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SECTION 89
i
; SECTION 89. 321.62 (11) (a) of the statutes; \\‘as affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act \
P e
§ 20}25 18 amended to read T

321.62 (11) (a) No eviction may be made during the period of state active duty

in respect to any premises for which the agreed rent does not exceed the amount
y & ?idxz" N

specified in 50 USC App. 531{joccupied chiefly for dwelling purposes by the spouse,

v’ v
children, state-registered domestic partner under s. 770.05, or other dependents of

a service member who is in state active duty, except upon order of a court in an action

s

affecting the right of possession. - e

SECTION 90. 342.14 (3m) of the statutes@g affected by 2007 Wisconsin A;@

is amended to read:

342.14 (3m) Upon filing an application under sub. (1) or (3), a supplemental
title fee of $7.50 by the owner of the vehicle, except that this fee shall be waived with
respect to an application under sub. (3) for transfer of a decedent’sjinterest in a
vehicle to his or her surviving spouse or state-registered domestic ngrtner under s.

v’
770.05. The fee specified under this subsection is in addition to any other fee

specified in this section. This subsection does not apply to an application for a
certificate of title for a neighborhood electric vehicle.

SECTION 91. 342.17 (4) (b) 1. (intro.) and c. and 4. of the statutes are amended
to read:

342.17 (4) (b) 1. (intro.) The department shall transfer the decedent’s interest

v
in any vehicle to his or her surviving spouse or state-registered domestic partner

v

under s. 770.05 upon receipt of the title executed by the surviving spouse of domestic

v
partner and a statement by the spouse or domestic partner which shall state:
c. That the spouse or domestic parfner is personally liable for the decedent’s

debts and charges to the extent of the value of the vehicle, subject to s. 859.25.
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SECTION 91

4. The limit in subd. 3. does not apply if the surviving spouse or do%estic

partner is proceeding under s. 867.03 (1g) and the total value of the decedent’s

property subject to administration in the state, including the vehicles transferred
under this paragraph, does not exceed $50,000.

14.10 (2) (¢) 3. Notwithstanding s. 614.01 (1) (a) 2., on the application of an

employee specified in subd. 2., provide insurance 2eneﬁts to the employee’s spouse

v
or state-registered domestic partner under s. 770.05 or a child of the employee who

receives financial services or support from the employee.

SecTION 93. 700.19 (2m) of the statutes is created to read:

700.19 (2m) DOMESTIC PARTNERS. If persons named as owners in a document
of title, transferees in an instrument of transfer, or buyers in a bill of sale are
described in the document, instrument, or bill of sale as state-registered doilestic
partners undeg‘ S. 770.55, or are in fact state-registered domesti::/ partners under s.
770.05, they’ are joint tenants, unless the intent to create a tenancy in common is
expressed in the document, instrument, or bill of sale.

SECTION 94. Chapter 770 of the statu{g;s is created to read:

CHAPTER 770
DOMESTIC PARTNERSHIP REGISTRY

770.01 Definitions. In this chai;{er: y

(1) “Domestic partner” means a state-registered domesfic partner.

(2) “Secretary” means the secretary of state.

770.05 Criteria for entering into a state-registei"éd domestic

v

partnership. Two individuals may enter into a state-registered domestic

partnership if they satisfy all of the following criteria:
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SECTION 94

(1) Each individual is at least 18 years old and capable of consenting to the
domestic partnership.

(2) Neither individual is married to, or in a State—register‘ég domestic
partnership with, another individual.

(8) The 2 individuals share a common residence. Two individuals may share
a common residence even if any of the following applies:

(a) Only one of the individuals has legal ownership of the residence.

(b) One or both of the individuals have one or more additional residences not
shared with the other individual.

(¢) One of the individuals leaves the common residence with the intent to
return.

v’

(4) The 2 individuals are not nearer of kin to each other than 2nd cousins,
whether of the whole or half blood or by adoption.

(5) Either of the following is true:

(a) Both individuals are members of the same sex.

(b) At least one of the individuals is 62 years of age or older.

v
770.07 Procedure for entering into a state-registered domestic

partnership. (1) FILE DECLARATION. Two individuals who meet the criteria under

, v

s. 770.05 may enter into a state-registered domestic partnership by filing a
4

completed declaration of state-registered domestic partnership form with the

¥
secretary and paying the filing fee established under s. 770.18 (3) (a). The

declaration must be signed by both individuals and notarized.
(2) SECRETARY ISSUE CERTIFICATE. Upon receiving a completed, signed, and
e
notarized declaration of state-registered domestic partnership and the filing fee

v
established under s. 770.18 (3) (a), the secretary shall register the declaration, as
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SECTION 94

e

provided under s. 770.18 (1), and issue to each individual named on the declaration
a certificate of state-registered domestic p‘grtnership.

770.10 Terminating a state-registered domestic partnership. (1) FiLE
NOTICE OF TERMINATION; AFFIDAVIT. (a) A party to a state—registered domestic
partnership may terminate the state-registered domestic partiership by filing a
completed notice of termination of state-registered domestic partnership form with
the secretary and paying the filing fee established under s. 770.18 (3) (a). The notice
must be signed by one or both domestic partners and notarized.

(b) If the notice under par. (;; is signed by only one of the domestic partners,
that individual must also file with the secretary an affidavit stating either of the
following:

1. That the other domestic partner has been served in writing, in the manner
provided under s. 801.‘{1, that a notice of termination of state—registereg domestic
partnership is being filed with the secretary.

2. That the domestic partner seeking termination has been unable to locate the
other domestic partner after making reasonable efforts and that notice to the other
domestic partner has been made by publication as provided in sub.TZ).

