# **Senate**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# Committee on Commerce, Utilities and Rail

#### Senate Bill 285

Relating to: the regulation of certain telecommunications utilities and the public service commission's jurisdiction over public utilities in general.

By Senators Plale, Breske, Kreitlow, Schultz, Olsen and Kedzie; cosponsored by Representatives Montgomery, Van Roy, Gunderson, Hahn, Gronemus, Albers, Hubler, Vos, A. Ott and Petersen.

October 10, 2007 Referred to Committee on Commerce, Utilities and Rail.

October 25, 2007 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD** 

Present: (7) Senators Plale, Breske, Wirch, Hansen,

Cowles, Harsdorf and Kedzie.

Absent: (0) None.

### Appearances For

• Bill Esbeck, Madison — Wisconsin Telecommunications Association

#### Appearances Against

- Patrick Fucik Sprint Nextel
- Tom Springer, Madison CenturyTel
- Pat Finder-Stone, Madison AARP
- Charlie Higley, Madison Citizens Utility Board

# **Appearances for Information Only**

- Vincent Paladini Time Warner Cable
- Carrie Cox, Madison Charter Communications
- Jim Rabbitt, Madison DATCP
- Dan Ebert, Madison Public Service Commission
- Curt Pawlisch, Madison Wisconsin CALLS

#### **Registrations For**

• Phil Montgomery, Ashwaubenon — 4th Assembly District

### Registrations Against

• None.

### Registrations for Information Only

• None.

## February 21, 2008 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (7) Senators Plale, Breske, Wirch, Hansen,

Cowles, Harsdorf and Kedzie.

Absent: (0) None.

Moved by Senator Plale, seconded by Senator Breske that **Senate Substitute Amendment** be recommended for introduction.

Ayes: (7) Senators Plale, Breske, Wirch, Hansen,

Cowles, Harsdorf and Kedzie.

Noes: (0) None.

INTRODUCTION OF SENATE SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT RECOMMENDED, Ayes 7, Noes 0

Moved by Senator Cowles, seconded by Senator Breske that **Senate Bill 285** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (7) Senators Plale, Breske, Wirch, Hansen,

Cowles, Harsdorf and Kedzie.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 7, Noes 0

Amber Hodgson Committee Clerk