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2009 WISCONSIN ACT 405

(Vetoed in Part)

AN ACT toamend 20.144 (1) (g), 49.857 (1) (d) 12.,

73.0301 (1) (d) 6., 138.04, 138.09 (1m) (a), 138.09 (3) (f),

138.10(2m), 138.10 (15), 220.02 (2) (b), 220.04 (10), 220.285 (1), 321.60 (1) (a) 12., 403.414 (7), 422.201 (3) and
425.301 (4); antb create 20.144 (1) (j), 59.69 (4h), 62.23 (7) (hi), 138.09 (1a), 138.0€{3). g., 138.14, 138.16

and 812.3%1a) of the statutesglating to: regulating payday loans and motor vehicle title loans, limiting the areas

in which apayday lender may operate, granting rule—making authanaking an appropriation, and providing a

penalty.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in
senate and assembly, do enact as follows:

SecTion 1. 20.144 (1) (g) of thetatutes is amended
to read:

20.144(1) (g) General program operations. The
amountsin the schedule for the general program
operationsof the department of financiahstitutions.
Exceptas provided in pars. (a), (h), (). (@nd (u), all
moneysreceived by thelepartment, other than by the
office of creditunions and the division of banking, and
88% of all moneys received by the departmedtVision
of banking shall be credited to tlappropriation, but any
balance at the close of a fiscal year unddhis
appropriatiorshall lapse to the general fund. Annually
$200,000 of the amounts received under this
appropriation account shall be transferred to the
appropriatioraccount under s. 20.575 (1) (g).

SecTiON 2. 20.144 (1) (j) of the statutes is created to
read:

20.144(1) (j) Payday loan database and financial
literacy. All moneys received under $38.14 (14) (h),

for developing, implementing, maintaining, or

contractingfor operating, the database under s. 138.14
(14), and for promoting financial literacy

SecTiOoN 3. 49.857 (1) (d) 12. of the statutes, as
affectedby 2009 Wisconsin Act 2is amended to read:

49.857(1) (d) 12. A license or certificate ofgistra
tion issued under ss. 138.09, 138.12, 13821¥7.06,
218.0101t0 218.0163, 218.02, 218.04, 218.05, 224.72,
224.725224.93 or subch. IV of ch. 551.

SecTION 4. 59.69 (4h) of the statutes is created to
read:

59.69(4h) PayDAY LENDERS. (@) Definitions. In this
subsection:

1. “Licensee” has the meanimggyen in s. 138.14 (1)
().

2. "Payday lender” means a business, owne@ by
licenseethat makes payday loans.

3. "Payday loan” has theeaning given in s. 138.14
(1) (k).

(b) Limits on locations of payday lenders. Except as
providedin par (c), no paydayender may operate in a
countyunless it receives a permitdo so from the county
zoningagency and the county zoning agency may not

* Section 9911, WisconsIN STaTuTES 200708 : BEctive date of acts. “Every act and every portion of an act enacted by the legislatu
the governotrs partial veto which does not expressly prescribe the time when it tatssbill take ééct on the day after its date of publicati
asdesignated” by the secretary of state [the date of publication may not be more than 10 working days after the date of enactment].
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issuea permit to gpayday lender if any of the following  of this subdivision .... [LRB inserts date], fronfoaation

applies: thatdoesnot comply with the provisions of subd. 2., the
1. The payday lender would be located within 1,500 paydaylender may continue to operate from that location
feetof another payday lender notwithstandinghe provisions of subd. 2.
2. The payday lendewxould be located within 150 SecTioN 6. 73.0301 (1) (d) 6. of the statutes, as
feetof a single—family or 2—family residential zoning-dis  affectedby 2009 Wsconsin Act 2is amended to read:
trict. 73.0301(1) (d) 6. A license or certificate oégistra

(c) Exceptions. 1. Paragraph (b) ongppliesinthe  tionissued by the department of financial institutiars,
unincorporatedparts of the county which have not adivision of it, under ss. 138.09, 138.12, 1382%7.06,
adopteda zoning ordinance as authorized under s. 60.62218.0101to 218.0163, 218.02, 218.04, 218.05, 224.72,

2). 224.725224.93 or under subch. IV of ch. 551.

2. A county may regulate payday lenderseimacting SecTION 7. 138.04 of the statutes is amended to read:
azoningordinance that contains provisions that are more  138.04 Legal rate. The rate of interest upon the loan
strict than those specified in p4b). or forbearance odny moneygoods or things in action

3. If a county has enacted an ordinance regulating shallbe $5 upon the $100 for one year and according to
paydaylenders that is in ffct on the déctive date of this  thatrate for a greater or less sum or for a longer or a
subdivision.... [LRB inserts date], the ordinance may shortertime; but partiesnay contract for the payment
continueto apply and the county may continue to enforce and receiptof a rate of interest not exceeding the rate
the ordinance, but only if the ordinance is at least  allowedin ss. 138.041 to 138.056, 138.09188.12

restrictiveas the provisions of papb). 138.14 218.0101 to 218.0163, or 422.201, in which case
4. Notwithstandingthe provisions of subd. 3., if a suchrate shall be clearly expressed in writing.
paydaylender that is doing business on tifectfve date SecTion 8. 138.09(1a) of the statutes is created to
of this subdivision .... [LRB inserts date], frontoaation read:
thatdoes not comply with the provisionsdr (b), the 138.091a) This section does not apply to any of the
paydaylender may continue to operate from that location following:
notwithstandinghe provisions of pafb). (@) Banks, savings banks, savings and loan
SecTion 5. 62.23 (7) (hi) of the statutes is created to associationstrust companies, credit unignsr any of Vetoed
read: their affiliates . In Part
62.23(7) (hi) Payday lenders. 1. In this paragraph: (b) Payday loans made under s. 138.14.
a. “Licensee” has the meanimggven in s. 138.14 (1) SecTioN 9. 138.09 (1m) (a) of the statutes is amended
. to read:
b. “Payday lender” means a business, ownea by 138.09(1m) (a) Before any person may do business
licenseethat makes payday loans. underthis section-Qrchage the interest authorized by
c. “Payday loan” has theeaning given in s. 138.14 sub (Y)aneLbeferear]yLeFedmgLquHhan&bankJ.,aV|ngs
1) ().