(2) PuBLISH NOTICE. If a domestic partner who is seeking to terminate the
state-registered domestic partnership is unable to find the other domestic partner
after making reasonable efforts, the domestic partner seeking termination may
provide notice by publication in a newspaper of general circulation in the county in
which the residence most recently shared by the domestic partners is located. The
notice need not be published more than one time.

(3) SECRETARY ISSUES CERTIFICATE. Upon receiving a completed, signed, and

notarized notice of termination of state-registered domestic partnership, the
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SECTION 94
v v

affidavit under sub. (1) 4(b) if required, and the filing fee established under s. 770.18
(3) (a), the secretary shall register the notice of termination of state-registered
domestic partnership, as provided under s. 770.18 i(fit[), and issue to each domestic
partner a certificate of termination of state-registered domestic partnership.

(4) WHEN TERMINATION EFFECTIVE. (a) Except as provided in par. (:), the
termination of a state-registered domestic partnership is effective 90 days after the
notice of termination of state-registered domestic partnership or notice of
termination of state-registered domestic partnership and affidavit are filed under
sub. (T).

(b) If a party to a state-registered domestic partnership enters into a marriage
that is recognized as valid in this state, the state-registered domestic partnership
is automatically terminated on the date of the marriage.

770.15 Forms for declaration and notice of termination. (1)
PrREPARATION.  The secretary shall prepare forms entitled “declaration of
state-registered domestic partnership” and “notice of termination of
state-registered domestic partnership” and any other forms that are necessary to
meet the requirements of this chag’;er.

(2) DisTrIBUTION. The secretary shall distribute the forms under this seciion
to each county clerk. The forms shall be available to the public at the office of the
secretary, at any county clerk’s office, and on the Internet at a site maintained by the
secretary.

770.18 State domestic partnership registry; fees. (1) REGISTRATION OF

DECLARATIONS AND NOTICES OF TERMINATION. The state domestic partnership registry

is created in the office of the secretary. The secretary shall register and permanently
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SECTION 94

maintain in the state domestic partnership registry all of the following documents
or records of all of the following documents:

(a) Declarations of state-registered domestic partnership filed with the
v

secretary under s. 770.07 (1).

(b) Certificates of state-registered domestic partnership issued by the
v

secretary under s. 770.07 (2).
(c) Notices of termination of state-registered domestic partnership and
affidavits filed with the secretary under s. 770.10 (1).

(d) Certificates of termination of state-registered domestic partnership issued
v

by the secretary under s. 770.10 (3).
(2) CoPIES TO STATE REGISTRAR. The secretary shall provide the state registrar

of vital statistics with copies of declarations of state-registered domestic partnership

v
filed with the secretary under s. 770.07 (1) and with copies of notices of termination

of state-registered domestic partnership and affidavits filed with the secretary
Ve

under s. 770.10 (1).
v

(3) SETTING FEES; RULES. (a) The secretary shall set, by rule, reasonable fees
for filing a declaration of state-registered domestic partnership and for filing a notice

of termination of state-registered domestic partnership. The fees shall be calculated
e

to cover the secretary’s costs, but no fee may exceed $50. Fees collected under ss.
v v
v’
770.07 and 770.10 shall be credited to the appropriation account under s. 20.575 (1)

(g).

(b) The secretary shall promulgate any other rules necessary for the
v
implementation and administration of the state domestic partnership registry.
e
SeEcTION 95. 851.08 of the statutes is created to read:
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SECTION 95

851.08 Domestic partner. “Domestic partner” means a state-registered

v

domestic partner under s. 770.05.
SECTION 96. 851.17 of the statutes is amended to read:
851.17 Net estate. “Net estate” means all property subject to administration

4

less the property selected by the surviving spouse or surviving domestic partner

under s. 861.33, the allowances made by the court under ss. 861.31, 861.35 and
861.41 except as those allowances are charged by the court against the intestate
share of the recipient, administration, funeral and burial expenses, the amount of
claims paid and federal and state estate taxes payable out of such property.

SECTION 97. 851.295 of the statutes is created to read:

851.295 Surviving domestic partner. (1) Subject to sub. E), “survi\f;ng
domestic partner” means a person who was in a domestic partnership registered with
the secretary of state under s. 7 70.0;; with the decedent, at the time of the decedent’s
death.

(2) “Surviving domestic g;rtner” does not include any of the following:

(a) An individual who obtains or consents to a termination of domestic

v

partnership from the decedent if the secretary of state fails to issue a valid certificate
14
of termination of domestic partnership under s. 770.10 (3), unless the individual and

the decedent subsequently register as domestic partners under s. 77 057 with the
secretary of state or they subsequently hold themselves out as domestic partners.
(b) An individual whose domestic partnership with the decedent has not been
terminated by the secretary of state issuing a valid certificate of termination under
s. 770.10 (Vb/’) and who subsequently registers a domestic partnership with a 3rd

individual with the secretary of state under s. 770.07 or who participates in a

marriage ceremony with a 3rd individual.
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SECTION 97

(¢) An individual who was party to a valid proceeding concluded by an order
purporting to terminate all property rights based on the domestic partnership.

SECTION 98. 852.01 (1) (a) (intro.), 1. and 2. (intro.) and b., (b), (¢), (d) and (f)

(intro.) of the statutes are amended to read:

¥

852.01 (1) (a) (intro.) To the spouse or domestic partner:
1. If there are no surviving issue of the decedent, or if the surviving issue are

all issue of the surviving spouse or surviving domestic partner and the decedent, the

entire estate.

2. (intro.) If there are surviving issue one or more of whom are not issue of the
v
surviving spouse or surviving domestic partner, one-half of decedent’s property

other than the following property:
b. The decedent’s interest in property held equally and exclusively with the

v
surviving spouse or surviving domestic partner as tenants in common.

