Builders Association
- John Mielke, Madison ABC of Madison

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Lyle Balistreri, Milwaukee
- Matt Parks, Monona Decorating Unlimited
- Mike Carey, Cottage Grove Carpenters Union
- Tom Doleschy, Muskego Carpenter Union
- Michael Wilburn, Milwaukee LIUNA Local 113
- Steven Bako, Grafton LIUNA Local 113
- Ricardo Guthierrez, Oconowoc Local 494
- Tim Hanson, Muskego IRWEW Local 94
- Joel Kapusta, Oregon IBEW 159
- Chris Dig, Sheboygan LIUNA

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

March 13, 2008 Failed to concur pursuant to Senate Joint Resolution 1.

Scott Becher Committee Clerk