2. Except as provideth subds. 3., 4., and 5., no orassess aflnanccmage on a consumer Ioan in excess
paydaylender may operate in a city unless it receives a of 18% per yearthat person shall first obtainliaense
permitto do so from the city council, and the city council from the division. Applications for a license shall be in
may not issue a permit togyday lender if any of the fol ~ writing and upon forms provided for this purposetiny

lowing applies: division. An applicant at the time of making an applica
a. The payday lender would be located within 1,500 tion shall pay to the division a nonrefundable $300 fee for
feetof another payday lender investigatingthe application and a $500 annual license

b. The payday lendewrould be located within 150 feefor the period terminating on the last day of the cur
feetof a single—family or 2-family residential zoning-dis  rentcalendar yearlf the cost of the investigati@xceeds
trict. $300, the applicant shall upon demand of the division pay

3. A city may regulate payday lenders by enacting a to the division the amount by which the cokthe inves
zoningordinance that contains provisions that are more tigation exceeds the nonrefundable fee.

strictthan those specified in subd. 2. SecTioN 10. 138.09 (3) (e) 1. g. of the statutes is
4. If a city has enacted an ordinanagulating createdo read:
paydaylenders that is in fefct on the d&ctive date of this 138.09(3) (e) 1. g. A payday loan licensee under s.

subdivision.... [LRB inserts date], the ordinance may 138.14.

continueto apply and the city may continue to enforce the SecTioN 11. 138.09 (3) (f) of the statutesasnended

ordinanceputonly if the ordinance is at least as restric to read:

tive as the provisions of subd. 2. 138.09(3) (f) Every licensee shall make an annual
5. Notwithstandinghe provisions of subd. 4., if a reportto the division for each calendar year orbefore

paydaylender that is doing business on thectfve date March 15 of the following year The report shall-cover
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includebusiness transacted by the licensee under the pro  (h) “General order” means an order that is not a spe
visionsof this section and shall give all reasonable and cial order

relevantinformation that the division may require. The (i) “Licensee” means a person holding a license
reportsshall bemade-upon-forms-furnishéd the form issuedby the division under sub. (5).

andmanner prescribedy the division-and-shall-be-signed () “Maturity date” means the date specified when
andverified by the oath-or ifmation-of the licensee if  originatinga payday loan owhich the loan is required
anm@wdaal%oﬁth&paﬁners#&paﬁne%&&mem to be paid in full.

b (k) “Payday loan” means any of the following:

i jation-i 1. A transaction between an individual with an
ciation Any licensee operating under this section shall accountat a financial establishment and another person,
keepthe records &kcting loans made pursuant to this includinga person who is not physically locatedtiis
sectionseparate and distinct from the records of any otherstate,in which the person agrees &mcept from the

busines®f the licensee. individual one ormore checks, to hold the check or
SecTion 12. 138.10 (2m) of the statutesdasended checks for a period of time before negotiating or

to read: presentinghe check or checks for payment, antbm
138.10(2m) PAWNBROKING BY LICENSED LENDERS. to the individual,for a term of 90 days or leskefore Vetoed

Thedivision of banking may promulgate rules regulating negotiating or presenting the check or checks fon Part
the conduct of pawnbrokinly persons licensed under s. paymentan amount that is agreed to by the individual.

138.090r 138.14 2. A transaction between an individual with an
SecTioN 13. 138.10(15) of the statutes is amended accountat a financial establishment and another person,
toread: including a person who is not physically locatedtiis

138.10(15) ExcepTioN. This section does not apply state, in which the person agrees to accept the

to any person that is licensed under s. 138.09 or 138.14individual’s authorization to initiate one or more
SecTIoN 14. 138.14 of the statutes is created to read: electronicfund transfers fronthe account, to wait a
138.14 Payday loans. (1) DeriNITIONS. In this see period of time before initiatingthe electronic fund

tion: transferor transfers, antb loan to the individuafor a Vetoed
(a) “Affiliate” means, with respect to person, term of 90 days or lesdeforeinitiating the electronic In Part

anotherperson who owns or controls, is owned or-con fund transfer or transfers, an amount that is agreed to by

trolled by, or is under common ownership or contkith, theindividual.
such person. In this paragraph “control” means any of the (L) “Special order” means an order against a person.
following: (2) LICENSEREQUIRED. A personmay not originate

1. For a corporation, direct or indirect ownership of, or servicea payday loan involving a Mtonsin resident
or the right to control, 10 percent or more of the voting without first having obtained from the division a license
shareof the corporation, or the ability of a person to elect undersub. (5) for each place bfisiness at which the per
amajority of the directors or otherwisdeaxft a change in  sonoriginates or services payday loans involving-W

policy. consinresidents. Such a license is requii@gand this

2. For any entity other than a corporation, dfbdity sectionapplies toall payday loans made to adtonsin
to change the active gassive principals of theganiza- residentregardless of whether the loan is made by face-
tion. to—facecontact, mail, telephone, Internet, or any other

(b) “Check” has the meanirgjven in s. 403.104 (6). means.
(bm) “Customer” means an individual who enters (3) ExempTions. This section does not apply to

into a payday loan with a licensee. banks savings banks, savings dodn associations, trust
(c) ‘“Database” meanghe statewide database companiescredit unionsor any of their dfliates . Vetoed
describedn sub. (14). (4) APPLICATIONS;FEES;BOND. (&) 1. Application for In Part