(b) To the issue, per stirpes, the share of the estate not passing to the spouse

v
or surviving domestic partner, under par. (a), or the entire estate if there is no

e
surviving spouse or surviving domestic partner.
v
(c) If there is no surviving spouse, surviving domestic partner, or issue, to the

parents.

v

(d) Ifthere is no surviving spouse, surviving domestic partner, issue, or parent,

to the brothers and sisters and the issue of any deceased brother or sister per stirpes.

'
(f) (intro.) If there is no surviving spouse, surviving domestic partner, issue,

parent, or issue of a parent, to the grandparents and their issue as follows:
SECTION 99. 852.09 of the statutes is amended to read:
14
852.09 Assignment of home to surviving spouse or surviving domestic

partner. If the intestate estate includes an interest in a home, assignment of that
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SECTION 99

v
interest to the surviving spouse or surviving domestic partner is governed by s.
861.21.

SeEcTION 100. 853.11 (2m) and (3) of the statutes are amended to read:
853.11 (2m) PREMARITAL OR PREDOMESTIC PARP';NERSHIP WILL. Entitlements of a
surviving spouse or_surviving domest‘;‘c partner under a decedent’s will that was
executed before marriage to the surviving spouse or registration of t}T; domestic
v

partnership under s. 770.07 to the surviving domestic partner are governed by s.
853.12.

e
(3) TRANSFER TO FORMER SPOUSE OR FORMER DOMESTIC PARTNER. A transfer under

a will to a former spouse or former domettic partner is governed by s. 854.15.

SECTION 101. 853.12 (title) of the statutes is amended to read:

v
853.12 (title) Premarital will or predomestic partnership will.

SEcCTION 102. 853.12 (1), (2) (intro.) and (a), (3) (a) and (b) and (4) (a) of the
statutes are amended to read:

853.12 (1) ENTITLEMENT OF SURVIVING SPOUSE OR SURVIVING DOM?STIC PARTNER.
Subject to sub. (3), if the testator married the surviving spouse or registered a

v v z
domestic partnership under s. 770.07 with the surviving domestic partneriafter the
v

testator executed his or her will, the surviving spouse or surviving domestic partner

is entitled to a share of the probate estate.

(2) VALUE OF SHARE. (intro.) The value of the share under sub. (1) is the value

v
of the share that the surviving spouse or surviving domestic partner would have

received had the testator died with an intestate estate equal to the value of the
testator’s net estate, but the value of the net estate shall first be reduced by the value

of all of the following:
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SECTION 102

(a) All devises to or for the benefit of the testator’s children who were born
4
before the marriage to the surviving spouse or the domestic partnership with the

surviving domestic pg{'tner and who are not also the children of the surviving spouse
v

or surviving domestic partner.

Ty

t appears from the will or other evidence that the will was made in
v

contemplation of the testator’s marriagf:/ to the surviving spouse or_ domestic

3) (a)

partnership with the surviving domestic partner.

(b) It appears from the will or other evidence that the will is intended to be

effective notwithstanding any subsequent marriage or domestic Daﬁnershin, or

there is sufficient evidence that the testator considered revising the will after
marriage or domestic pa;{nership but decided not to.
(4) (a) Amounts received by the surviving spouse under s. 861.02 and devises
made by will to the surviving spouse or surviving doﬁ‘éstic partner are applied first.
SecTION 103. 859.25 (1) (g) of the statutes is amended to read:

v
859.25 (1) (g) Property assigned to the surviving spouse or surviving domestic

partner under s. 861.41.

SECTION 104. 861.21 (title) of the statutes is amended to read:
e
861.21 (title) Assignment of home to surviving spouse or surviving

domestic partner.

SECTION 105. 861.21 (1) (b) of the statutesg@ffected by 2007 Wisconsir{v'ﬁ;éf‘)

11,}5 amended to read:

861.21 (1) (b) “Home” means any dwelling in which the decedent had an

v
interest and that at the time of the decedent’s death the surviving spouse or surviving
domestic partner occupies or intends to occupy. If there are several such dwellings,

e
any one may be designated by the surviving spouse or surviving domestic partner.
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SECTION 105

“Home” includes a house, a mobile home, a manufactured home, a duplex or multiple
apartment building one unit of which is occupied by the surviving spouse or

surviving domestic Dat?tner and a building used in part for a dwelling and in part for

commercial or business purposes. “Home” includes all of the surrounding land,
unless the court sets off part of the land as severable from the remaining land under
sub. (5).
SECTION 106. 861.21 (2), (4) and (5) of the statutes are amended to read:
861.21 (2) DECEDENT'S PROPERTY INTEREST IN HOME. Subject to subs. (4) and (5),

. . . v o . .
if a married or domestic partnership decedent has a property interest in a home, the

decedent’s entire interest in the home shall be assigned to the surviving spouse or

v v
surviving domestic partner if the surviving spouse or surviving domestic partner

petitions the court requesting such a distribution and if a governing instrument does

not provide a specific transfer of the decedent’s interest in the home to someone other
v
than the surviving spouse or surviving domestic partner. The surviving spouse or

v
surviving domestic partner shall file the petition within 6 months after the

decedent’s death, unless the court extends the time for filing.
v
(4) PAYMENT BY SURVIVING SPOUSE OR SURVIVING DOMESTIC PARTNER. The court
shall assign the interest in the home under sub. (2) to the surviving spouse or

v
surviving domestic partner upon payment of the value of the decedent’s interest in

o
the home that does not pass to the surviving spouse or surviving domestic partner

under intestacy or under a governing instrument. Payment shall be made to the
w”

fiduciary holding title to the interest. The surviving spouse or surviving domestic

partner may use assets due him or her from the fiduciary to satisfy all or part of the

payment in kind. Unless the court extends the time, the surviving spouse or
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v’
surviving domestic partner shall have one year from the decedent’s death to pay the

value of the assigned interest.
(5) SEVERANCE OF HOME FROM SURROUNDING LAND. On petition of the surviving

spouse or surviving domestic partner or of any interested person that part of the land

is not necessary for dwelling purposes and that it would be inappropriate to assign
all of the surrounding land as the home under sub. (2), the court may set off for the
home as much of the land as is necessary for a dwelling. In determining how much
land should be set off, the court shall take into account the use and marketability of
the parcels set off as the home and the remaining land.

