Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Education

Senate Bill 42

Relating to: school policies on bullying.

By Senators Kedzie, Coggs, Carpenter, Lassa, Roessler, Darling, Lehman, Schultz, Hansen, Sullivan and A. Lasee; cosponsored by Representatives Jeskewitz, Lothian, Young, Sheridan, Fields, Turner, Hines, Albers, Berceau, A. Ott, Ballweg, Krusick, Cullen and Owens.

February 15, 2007 Referred to Committee on Education.

August 23, 2007 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (7) Senators Lehman, Erpenbach, Hansen, Kreitlow, Olsen, Grothman and Lazich.

Absent: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Diane Handrick, Madison Rep. Sue Jeskewitz
- Neil Kedzie, Elkhorn Sen., 11th Senate District
- Margaret Yttre, New Berlin self
- Alie Kriofske Mainella, Milwaukee Independence 1st
- Julia Sherman, Middleton Wisconsin Prevention Network
- Thomas Reichert Officer, self
- Spencer Coggs Sen., 6th Senate District

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

- Kathryn Shug, Fitchburg self
- Jennifer Kammerud, Madison Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction
- Dan Rossmiller, Madison Wisconsin Association of School Boards
- Jeff Spitzer-Reznick, Madison Disability Rights Wisconsin

Registrations For

- Joe Quick, Madison Madison Metropolitan School District
- Shel Gross, Madison Mental Health America
- Deb Sybell, Madison Wisconsin Education Association Council

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD October 18, 2007

Present: Senators Lehman, Erpenbach, Hansen, (7)

Kreitlow, Olsen, Grothman and Lazich.

Absent: (0)None.

Moved by Senator Olsen, seconded by Senator Hansen that Senate **Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

> (6) Senators Lehman, Erpenbach, Hansen, Ayes:

Kreitlow, Olsen and Lazich.

(1) Senator Grothman. Noes:

ADOPTION OF SENATE SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 RECOMMENDED, Ayes 6, Noes 1

Moved by Senator Hansen, seconded by Senator Kreitlow that **Senate Bill 42** be recommended for passage as amended.

> (5) Senators Lehman, Erpenbach, Hansen, Ayes:

Kreitlow and Olsen.

Noes: (2) Senators Grothman and Lazich.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 2

Sara Dauscher Committee Clerk