# **Senate**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# Committee on Economic Development, Job Creation, Family Prosperity and Housing

#### **Senate Bill 37**

Relating to: regulation of unsafe children's products, extending the time limit for and providing an exemption from emergency rule procedures, requiring the exercise of rule-making authority, and providing a penalty.

By Senators Lassa, Lehman, Risser, Schultz, Coggs and Miller; cosponsored by Representatives Albers, Jeskewitz, Sheridan, Pocan, Black, Wasserman, A. Ott, Vruwink, Cullen, Seidel, Krusick, Grigsby and Jorgensen.

February 14, 2007

Referred to Committee on Economic Development, Job Creation, Family Prosperity and Housing.

#### April 18, 2007

#### PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present: (7) Senators Lassa, Lehman, Vinehout, Kreitlow,

Kanavas, Darling and Roessler.

Absent: (0) None.

# Appearances For

- Julie Lassa, Madison Senator
- Dipesh Navsaria, Madison Doctor, Wisconsin Chapter of American Pediatricss
- Michelle Reinen, Madison Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
- Nancy Cowles, Oak Park Kids in Danger

#### Appearances Against

• None.

### Appearances for Information Only

None

#### **Registrations For**

- Sabrina Gentile, Madison Wisconsin Council on Children and Families
- Wayne Corey, Madison Wisconsin Independent Business
- Nan Peterson, Madison Safe Kids Coalition-Madison Area

#### Registrations Against

• None.

## Registrations for Information Only

• None.

## April 24, 2007 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (7) Senators Lassa, Lehman, Vinehout, Kreitlow,

Kanavas, Darling and Roessler.

Absent: (0) None.

Moved by Senator Kanavas, seconded by Senator Kreitlow that **Senate Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (7) Senators Lassa, Lehman, Vinehout, Kreitlow,

Kanavas, Darling and Roessler.

Noes: (0) None.

ADOPTION OF SENATE AMENDMENT 1 RECOMMENDED, Ayes 7, Noes 0

Moved by Senator Vinehout, seconded by Senator Kanavas that **Senate Bill 37** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (7) Senators Lassa, Lehman, Vinehout, Kreitlow,

Kanavas, Darling and Roessler.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 7, Noes 0

Monica Groves Committee Clerk