SEcTION 107. 861.31 (Im), (2) and (4) (intro.) and (b) of the statutes are
amended to read:

861.31 (1Im) The court may, without notice or on such notice as the court
directs, order payment by the personal representative or special administrator of an
allowance as the court determines necessary or appropriate for the support of the

surviving spouse or surviving domestic partner and any minor children of the

decedent during the administration of the estate. The court shall consider the size
of the probate estate, other resources available for support, the existing standard of
living, and any other factors it considers relevant.

(2) The court may order that an allowance be made to the spouse or sur\;i/ving

domestic partner for support of the spouse_or surviving domestic partner and any

minor children of the decedent, or that separate allowances be made to the spouse

v
or surviving domestic partner and to the minor children of the decedent or their

guardian, if any, if the court finds separate allowances advisable. If there is no

4
surviving spouse or surviving domestic partner, the court may order that an

allowance be made to the minor children of the decedent or to their guardian, if any.
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SECTION 107

(4) (intro.) The court may order that the allowance be charged against income
or principal, either as an advance or otherwise, but the court may not order that an
allowance for support of minor children of the decedent be charged against the

income or principal interest of the surviving spouse or surviving domestic partner.

The court may order that the allowance for support of the surviving spouse or

.V . . :
surviving domestic partner, not including any allowance for support of minor

children of the decedent, be applied in satisfaction of any of the following:

(b) Any right of the surviving spouse or surviving domestic partner to elect
under s. 861.02.

SECTION 108. 861.33 (title) of the statutes is amended to read:

~
861.336&itle) Selection of personalty by surviving spouse or surviving

domestic partner.
SEcTION 109. 861.33 (1) (a) (intro.) and 1. and (b) of the statutes are amended

to read:

861.33 (1) (a) (intro.) Subject to this section, in addition to all allowances and

4
distributions, the surviving spouse or surviving domestic partner may file with the

court a written selection of the following personal property, which shall then be
'
transferred to the spouse or domestic partner by the personal representative:

1. Wearing apparel and jewelry held for personal use by the decedent or the
Vv
surviving spouse or surviving domestic partner;
(b) The selection in par. (a) may not include items specifically bequeathed

except that the surviving spouse or surviving domestic partner may in every case

select the normal household furniture, furnishings, and appliances necessary to

maintain the home. For this purpose antiques, family heirlooms, and collections that
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SEcTION 109
are specifically bequeathed are not classifiable as normal household furniture or

furnishings.

SEcTION 110. 861.35 (title) of the statutes is amended to read:

861'356 étitle) Special allowance for support of spouse or don;:stic
pariner and support and education of minor chiidren.

SecTION 111. 861.35 (1m), (2), (8) (a) and (4) of the statutes are amended to
read:

e

861.35 (Im) If the decedent is survived by a spouse, domestic partner, or by
minor children, the court may order an allowance for the support and education of
each minor child until he or she reaches a specified age, not to exceed 18, and for the
support of the spouse or domestic py’artner. This allowance may be made whether the
estate is testate or intestate. If the decedent is not survived by a spouse or dogestic
partner, the court also may allot directly to the minor children household furniture,
furnishings, and appliances. The court may not order an allowance under this
section if any of the following applies:

(a) The decedent has amply provided for each minor child and for the spouse

or domestic Dartger by the transfer of probate or nonprobate assets, or support and

education have been provided for by any other means.
v

(b) In the case of minor children, the surviving spouse or surviving domestic

partner is legally responsible for support and education and has ample means to
provide them in addition to his or her own support.

v
(c) In the case of the surviving spouse or surviving domestic partner, he or she

has ample means to provide for his or her support.
(2) The court may set aside property to provide an allowance and may appoint

a trustee to administer the property, subject to the continuing jurisdiction of the
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SecTION 111

court. If a child dies or reaches the age of 18, or if at any time the property held by

&
the trustee is no longer required for the support of the spouse or domestic partner or

the support and education of the minor child, any remaining property is to be
distributed by the trustee as the court orders in accordance with the terms of the
decedent’s will or to the heirs of the decedent in intestacy or to satisfy unpaid claims
of the decedent’s estate.

(3) (a) The effect on claims under s. 859.25. The court shall balance the needs

v
of the spouse, domestic partner, or minor children against the nature of the creditors’

claims in setting the amount allowed under this section.
(4) The court may order that the allowance to the surviving spouse or survxing

domestic partner, not including any allowance for the support and education of minor

children, be applied in satisfaction of any of the following:
w
(a) Any entitlement of the surviving spouse or surviving domestic partner
under s. 853.12.

(b) Any right of the surviving spouse or surviving donfestic partner to elect

under s. 861.02 (1).
SECTION 112. 861.41 of the statutes is amended to read:
861.41 Exemption of property to be assigned to surviving spouse or

surviving domestic partner. (1) After the amount of claims against the estate

. . . . . oo
has been ascertained, the surviving spouse or surviving domestic partner may

petition the court to set aside as exempt from the claims of creditors under s. 859.25

(1) (h) an amount of property reasonably necessary for the support of the spouse or
e

domestic partner, not to exceed $10,000 in value, if it appears that the assets are

insufficient to pay all claims and allowances and still leave the surviving spouse or
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SECTION 112

v
surviving domestic partner such an amount of property in addition to selection and

allowances.