(d) “Database provider” means a 3rd—party provider licensesunder sub. (5) shall be made to the division in
with whom the department contractsojperate the data  writing in the form and manner prescribed bydhgsion
baseor, if the division elects to operate the databt#we, andshall include all of the following:

division. a. Except as provided in subd. 3., if the applicant is
(e) “Department’means the department of financial anindividual, the applicard’social security numher
institutions. b. If the applicant is not an individual, the applicant’
(f) “Division” means the division of banking. federalemployer identification number
(g) “Financial establishmentheans any ganiza- c. A statement signdoly or on behalf of the applicant

tion that is authorized to do business under state or federathatacknowledges that the applicant is subject to the debt
law and that holds a demand deposit, savings deposit, orcollection requirements under ch. 427 with respect to
otherasset account belonging to an individual. paydayloans.
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2. The division may not disclose any information 4. The applicant is delinquent in making court-or
receivedunder subd. 1. a. or b. to apgrson except as deredpayments of child diamily support, maintenance,
follows: birth expenses, medical expenses, or other expenses

a. The division may disclose information under subd. relatedto the support of a child or formspouse, as pro
1. a. or b. to the department of revenue for the sole pur videdin a memorandum of understanding entered into
poseof requesting certifications under s. 73.0301. unders. 49.857.

b. The division may disclogaformation under subd. (c) Alicense shall remain in force andeet until sus
1. a. to the department of workforce development in pendedr revoked in accordance with this section or sur
accordancavith a memorandurof understanding under  renderecby the licensee, and a licensee shall, on or before

$.49.857. eachDecember 10, pay to the division the annual license
3. If an applicantvho is an individual does not have feefor the next succeeding calendar year
asocial security numbgthe applicant, as a conditiof (d) Alicense is not assignable and perrojigration

applyingfor a license, shall submit a statement made or under it only at or from the place of business specified in
subscribedinder oath or &ifmation to the divisiorthat thelicense.
the applicant does not have a social security nunilies (e) A licensee shall conspicuously post a license at
form of thestatement shall be prescribed by the depart the place of business where the licensee makgslay
ment of workforce development. Any license issued in loans,or if conductingousiness through the Internet, on
relianceupon a falsstatement submitted by an applicant thelicensees Web site so that the license is easily viewed
is invalid. by a consumer
(b) At the time of making application, an applicant (6) RELOCATION; OTHER BUSINESS. (@) Whenever a
for a license shall pay to thdivision a nonrefundable licenseechanges thaddress of its place of business to
$300 fee for investigating the application and a $500 another location withithe same cityvillage, or town,
annuallicense fee. If the cost of the investigation exceeds the licensee shalyjive written notice thereof, in a form
$300, the applicant shall upon demand of the division payand manner prescribed by the division, to the division
to the division the amount by which the cothe inves within 10 business days of the relocation and the division
tigationexceeds the nonrefundable fee. shallreplace the original license with an amended license
(c) The division shall require any applicaat showing the new address. No change in the place of busi
licenseedo file and maintain in force a bond in a sum not nessof a licensee to a dédrent city village, or townis
to exceed $5,000 for each plamfebusiness at which the  permittedunder the same license.

applicantor licensee makes payday loans toiaddhsin (b) 1. Except as provided in subd. 2., a licensee may
resident. The bond shall be in a form prescribed by and conduct,and permit others to conduct, at the place of
acceptable to the division. businesspecified in its license, one or more of the fol

(5) Licenses. (a) Upon the filingof an application lowing businesses not subject to this section:
under sub. (4) and the payment of the required fees, the a. A currency exchange under s. 218.05.
division shall investigate the relevant facts. Except as  b. A seller of checks business under ch. 217.
providedin par (b), if the division finds that the character c. Aloan business under s. 138.09.
andgeneral fitness and the financial responsibility of the d. A sales finance company under ss. 218.0101 to
applicant,and the members thereof if the applicant is a 218.0163.
partnership limited liability company or association, 2. A licensee may not satherchandise or conduct
andthe oficers and directors thereof if the applicant is a otherbusiness at the place of businepecified in the
corporationwarrant the belief that the business will be licenseunless written authorization is granted to the
operatedin compliance with thisection, the division licenseeby the division.
shallissue a license to the applicant. If the division does  (7) RECORDSREPORTS. (a) Except aprovided in par
not make such finding, the division shall detlye (b), alicensee shall keep such books and records in the

application. licensee’splace ofbusiness that, in the opinion of the
(b) The division may not issweelicense to an appli division, will enable the division to determine cem
cantif any of the following applies: pliancewith this section. A licenseghall preserve the
1. The applicant fails tgrovide any information  recordsof final entry used in such business fqraaiod
requiredunder sub. (4) (a). of at least 2 years after the making of any loan recorded
2. The department of revenue certifies under s. therein.
73.0301that the applicant is liable for delinquent taxes. (b) A licensee may keep the books and records-speci

3. The applicant fails to complafter appropriate  fied in par (a) at a single location inside or outside of this
notice,with a subpoena or warrant issugdthe depart stateif the books and records are kept place of busi
mentof workforce development or a county child support nesslicensed under this section. A licensee shaher
agencyunder s. 59.53 (5) and related to paternity or child nizethebooks and records by the place of business where
supportproceedings. therecords originated.
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(c) A licensee shall keep the books and records investigationand the division may examine under oath
affectingloans made pursuant to this section separate andall persons whose testimony the division may require rel
distinct from the records of any other business of the ativeto such investigation.

licensee.
(d) Alicensee shall make an annual report to the divi

(e) The cost of any investigation, examination, or
hearing, including witnestees or any other expenses,

sionfor each calendar year on or before March 15 of the conducteddy the division under this section involving a

following year The report shall include business trans

licenseeshall be paid by the licensee within 30 days after

actedby the licensee under this section and shall give all demandtherefore by the division, anthe state may

reasonableand relevant information that the division
may require, including the information required for the
division’s reports under pafe). The reports shall be
madein the form and manner prescribed by the division.

(e) The division shall submit an annual reportite
appropriatestanding committeesf the legislature in the
mannerprovided under s. 13.172 (3) that includes all of
the following:

1. The number of payday loans mdmjeall licensees
duringthe preceding year

maintainan action for the recovery of such costs and
expenses.

() Actual costs incurred by the division to examine
booksand records maintained outsidetlois state shall
be paid by the licensee.

