Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Education

Senate Bill 251

Relating to: removal of a pupil from class, from any portion of school property, or from a school-sponsored activity.

By Senators Lehman, Carpenter, Cowles, Darling, Grothman, Hansen, Lassa, Plale and Roessler; cosponsored by Representatives Ballweg, Berceau, Davis, Fields, Gottlieb, Hahn, Hebl, Hines, Hixson, Jeskewitz, Jorgensen, Kerkman, Mursau, Musser, Nass, Nelson, A. Ott, Parisi, Petrowski, Seidel, Sheridan, Sinicki, Soletski, Staskunas, Strachota, Turner, Van Roy, Vos and Zepnick.

August 13, 2007 Referred to Committee on Education.

February 21, 2008 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (5) Senators Lehman, Erpenbach, Hansen,

Grothman and Lazich.

Absent: (2) Senators Kreitlow and Olsen.

Appearances For

- John Lehman, Racine Sen., 21st Senate District
- Lily Ramos, Racine REAA
- Sandy Nemec, Somerset Somerset School District
- Elaine Hoffer, Madison

Appearances Against

• Sheri Krause, Madison — Wisconsin Association of School Boards

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Jeff Plale, Milwaukee Sen, 7th Senate District
- Ted Ramos, Racine
- Michael Walsh, Madison Wisconsin Education Association Council
- Scott Spector, Madison AFT-Wisconsin
- Joan Ballweg, Markesan Rep., 41st Assembly District

Registrations Against

- John Forester, Madison School District Administrators Alliance
- Joe Quick, Madison Madison Metropolitan School District

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

March 6, 2008 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (0) None. Absent: (0) None.

Moved by Senator Hansen, seconded by Senator Grothman that **Senate Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (7) Senators Lehman, Erpenbach, Hansen, Kreitlow, Olsen, Grothman and Lazich.

Noes: (0) None.

ADOPTION OF SENATE SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 RECOMMENDED, Ayes 7, Noes 0

Moved by Senator Kreitlow, seconded by Senator Hansen that **Senate Bill 251** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (6) Senators Lehman, Erpenbach, Hansen, Kreitlow, Grothman and Lazich.

Noes: (1) Senator Olsen.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 6, Noes 1

Sara Dauscher Committee Clerk