(2) The court shall grant the petition if it determines that an assignment ahead
of creditors is reasonably necessary for the support of the spouse or domesticvpartner.
In determining the necessity and the amount of property to be assigned, the court
must take into consideration the availability of a home to the surviving spouse or

v
surviving domestic partner and all other assets and resources available for support.

SEcTION 113. 867.01 (1) (b) and (3) (f) of the statutes are amended to read:

867.01 (1) (b) Whenever the estate, less the amount of the debts for which any
property in the estate is security, does not exceed $50,000 in value and the decedent
is survived by a spouse or domestic partneif, or one or more minor children or both.

(3) () Order. If the court is satisfied that the estate may be settled under this
section, after 30 days have elapsed since notice to the department of health services
under par. (d), if that notice is required, the court shall assign the property to the
persons entitled toit. If the estate may be settled under sub. (1) (b), any property not
otherwise assigned shall be assigned to the surviving spouse or surviving dg/mestic
partner, or minor children or both as an allowance under s. 861.31. The court shall
order any person indebted to or holding money or other property of the decedent to
pay the indebtedness or deliver the property to the persons found to be entitled to
receive it. The court shall order the transfer of interests in real estate, stocks or
bonds registered in the name of the decedent, the title of a licensed motor vehicle, or
any other form of property. If the decedent immediately prior to death had an estate
for life or an interest as a joint tenant in any property in regard to which a certificate

of termination in accordance with s. 867.04 has not been issued, the order shall set

forth the termination of that life estate or the right of survivorship of any joint
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SEcCTION 113

tenant. Every tract of real property in which an interest is assigned or terminated
or which is security for a debt in which an interest is assigned or terminated shall
be specifically described.

SECTION 114. 895.04 (2) and (6) of the statutes are amended to read:

895.04 (2) If the deceased leaves surviving a spouse or_ state-regi igered
domestic partner under s. 770&.’2)5, and minor children under 18 years of age with
whose support the deceased was legally charged, the court before whom the action
is pending, or if no action is pending, any court of record, in recognition of the duty
and responsibility of a parent to support minor children, shall determine the amount,
if any, to be set aside for the protection of such children after considering the age of
such children, the amount énvolved, the capacity and integrity of the surviving
spouse or surviving domestic partner, and any other facts or information it may have
or receive, and such amount may be impressed by creation of an appropriate lien in
favor of such children or otherwise protected as circumstances may warrant, but
such amount shall not be in excess of 50% of the net amount received after deduction

of costs of collection. If there are no such surviving minor children, the amount

recovered shall belong and be paid to the spouse or domestic partner of the deceased;

if no spouse or domestic par{r/ler survives, to the deceased’s lineal heirs as determined
by s. 852.01; if no lineal heirs survive, to the deceased’s brothers and sisters. If any
such relative dies before judgment in the action, the relative next in order shall be
entitled to recover for the wrongful death. A surviving nonresident alien spouse or

; v
a nonresident alien domestic partner state-registered under s. 770.05 and minor

children shall be entitled to the benefits of this section. In cases subject to s. 102.29
v
this subsection shall apply only to the surviving spouse’s or surviving domestic

partner’s interest in the amount recovered. If the amount allocated to any child
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SECTION 114
under this subsection is less than $10,000, s. 807.10 may be applied. Every
settlement in wrongful death cases in which the deceased leaves minor children
under 18 years of age shall be void unless approved by a court of record authorized
to act hereunder.

{6) Where the wrongful death of a person creates a cause of action in favor of
¥

the decedent’s estate and also a cause of action in favor of a spouse, state-registered
v

domestic partner under s. 770.05, or relatives as provided in this section, such

spouse, domestic partner, or relatives may waive and satisfy the estate’s cause of

action in connection with or as part of a settlement and discharge of the cause of
v
action of the spouse, domestic partner, or relatives.

SEcTION 115. 905.05 (title) of the statutes is amended to read:

905.05 (title) Husband-wife and domestic partner privilege.

SecTION 116. 905.05 (1), (2) and (3) (a), (b), (¢) and (d) of the statutes are
amended to read:

905.05 (1) GENERAL RULE OF PRIVILEGE. A person has a privilege to prevent the

person’s spouse or former spouse or domestic partner or former domestic partner

from testifying against the person as to any private communication by one to the

, v
other made during their marriage or domestic partnerg{hip. As used in this section,

] ) .V v
“domestic partner” means a state-registered domestic partner under s. 770.05.

(2) WHO MAY CLAIM THE PRIVILEGE. The privilege may be claimed by the person
e
or by the spouse or domestic partner on the person’s behalf. The authority of the

v

spouse or domestic partner to do so is presumed in the absence of evidence to the

contrary.
,,/'
(3) (a) If both spouses or former spouses or domestic partners or former

domestic partners are parties to the action.
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SECTION 116

7
(b) In proceedings in which one spouse or former spouse or domestic partner

v
or former domestic partner is charged with a crime against the person or property

of the other or of a child of either, or with a crime against the person or property of

a 3rd person committed in the course of committing a crime against the other.
. e . ! L
{c) In proceedings in which a spouse or former spouse or domestic partner or

former domestic partner is charged with a crime of pandering or prostitution.

F 3 V’ V -
J-If one spouse or former spouse or domestic partner or former domestic

partner has acted as the agent of the other and the private communication relates
to matters within the scope of the agency.
SECTION 117. 949.01 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:

949.01 (2) “Dependent” means any spouse, state-registered domestic partner
under s. 770. 05 parent, grandparent stepparent, child, stepchild, adopted child,

grandchild, brother, sister, half broﬁher half sister, or parent of spouse or of
W
state-registered domestic partner under s. 770.05, of a deceased victim who was

wholly or partially dependent upon the victim’s income at the time of the victim’s
death and includes any child of the victim born after the victim’s death.