(9) REVOCATION AND SUSPENSIONOF LICENSES. (@)
The division may suspend or revoke any license issued
underthis section if the division finds any of tfalow-
ing:

1. That the licensee has violated gmgvision of this

2. The average principal amount for all payday loans section,any rule promulgated thereunder any lawful

madeduring the preceding year
3. The average interest, fees, and othergesior all
paydayloans made during the preceding year

4. Basedbn subd. 3., the average annual percentage

orderof the division made thereunder

2. That the licensee has violated any ofghavisions
of chs. 421 to 427.

3. That any facbr condition exists which, if it had

ratefor all payday loans made during the preceding.year existedat the time ofthe original application for such

5. The number of payday loans made during the pre
cedingyear that were paid in full on the maturity date.

6. The number of payday loans made during the
precedingyear that resulted in repayment under sub.

(119)(a).
7. The number of payday loans made during the pre

licensewould have warranted the divisiamrefusing to
issuesuch license.

4. That the licensee made a material misstatement in
anapplication for a license or in information furnished to
thedivision.

5. That the licensee has failed to pay #rual

cedingyear that were repaid with the proceeds of a subse licensefee or to maintairin effect the bond required

gquentpayday loan.

8. The number of payday loans made during the pre
cedingyear that resulted in default.

9. The number of payday loans made during the pre
cedingyear for which a customarpayment method was
dishonoredr denied due to insfidient funds.

(8) PoweRsOF THE DIVISION. (&) The divisiormay
issueany general or special order in execution of or sup
plementaryto this section.

(b) The division may promulgate such rules as it con
sidersnecessary fothe administration of this section,

undersub. (4) (c).

(b) Thedivision shall restrict or suspend a license
issuedunder this section if the division finds that the
licenseds an individual who fails to complgfterappre
priate notice, with a subpoera warrant issued by the
departmenbf workforcedevelopment or a county child
supportagency under s. 59.53 (5) and related to paternity
or child support proceedings or who is delinquemhak
ing court—ordered payments child or family support,
maintenancehirth expenses, medical expenses, or other
expensegelated to the support of a child or former

including rules establishing database transaction feesspouseas provided in a memorandum of understanding
undersub. (14) (hjand other fees considered reasonable enterednto under s. 49.857. A licensee whose licéase

andnecessary by the division.

restrictedor suspended under this paragraph is entitled to

(c) The division shall have the same power to conduct a hotice and hearing only as provided in a memorandum

hearingstake testimonyand secure evidenes is pre
videdin ss. 217.17 and 217.18.
(d) The division for the purpose of discovering viola

of understanding entered into under s. 49.857 and is not
entitledto any other notice or hearing under this section.
(c) The division shaltevoke a license issued under

tions of this section may investigate the business of a this sectionif the department of revenue certifies under

licenseetransacted under this section, and shall investi
gateconvictions reported to the divisiday any district
attorneyfor violation by a licensee of this section. The

s.73.0301 that the licensee is liable for delinquent taxes.
A licensee whose license is revoketler this paragraph
for delinquent taxess entitled to a notice under s.

place of business, books of account, papers, records,73.0301(2) (b) 1. b. and a hearing under s. 73.0301 (5)

safesand vaults of a licensee shall be opeimgpection
andexamination by the division for the purpose of such

(a) but isnot entitled to any other notice or hearing under
this section.
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(d) Except as provided in paf®) and (c), no license 4. The percentage of customers originatiayday
shall be revoked or suspended except after a hearingloansthat resulted in repayment under suigjla).  Vetoed
underthis section. A complaint stating the grounds for (d) The informational materials under péa) shall In Part
suspensiomr revocation together with a noticehufar includea summary of all actions that the licensee may
ing shall be delivered to the licensee at least 5 days intake against a payday loan customer if the customer
advanceof the hearing.In the event the licensee cannot defaultson the payday loan or if the custonsecheck or
befound, complaint and notice of hearing may be left at electronicfund transfer is dishonored or denied for insuf
the place of business stated in the license,which shall beficient funds.
consideredthe equivalent of delivering the notice of (e) The divisionshall annually update the informa
hearingand complaint to the licensee. tional materials under pafa), based upon the divisisn’

(99) DISCLOSUREREQUIREMENTS. (a) Before any  analysisof reports received under sub. (7) (d).
licenseeenters into a payday loan with an applicant, the  (f) The division shall make copies of the informa
licensee shall do all of the following: tional materials under paa) available, upon request, to

1. Disclose to the applicant the total amount of all |jcenseesnd to the public, including making thestor-
feesand costsin dollars, to be paid by the applicant for mationalmaterials available on the Interrsite of the
theloan assuming that the loan is paid in full at the end gepartmenof financial institutions. The division may
of the loan term. . chargelicensees a reasonable fee for printed copies of

2. Disclose tothe applicant the annual percentage jnformationalmaterials supplied under this paragraph.
rateto bepaid by the applicant on the loan assuming that (10) INTEREST,PENALTIES, AND FEES. (a) Interest. 1.
theloan is paid in full at the end of the loan term. Exceptas provided in sub. (12) (b), this section imposes

3. Prlovide o Ithe app#i'can_twpy of thewritteninfor 5 jimit on the interest that a licensee may geavefore
mationalmaterials specified in sub. (9r). the maturity date of a payday loan.