SECTION 118. 949.06 (1m) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

949.06 (Im) (a) In this subsection, “family member” means any spouse,

¥

e
state-registered domestic partner under s. 770.05, parent, grandparent, stepparent,

child, stepchild, adopted child, grandchild, foster child, treatment foster child,

brother, sister, half brother, half sister, aunt, uncle, nephew, niece, or parent or
sibling of Spous%‘ o _of }Jé rg ~ ?fﬁg;

ey

m.
o

v{f”’} d&f’“&f.} ?ﬁ rlner QW@,{\?’?? =
SECTION 119 971.17 (4m) (a) 2. of the statutes is amended to read

971.17 (4m) (a) 2. “Member of the family” means spouse, state-registered

domestic partner under‘gj 770.05, child, sibling, parent or legal guardian.
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SECTION 120

SEcCTION 120. 971.17 (6m) (a) 2. of the statutes is amended to read:
¥

971.17 (6m) (a) 2. “Member of the family” means spouse, state-registered

domestic partner under s. 770.05, child, sibling, parent or legal guardian.

SECTION 121. 980.11 (1) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:

g

v
980.11 (1) (b) “Member of the family” means spouse, state-registered domestic
v
partner under s. 770.05, child, sibling, parent or legal guardian.

¢ s
ey . ey Kaareana o
SECTION 1{2. Initial applicability; /=
E?\?ii’g* g:///A V/

(1) REAL ESTATE TRANSFER FEE. Tfle treatment of sections 77.25 (8n) of the

v
statutes first applies to conveyances recorded on the effective date of this subsection.

(END)
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INSERT A-7

INSURANCE

The bill authorizes fraternal benefit societies to provide insurance coverage to
the domestic partners of fraternal members. Under current law, only members and
their spouses and financially dependent children may be covered.

(END OF INSERT A-7)
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PJHINSERT1:

Current law requires that a victim of a crime or his or her family members be
notified when a person who committed a crime against the victim is released from
prison or a mental institution, applies or qualifies for release to probation or
extended supervision from prison or a mental institution, applies for a pardon, or
escapes from a prison. Thisbill includes a domestic partner as a member of a victim’s
family who is entitled to the same notice given to family members under current law.

Current law also allows DOJ to grant compensation to the spouse of a person
who is killed or injured while trying to prevent a crime, trying to detain a criminal,
or trying to assist a crime victim or a law enforcement officer. This bill allows a
domestic partner to receive the same compensation that a spouse receives under
current law.
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| 1. Number 19. of your instructions refers to “medical” records, but lists provisions in |
| s. 51.30, stats., for amendment. These provisi
| records of services for mental illness, develppmental disability, alcoholism, or drug
- dependence. In contrast, provisions in currgnt law that deal with “patient health care
' records” are in ch. 146, stats. For

&% 1th respeet to #20. of your instrug tlohs ease review the treatment of ss. 50.032 ™
5(2) and (2d)¢50.033 (2) and (2d), 50.034 3) (), 50.035 (2d), 50.04 (2d), 56(33) 50.942, |

3. " Number 39 of

[308/P(g,

DRAFTER’S NOTE L%‘mf
FROM THE ALL:biksnwn
LEGISLATIVE REFERENCE BUREAU %-Q»

1s deal with “treatment” records, i.e.,

e purposes of this draft, I have amended both
treatment record and patient health cayé record provisions; please let me know if this
is not what you want, and I'll redraft. An addition, your instructions seem to reference
s.51.30 (4) (b) 12, stats., which authorizesrelease of treatment records to correctional
officers. I am uncertain how you want this provision amended, so have left it out of the &
draft for nOW. T

| and 50.9 ) in this draft. Your instrdctions referred to ° any care-fac 12};2”‘,!’
These provisions address each type of health care fac1hty Certified or llcensed adult—
famlly homes, community-based res1dent1al nur51 homes, residential care
apartment complexes, hospitals, and hosplce féu‘l_zfed by DH S W
gedlcal clinics are not regulated as such by D do you want a prov1smn that™

“accords spousal privileges of accompanying a patlent to a medlcal clinic for
state-registered domestic partners?
o W

@ also @ﬁ, as drafted, violation of some of these provisions/is subJ ect to penalty and
violation of others is not. The difference is caused by differmé provisio ons for each type
of facility under current law. For example, violation of s. 50.032 “2d), under the
provisions of s. 50.032 (6), stats., would carry with it a $500 fine or impri Vonment in
the county jail for not more than one year, whereas violation of s. 50.36 (3j) has no
penalty that attaches under current law. Do you want all violations to be subject to
penalty? Do you want the amounts of the penalties to be identical? If so, what penalty

would you prefer?

r instructions states, “Spouses, registered domestic partners, .,/"

children, parentg’and grandparents of a decedent ha iority over the decedent’s | !
- designated heglth care agent (such as an unregistered-dgmestic partner) in deciding '
whether to make anatomical gifts. ‘Sec. 157.06 (3) (a).” Section 157.06 (3) (a) no longer




N

_9_ LRB-3960/Pldn

ALL:bjk:nwn -

exists; s. 157.06, stats., was repealed and recreated under 2007 Wisconsin Act 106. The
provision that, in part replaced it is s. 157.06 (9) (a), stats., which sets up a priority
of individuals who may make an anatomical gift of the body or part of a decedent. First |
in priority, under s. 157.06 (9) (a) 1., stats., is an individual’s agent under a power of |
attorney for health care, followed by an individual’s spouse, and then numerous other |
specified persons. I have amended s. 157.06 (9) (a) 2., stats., to include a,

; state~registered domestic partner. Do you want me additionally to change the order,

4. In #38. of your instructions, you appear to want to amend S. 157 05, stats., so that,
a state-registered domestic partner has priority over a “friend” in consentlng to an <
autopsy. However, that provision is not written as a prioritized list of persons; it |
instead seems to contemplate that, of a number of persons, one will assume custody of |
the body for purposes of burial. Do you want me to establish priority under this section? |
If so, should a state-registered domestic partner occur after “next of kin,” as you |

~ propose? Note that, for the sake of consistency, I also included an amendment to s./
157.06 (8) (a), stats ‘which refers to to assummg custody of the body, okay‘? /

.o . IR
. i

/l’jebora A Kennedy

| Managing Attorney

I Phone: (608) 266-0137
- T \_E-mail: debora.kennedy@legis.wisconsin.gov

Please note thal\l have included all of the statutory sections relating to benefits in the
legal process that you mentioned in your drafting instructions. Most of these statutory
sectionsrelatetot eatmg, throughout the criminal justice process, reglstered domestic
partners the same ag “spouses” are treated under current law.

As we discussed, therg are many more statutes throughout the crime chapters that
offer parti ‘)llar victim status to spouses and other family members. See, for example
s. 940.201; which prohibits a person from battermg or threatenmg a witness in a trial
or the witness’ family members. Section 940. 201 includes “spouse” as a family member.

I did not treat this-statuteior other similar statutes in this draft. [>< K\

Peggy Hurley
Legislative Attorney
Phone: (608) 266-8906

A

v
Sectio §109'03 (3) requires an employer to pay a deceased employee/s wages to the
deceased employee’s spouse. Similarly, s. 103.165(3) requires an e
bond of {
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spouse. Accordingly, this draft amends s. 103.165 (3) to require an employer to pay the
bond of a deceased employee who is required to be bonded to the deceased employee’s
domestic partner.

There are several other provisions in the employment laws that reference a spouse, so
the question is whether you want to add domestic partner to those provisions as well.
Those provisions are the /folloxaw}ng:

1. Section 102.07 (5) (b‘g and (c) relating to counting the employees of a farmer for
purposes of determining coverage of the worker’s compensation law.
e

2. Section 102.80 (4) (a) 1. relating to transfer of the business of an uninsured employer
under the worker’s compensation law.

v v
3. Section 103.90 (3) (a) 2. and (5) (b) 1. relating to the regulation of migrant labor
camps and contrait/:/ors.

4. Sections 111.32 (5) and (12) and 111.345 relating to employment discrimination
based on marital status.

If you would like to conform any of those provisions, please advise.

Gordon M. Malaise

Senior Legislative Attorney

Phone: (608) 266-9738

E-mail: gordon.malaise@legis.wisconsin.gov

Current law provides that an owner of a manufactured home must pay a supplemental
fee when transferring the title to a manufactured home. The fee is waived with respect
to the transfer of a decedent’s interest in a manufactured home to his or her surviving
spouse. This draft extends the waiver to a state-registered domestic partner. There
are also references to surviving spouses in the other manufactured home provisions
relating to involuntary tran§fers in the interest of an owner of a manufactured home.
See s. 101.9211 (4) (b) 1‘?{ 1m., and 4. Please let me know if you would like the draft to
add domestic partners to these provisions as well.

Robin N. Kite

Legislative Attorney

Phone: (608) 266-7291

E-mail: robin.kite@legis.wisconsin.gov

The probate provisions of this draft utilize a definition for “surviw;};g domestic partner”
that is based on the definition of “surviving spouse” under s. 851.30. The instructions
do not address a situation in which a surving domestic partner or the decedent had not
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obtained a valid certificate of termination of a previous domestic partnership with a
third person or a final decree or judgment of divorce or an annulment of a previous
marriage to a third person prior to registering the domestic partnership with the
decedent under created s. 770.05. Would you like to address this issue in this draft?

The instructions do not mention transfers under a will or revocations of provisions jn
favor of a former domestic partner, and accordingly, this draft does not treat s. 854.15.
Is that your intent? Y

v

The instructions in Benefit 28 refer to s. 861.21 (3) and I note that 2005 Wiscqnsin Act
216 repealed that subsection, which dealt with an intestate estate’s interest in a home.
It appears that sub. (8) was repealed because it was redundant, as the language in sub.
(2)¥allowing the surviving spouse or domestic partner to petition the court for full
ownership in the absence of a governing instrument transferring the decedent’s
interest in the property to a third person would apply equally to the estate of a decedent
whose estate is governed by a will and to a decedent who died intestate. Accordingly,
I believe that amending s. 861.21 (2) to add surviving domestic partners adequately
addresses the intent in Benefit 28. Is this acceptable?

Your request specified in Benefit Zé/that a domestic partner is entitled to receive g
share of the testator’s estate under s. 853.11 (2) (renumbered to s. 853.12 in 2005
Wisconsin Act 216) if the testator had a premarital or predomestic partnefship will.
Although s. 853.12 (3)'(d) refers to spouses, I have not added “or domestic partner” to
it because it provides an exception to the surviving spouse inheriting under a
premarital will if there was an agreement under chapter“?66 that the spouse is to have
no portion of the testator’s estate. Given that the instructions do not mention chafter
766 at all, I have not amended s. 853.12 (3) ‘([d) or any other portion of the probate
statutes that refers to marital property issues under chapter 766. Isthat your intent?