4. Disclose to the applicant that he or she has the right 2. If a payday loan is not paid in full on or before the

to rescm'd tlhe loan thransacl'glon ashprowdgd in sub) (1 maturity date, a licensee mayage, after the maturityVetoed
ma?ép%l?/cu%sdee:osabe (?LF())F)) '(E?nztt e service geathat date,interest at a ra}teot _exceeding 2.75 percent pdmn Part
6 Disclose to. the app;licant the payment month, except that if a licensee makes a subsequent
requirements&hat may apply under sub.1g) (a) if the paydayloan to the customer under sub. (12) (@), tiwad
: customeroes not pay the subsequent loan in fulbon

loanis not paid in full at the end of the loan term. before the maturity date of the subsequent loan, the
(b) A licensee shall retain, for at least 3 years after thelicenseema cha ye after the maturitgjate of th’e
origination date of any payday loan, a record of eom y chage, .
pliancewith par (a) with respect to the loan subsequentoan, interestt a ratenot exceeding 2.75Vetoed
(9r) INFORMATIONAL MATERIALS. (@) The division percent per month-on the subs_equeln’an and the_ln Part
shalldevelopwritten informational materials on payday I|cen_se_e_ may not _chage any interest under th'.s
loansand the payday loan industries. Thaserma subdivisiononthe prior loan Interest earned under thi¥/etoed
subdivisionshallbe calculated at the rate of one—thirtieth Part

tional materials shall be designed to educate individuals
regardingthe operation and potentiabsts of payday of themonthly rate chaged for each calendar day that the

loansand of other options for borrowing funds that may Palanceof the loan is outstanding. Interest may not be
be available. assessedn any interest earned under this subdivision.
(b) The informational materials under péa) shall _ (am) Penalties. Except as provided in pgb) 2., no
includea clearand conspicuous notice that a payday loan licenseemay impose any penalty on a customer arising
is not intended to meet long—term financial needs and thatfom the customes prepayment of or default or late
apayday loan applicant should use a payday loan only toPaymenton a payday loan, includirany payment under

providefunds in a financial emgency. sub.(119) (a) . Vetoed
(c) The informational materials under péa) shall (b) Fees. 1. Alicensee may not assess a customer emfpart
include all of the following information, based upon feeor chage for database access or usage.
aggregated information fromeports submitted under 2. Alicensee may present a custorseheck for pay
sub.(7) (d) for the most recent reporting period: mentno more than once. For each customer authoriza
1. The average annual percentage ratepfoyday tion to initiate an electronitund transfer from the cus
loans. tomer’s account, a licensee may initiate an electronic
2. The percentage of customers originajrayday fund transfer nanore than once. The only charthat a
loanswho defaulted on the loan. licensee maympose for dishonor of a custornrecheck

3. The percentage of customers originatiyayday or denial of the licensezinstructiornto execute an elec
loanswhose payment method was dishonored or deniedtronic fund transfer is a service clyarthat does not
for insufficient funds. exceedb15.
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(11) PrRepAYMENT. (a) A customer may pay a payday
loanin whole or in part prior to the maturity date of the
loan.

(b) Upon prepaymerin full, a refund of the unearned

_7_
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(d) No licensee may take a note, promise tq pay
any otherinstrument, in which blanks are left to be filled
in after the payday loan has been made.

(e) No licensee may advertise, print, displayblish,

portionof any interest assessed by the licensee must belistribute,or broadcast, or cause to be printed, displayed,
allowed. The amount of such refund shall not be less than published distributed, obroadcast, in any manneny

thedifference between thieterest chayed and the inter
estearned at the agreed rate computed uponrtpaid
principalbalance of the loafiom time to time outstand
ing prior to repayment in full.

(11g) REPAYMENT AFTER TERM OF LOAN. (a) Except
as provided in par(b), if a customer fails to repay a
paydayloan in full at the end of the loan term, the licensee
that made the loan shall fef the customer the
opportunityto repay the outstanding balance of the loan
in 4 equal installments with due dates coinciding with the
customer’spay period schedule.

(b) If alicensee dérs a customer the opportunity to
make repayment under par(a), then, during the
12-month period following the dér, no licensee,
including the licensee making thefef, is required to
offer the customer another opportunity to repgagday
loanunder par(a).

(11r) Rescission. A customer may rescind a payday
loan, before the close of business on the next day of busi
nessafter the loan is made,,af the place of business

statementvith regard to the rates, terms, or conditions of
apayday loan that is false or calculatedi¢zeive. Wh
respectto mattersspecifically governed by s. 423.301,
compliancewith such section satisfies thequirements

of this paragraph.

(f) If a check held by a licensee as a result of a payday
loanis dishonored, or an instruction to execute an-elec
tronic funds transfer authorized as the result of a payday
loanis denied, the licensee may bringaanion to collect
theamount of the check or electronic funds trandfet
may not threaten or pursue criminal action agaimst
debtoras a result of the debtserdishonored check or
deniedelectronic funds transfer ¢he debtois payday
loannot being paid.

(13) OTtHERPROVISIONS. (a) All payday loanshall
begoverned by chs. 421 to 426, but to the extent that chs.
421to 426are inconsistent with this section, this section
shallgovern. All payday loans shall be governed by ch.
427.

(b) A licensee shall deliver to the customatrthe

wherethe loan is made is open 24 hours, before 5 p.m. ontime a payday loan is made, a statement in the English and
thenext day of business after the loan is made, by return SpanisHanguages including all the disclosures required
ing to the licensee the proceeds of the payday loan. Theby the federal Consumer Credit Protection Act. The
licenseemay notchage the customer any fee for reseind  statemenshall disclose that the customer may prepay the

ing the payday loan as provided in this subsection.
(12) ProHBITIONS. (a) A customemay repay a

customer’doan in whole or in part and that if the loan is
prepaidin full the customer will receive a refund of inter

paydayloan with the proceeds of a subsequent paydayestas provided by this sectioThe statement shall also

loanmade by the same or another licensee orféiaf
of the same oanother licensee, but if the customer does

s0,the customer may not repay the subsequent payday

loanwith the proceeds afnother payday loan made by
thesame or another licensee or diliafe of the same or
anothericensee. Arepayment of a subsequent payday
loan and the origination ofrrew payday loan from the
sameor another licensee or arfiiéite of the sameor
anotheticenseawithin a 24-hour period shall be consid
eredproof of violation of the prohibition under this para
graph.

(b) No licensee may make a payday loan to a cus

clearly and conspicuously indicate the percentage per
yearof interest chayed for the payday loan.

(c) A licensee shall give to the custonagplain and
completereceipt for all cash payments made on account
of any payday loaat the time such payments are made.

(d) No payday loan, wherever made, for which a
greaterrate or amount of interest th&allowed under
sub.(10) (a) 2. has been contracted for or received, may
beenforced in this state, and every person in any way par
ticipatingtherein in this state shall be subject to this sec
tion. If alicensee makes an excessive ghaof such
interestas theresult of an unintentional mistake, but upon

tomerthat results in the customer having an outstanding demandmakes correction of such mistake, the loan shall
aggregatdiability in principal, interest, and all other fees beenforceable and treated as if no violation occurred at
andchapes, to all licensees who have made payday loansthe agreed rate. Nothing in this paragraph shall limit any

to the customer of more than $1,500 or 35 percent of thegreaterights or remedieafforded in chs. 421 to 427 to

customer’gygross monthly income, whichever is less.
(c) No licensee may make a payday loan to a cus

a customer in a consumer credit transaction.
(14) DataBase. (a) The division or a database pro

tomerif the licensee determines, knows, or should have vider shall develop, implemerand maintain a single sta

known, that the customer identification numberthé
customeiis invalid.

tewide database that has real-time access through an
Internetconnection, is accessible at all time$§idensees
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andthe division, and otherwise meets the requirements ofbecauséhe customés check or an electronic redeposit
this section. is in the process of clearing the banking system; that the
(b) Thedivision may operate the database or may loanremains open because the custosehneck is being
contractwith a single3rd—party provider to operate the returnedto the licensee for insfifient funds, aclosed
databaself the division contracts with a 3rd—party pro  accountor a stop payment ordex; that any other factors
vider for the operation of the database, the division shall determinedy the division are applicable. If a licensee

do all the following: makes such a report, the database provider shall
1. Ensure that the 3rd—party provider operates the designatehe payday loan as an open transaction until the
databas@ccording to the provisions of this section. databaseprovider is notified thatthe transaction is
2. In selecting a 3rd—party provideonsider the cost  closed.
of providing the service and the 3rd-party provisler 5. If a licensee stops makimgyday loans, designate
ability to meet all the requirements of this section. all open transactions with that licensee as closed in the
~ 3. In selecting a 3rd—party providgjive strong con  databaseés0 days after the date on which the licensee
siderationto all of the following: stopsmaking payday loansinless the licensee reports to

a. The 3rd—party providés ability to prevent fraud,  the database provider before the expiration of the 60-day

abuse,and other unlawfulactivity associated with  periodwhich ofits transactions remain open and the spe
paydayloan transactionsnd to provide additional tools  ific reason each transaction remains open.
for the administration and enforcement of this section. 6. In response tan inquiry from a licensee, state only

b. Whether the provider is currently providing a simi 4t 54 person igligible or ineligible for a new payday
lar service for another state. . loanand describe the reasfum that determination. Only
(c) The database shall do all of the following: the person seeking the loan may make a direct inquiry to

L AHOV‘,' a I|c_ensee_ accessing the database to C_hethhedatabase provider to requeshare detailed explana
a customes unique identification number that is tion of an ineligibility determination

assignedo the customer in a manner specifiedthy (e) If at any time the division determines that a

bery v updatingthe database in accordance veithlan approved

: . . underpar (0), the division shall immediately close or

2. Allow a licensee accessing the database to-deter . . . .

L ! X instructthe database provider to immediately close all

mineif making a new payday loan would cause a viola L : :
. . : remainingopen transactions of that licensee.
tion of this section. (f) The division maywithout cost, access tliata

3. Provide information necessary to aid a licensee in basefor the DUIDoSes of enforcin th:s section
complyingwith any requirements imposed under federal purpe ing thi Hon.

(g) The division shall, by order oule, stipulate the

Ig\évnt%]} rt]ﬁ eCtﬁrZ(Z;)L:)CIJFEIQH assets control of U.S. depart periodfpr which data is' to bEetaineq in the Qatabase only
4. Provide any other information that the division asrequired to ensure Ilcenseelﬂpllance with this actor
determiness necessary and requires by rule or contract OF €nforcement or compliance purposes. The division
with the database provider may require that any identifying customgr mformaﬂon be

(d) The database provider shall do all thkowing: deletedfrom the database when data is archived. The

1. Use the data collected under this section only as division may maintain access to archived data for future

prescribedn this section and, in the case of a 3rd—party €gislativeor policy review _
provider as prescribed in the contract with the division, (h) The division shallby order or rulespecify a Vetoed

and for no other purpose. databasaran§acti0n feef no more than $hat the In Part
2. Establish and maintain an alternate process for databas@rovider shall chaeto licensees to cover the
respondingo transaction authorization requeseces costsof developing and implementing the database, and
sarybecause of technical @iifulties occurring with the ~ accessinghe database to verify that a customer does not
databas¢hat prevent a licensee from accessingithta have any payday loans with the licenseethers that in
basethrough the Internet. combination with a new transaction will creata

3. Upon receiving notification that a payday loan is Violation of this section. The databafee is payable
paid,designate the transaction as closed in the databaséirectly to the division in a manner prescribleg the
no later than 1:59 p.m. orthe day that such notification ~ division and, if thedepartment has contracted with a
is received. 3rd—partyprovider to operate the database, the division
4. Automatically designate a payday loan as paid in shallremit the fee to the 3rd-party provider as specified
the database 5 dayafter the maturity date of the loan in the contract.

unlessa licensee reports to the database prowieéésre (i) A licensee shall verify a customeeligibility to
that time thatthe loan remains open because of the enterinto a payday loan by doing one of the following,
customer’dailure to make paymerihat the loan is open  asapplicable: Vetoed

In Part
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1. If the database, as determined by the division, is technicalproblems with the database orciccumstances
notimplemented or is not fully operational, verifyitigat beyondthe license&' control.
the customer does not have an open payday loan with the (o) If the licensee stops making payday loans, the
licenseethat in conjunction with a new payday loan licenseeshall provide to the divisionan acceptable to
would cause a violation of this section. The licensee shall the division that outlines how the licensee will continue
maintaina database of all of the licensepayday loans  to update the database after it stops making papdag.
atall of its places of business and search that database td@he division shall approve or disapprove the plan and
meetits obligation under this subdivision. within 5 business days notify the licensee of the decision.

2. If the database, as determined by the division, is If aplan is disapproved, the licensee may submit a new
implementedand fully operational, accessing the data or modified plan for thelivision to approve or disap
baseand verifying that the customer does not have an out prove.
standingpayday loan with thicensee and does not have (p) Any information in thedatabase regarding any
openpaydayloans with other licensees that in conjunc person’stransactional history is confidential andnist
tion with a new payday loan would cause a violation of subjectto publiccopying or inspection under s. 19.35 (1).
this section. (14m) CusToMERINFORMATION. No licensee oper

() If the database, as determined by the divig®n, sonwith whom the division contracts for operation of the
not fully operational, or the licensee is unable to accessdatabaseinder sub. (14) (b) may sell to another person
thedatabase and, as determined under priesulgated any information regarding a customer or a payday loan
by the division, the alternate process established undemadeto a customer
par.(d) 2. is also unavailable, a licensee may rely upon the  (15) PENALTIES. (&) Any person, partnership, or cor
written verification of the customemn a statement  poration,or the oficers or employees thereof, who vio
providedin substantially the following forrm at least latesthis section is guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be

12-pointtype: fined not more than $500 or imprisoned for not more than
“@' DO NOT HA/E ANY OUTSTANDING 6 months or both.
PAYDAY LOANS WITH THIS LICENSEE AND | DO (b) If a person who is not licensed under this section

NOT HAVE MORE FAYDAY LOANS WITH ANY makesa payday loan to a customére loan is void, the
OTHERLICENSED RAYDAY LOAN PROVIDER IN customeiis not obligated to pay any amounts owed on the
THIS STATE.” loan,and the customer may recover from the person all
(k) If, asdetermined by the division, a licensee is amountghe customer hgsaid to the person. An action
unableto access the database due to technidadudiies to recoversuch amounts shall be commenced within one
occurringwith the database, the licensee shall utilize the yearafter the date of the last scheduled paymenhen
alternateprocess established under.d) 2. loanor shall be barred.
(L) A licensee may rely on the information contained (16) PrivaTE causeoF ACTION. If a person makes a
in the database as accurate and is not subject to anypaydayloan to a customer wiolation of this section, the
administrativeforfeiture as a result of relying on inaecu  customemay bring an action against the person for-dam
rateinformation contained in the database. agesof $250 or the amount of theayday loan, whichever
(m) Before entering into a payday loanlj@nsee is greaterplus costs, and, notwithstandieg814.04 (1),
shall submit to the database provider the custé&ner reasonablattorney fees.
name;uniqueidentification number that is assigned in a SecTioN 14m. 138.16 of the statutes is created to
mannerspecified by the divisioraddress; driver license read:

number or other method of state identification; the 138.16 Titleloans. (1) DeriniTIONS. In this section:
amountof the transaction; the custorf'echeck number (@) “Division” means the division ofbanking Vetoed
if applicable; the date of the transaction; the maturity dateattachedo the department of financial institutions.  In Part
of the loan; and any other informatioasonably (b) “Licensed lender” means a person licenseder
requiredby the divisionjn a format approved by the divi  s.138.09.
sion. (c) “Title loan” means a loan of $25,000 or less to a

(n) When a payday loais closed, the licensee shall borrower,who obtains or seeks to obtain the loan for
designatdhe transaction as closed and notify tla¢a personalfamily, or household purposes, thatas,is to

baseprovider no later than1159 p.m. on the day on be, secured by an interest, other than a purchase money
whichthe transaction is closed. The division shall assesssecurityinterest, in the borrowks motor vehicleand Vetoed
anadministrative forfeituref $100 for each day thatthe thathas an original term of not more than 6 months In Part
licenseefails to notify the database provider that the (2) LoAN PRINCIPAL AND INTEREST. (&) No licensed Vetoed
paydayloan has been closed. Itis a defdndbe assess  lendermay make a title loai a borrower that results idn Part
mentof an administrative forfeiture that notifying the theborrower having liability for the loan, in principal, of
databaseprovider was not possible due to temporary morethan 50 percerif the value of the motor vehicle
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used as security for the loan The division shall
promulgaterulesfor determining the value of a motor
vehicle for purposeof this paragraph, including rules
specifying pricing guides that may be used for
determiningvalue.

(b) 1. This section imposes no limit on the interest
thata licensed lender may clgarbefore the maturity date
of a title loan.

2. If a title loan is not paid in full on or before the
maturity date,a licensed lender may clyay, after the

maturity date, interest at a rate not exceeding 2.75 percent

_10_
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1. Impaired the licensed lendgisecurity interest by
intentionallydamaging or destroying the motahicle.

2. Intentionally concealed the motor vehicle.

3. Pledged to the licenséehder a motor vehicle that
is already encumbered by an undisclosed prior lien.

4. Subsequent to obtaining the title loan, pledged or
sold toathird party a motor vehicle used as security for
atitle loan without the licensed lendemritten consent.
SecTioN 15. 220.02 (2) (b) of the statutes is amended

per month. Interest earned under this subdivision shall beq read:

calculatedat the rate of one—thirtieth tie monthly rate
chargedor each calendatay that the balance of the loan
is outstanding. Interest may not bssessed on any
interestearned under this subdivision.

(3) RescissIoN. A borrower may rescind a title loan,

beforethe close of business on the next day of business

afterthe loan is made, oif the place of business where

theloan is made is open 24 hours, before 5 p.m. on the

nextdayof business after the loan is made, by returning
to the licensed lender the proceeds of lib@n. The
licensedender may not chge the borrower any fee for
rescindingthe title loan as provided in this subsection.

(4) OrHERREQUIREMENTS. (a) A licensed lender may
not make a title loan to a borrowtrat is secured by an
interestin a motor vehicle if the motor vehicle is subject
to anothersecurity interest under another title loan made
by the licensed lender or another licensed lender and th
borroweris liable for repayment on the other title loan.

(b) A licensed lender may not requaorrower to
providethe licensed lender with a key or copy of a key to
a motor vehicle used as security for a title loanaas
conditionfor making the title loan to the borrower

(c) Alicensed lender or person acting on beha# of
licensedlender may notake possession of a motor
vehicle used as security for a title loan to a borrower
without serving notice on the borrower at leastdHys

e

220.02(2) (b) The lending of money under s. 138.09
or 138.14 or those relating to finance companies, motor
vehicledealers, adjustment service companies, commu
nity currency exchanges and collection agencies under
ch.218.

SecTioN 16. 220.04(10) of the statutes is amended
to read:

220.04(10) If it appears tahe division that a person
hasengaged or is about to engage in an act or practice
constitutinga violation of the laws dhis state relating
to banks and banking, including this chaptdrs.217,

218 and 221 to 224 and ss. 138.88d 138.12, and
138.14 or a rule promulgated or order issued under those
laws,the division may bring an action in thame of the
statein the circuit court of the appropriate county to
enjointhe acts or practices and to enforce compliance
with the laws, rules or ordersr the division may refer
the matter to the district attorney of the appropriate
countyaor, if the alleged violation may be enforced by the
attorneygeneral under sub. (12) or s. 220.12, 221.1005
or 224.06 (7) or is statewide in nature, to the attorney gen
eral. Upon a proper showing, the court nggant a per
manentor temporary injunction or restraining order
appointa receiver for the defendant or the defengant’
assetor order rescission of any aatetermined to be

prior to taking possession. The notice shall state the Unlawful. The court may not require the division to post

intentto take possession adescribe the basis for the

right to take possession. This paragraph does not apply

to possession that is obtained by a borrésveoluntary
surrender of a motor vehicle.
(d) A licensed lender or other person may ghaa

abond.

SecTion 17. 220.285 (1) of the statutessaffected

by 2009 Wisconsin Act 2is amended to read:
220.285(1) Any state bank, trust company bank,

licenseeunder ss. 138.09, 138.12, 138.248.0101to

borrowera reasonable storage fee for a motor vehicle of 218.0163218.02, 218.04, 218.05, 224.72, or 224.@25

the borrower of which the licensed lender or person
acting on behalf of the licensed lender halstained
possessionjncluding possession that is obtainby
voluntarysurrender

(e) A licensed lender shaleturn to a borrower the
amountof any proceeds from the disposition of a motor
vehicleused as security fortéle loan to the borrower
thatexceed the borrower liability to the licensed lender
for the loan.

(f) A borrower is not liable to a licensed lender for
any deficiency resulting from the licensed lender

ch.217 may cause any or adlcords kept by such bank,
licenseeor registered person to be recorded, copied or
reproduceddy any photostatic, photographic or minia
ture photographic process or by optical imaginghié
procesemployed correctlyaccurately and permanently
copies, reproduces or forms a medium for copying,
reproducingpr recordinghe original record on a film or
otherdurablematerial. A bank, licensee, or registered
personmay thereafter dispose of theginal record after
first obtaining the written consent of the division. This
section,excepting that part of iwhich requires written
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consenpf the division, is applicable to national banking underthe federal consumer credit protection act and ss.
associationmsofar as it does not contravene federal law 138.09,138.14,0r 218.0101 to 218.0163An action by
SecTion 18. 321.60 (1) (a) 12. of the statutes, as aperson alleging a violation under chs. 421 to 427 may
affectedoy 2009 Wsconsin Act 2is amended to read:  not be maintained if a final judgment has been rendered
321.60(1) (a) 12. A license or certificate oégistra for or against that person with respect to the same-viola
tion issued by the department of financial institutions, or tion under the federalonsumer credit protection act or

adivision of it, under ss. 138.09, 138.12, 138217.06,  s5.138.09, 138.140r 218.0101 to 218.0163. If a final
218010].t0 2180163, 21802, 21804, 21805, 22472, ]udgmenuS entered agaw]my merchant under Chs' 421

224.725,0r 224.93 or subch. IV of ch. 551. to 427 and the federal consumer credit protection act or
SECTION 19. 403.414(7) of the statutes is amended  ss.138,09, 138.14r 218.0101 to 218.0163 for the same
toread: violation, the merchant has a cause of action for appropri

403.414(7) A person who issues a check or other ,qralief to the extent necessary to avoid double liability
draftthat is not honored upon presentment, because the SecTion 22. 812.35 (1a) of the statutescreated to
drawerdoes not have an account witihe drawee or read: ' '

B e oL e et LS AR B12.3(1a) No camings gamishment acion may be
> broughtto recover the amount owdy a debtor for the

liable for all reasonable costs aegpenses in connection ) .
with the collection of the amount for which the check paymenbf a payd.a_y Ioaras: def_ln_ed in's. 138.14 (1) (k).
SecTioN 23. I nitial applicability.

draft was written, exceptcovery is not permitted under (1) The treatment of section 812.35 (1a) of the stat

this section if a person licensed undet38.09 or 138.14 f. i dav | defineddnti
or any other person collected or could have collected gutestirst applies to payday loans, as definecaution
chargefor that check or other draft under s. 422.202 (1) 138:14(1) (k) of the statutes, as created by this act, made

(d) or (2m). onthe efective date of this subsection.
SecTion 20. 422.201(3) of the statutes is amended (2m) Thetreatment of section 138.14 of the statutes
to read: first applies tgpayday loans, as defined in section 138.14

422.201(3) For licensees under $38.09-andor (1) (k) of the statutes, as created by this act, made on the
138.140r under ss. 218.0101 to 218.0163, the finance €ffectivedate of this subsection.

charge calculated according to those sections, maty (8m) Thetreatment of section 138.16 of the statutésetoed
exceedthe maximums permitted in ss. 138.09, 138.14, first applies to title loans, as defined in section 138.161{1 Part
and218.0101 to 218.0163, respectively (c) of the statutes, as created by this act, made on the
SecTioN 21. 425.301(4) of the statutes is amended effectivedate of this subsection.
to read: SecTION 24. Effective date.
425.301(4) The liability of a merchant under chs. (1) This act takes &ct on the first day of the 7th

421to 427 is in lieu of and not in addition to any liability monthbeginning after publication.
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