~ The draft amends s. 859.25 (1) (g), which regulates payment-of claims of a probate

_ estate, and that sectiofl is referenced by both s. 342.17 (4) (b) 1.¢., which governs the
transfer of automobile titles and is amended in this draft, and s. 30.541 (3) (d) 2. a.,
which governs the transfer of boat titles and is not addressed by the drafting
instructions. Would you like to amend s. 30.541 (3) (d)’ 2.@. toinclude domestic partners
as well as spouses? <, o C

You have requested that for estates of dnder $50,000 in value, that domestic partners

be allowed to partake of thg,estate nder the summary settlement of small estat
procedures under s. 867.01 and of the procedures under s. 867.03 for transfers b 'x
affidavit. Severa}/portions of thosg two statutes, including ss. 867.01(3) (arh) 4.&%?67.03 GN
(1g) (c)/and (1m)"(a), as well as4867.02 (2) (am) 6., concerning assignments of small
estates subject to the claims of creditors, refer to situations in which the%decedent or
spouse received benefits including the family care benefit under s. 46.286, medical
assistance under subch. IV &f ch. 49, long-teym community support services funded
under s. 46.2 7‘{ 7), or aid under s. 49.68’,/ 49.685 or 49.685. I have not included domestic
partners within those portions of ss, 867.0 1'to 867.03 because the instructions do not
address amending chapters 46°0r 4Y'to add domestic partners to the groups of persons
entitled to such benefits. Addititionally, I have not changed s. 867.03, as requested in
Instruction 34/ as no portion of that statute, other than subs. (1g)"(c) and (1m) (a),

hato™
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discussed abové, mentions spouses or otherwise requires thange to apply to domestic
partners. Is this acceptable?

S
The probate statutes arerath complex and I would recommend that you have atleast

éwho specializeé%rl probate law reviey this draft. Perhaps the State Bar
of Wisconsifl's probate section could assembly) a panel to review the draft gnd
recopamend further changes. A computer search of the probate chapters, chs. 851 to
879 using Folio, revealed that the word “spouse” appears 203 times, which includes
many sections that are not addressed in this draft. You may wish to perform that Folio
search and determine if there are any additional probate provisions you would like
addressed in this draft.

.

Robert P. Nelson

Senior Legislative Attorney
Phone: (608) 267-7511
E-mail: robert.nelson@legis.wisconsin.gov

As I'm sure you are aware, this bill could be challenged as unconstitutional under
article XIII, section TB, of the Wisconsin Constitution, which provides that “[a] legal
status identical or substantially similar to that of marriage for unmarried individuals
shall not be valid or recognized in this state.” Although a state-registered domestic
partnership under this bill is not identical to marriage, the question is whether it is
substantially similar to marriage. It has some characteristics in common but obviously
differs in many ways. No matter what our opinions might be on that question, the only
opinion that matters is a court’s if the bill were passed and a legal action initiated to
determine its constitutionality.

Pamela J. Kahler

Senior Legislative Attorney

Phone: (608) 266-2682

E-mail: pam.kahler@legis.wisconsin.gov
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January 20, 2009

The bill grants domestic partners the same right or privilege as a spouse to visit or
accompany a patient at the following types of health care facilities: certified or licensed
adult family homes, community-based residential facilities, nursing homes,
residential care apartment complexes, hospitals, and hospices, which are regulated by
DHS. Medical clinics are not regulated as such by DHS; do you want a provision that
accords spousal privileges of accompanying a patient to a medical clinic for
state-registered domestic partners?

Also, as drafted, violation of some of these provisions regarding access to health care
facilities is subject to penalty and violation of others is not. The difference is caused
by differing provisions for each type of facility under current law. For example,
violation of s. 50.032 (2d), under the provisions of s. 50.032 (6), stats., would carry with
it a $500 fine or imprisonment in the county jail for not more than one year, whereas
violation of s. 50.36 (3j) has no penalty that attaches under current law. Do you want
all violations to be subject to penalty? Do you want the amounts of the penalties to be
identical? If so, what penalty would you prefer?

Robin Ryan

Legislative Attorney

Phone: (608) 261-6927

E-mail: robin.ryan@legis.wisconsin.gov

Please note that I have included all of the statutory sections relating to benefits in the
legal process that you mentioned in your drafting instructions. Most of these statutory
sections relate to treating, throughout the criminal justice process, registered domestic
partners the same as “spouses” are treated under current law.

As we discussed, there are many more statutes throughout the crime chapters that
offer particular victim status to spouses and other family members. See, for example,
s. 940.201, which prohibits a person from battering or threatening a witness in a trial
or the witness’ family members. Section 940.201 includes “spouse” as a family member.
See also ch. 950 relating to the rights of victims of crime. Section 950.02 (3) includes
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“spouse” as a family member. I did not treat these statutes or other similar statutes
in this draft.

Peggy Hurley

Legislative Attorney

Phone: (608) 266-8906

E-mail: peggy.hurley@legis.wisconsin.gov

Section 109.03 (3) requires an employer to pay a deceased employee’s wages to the
deceased employee’s spouse. Similarly, s. 103.165 (3) requires an employer to pay the
bond of a deceased employee who is required to be bonded to the deceased employee’s
spouse. Accordingly, this draft amends s. 103.165 (3) to require an employer to pay the
bond of a deceased employee who is required to be bonded to the deceased employee’s
domestic partner.

There are several other provisions in the employment laws that reference a spouse, so
the question is whether you want to add domestic partner to those provisions as well.
Those provisions are the following:

1. Section 102.07 (5) (b) and (c) relating to counting the employees of a farmer for
purposes of determining coverage of the worker’s compensation law.

2. Section 102.80 (4) (a) 1. relating to transfer of the business of an uninsured employer
under the worker’s compensation law.

3. Section 103.90 (3) (a) 2. and (5) (b) 1. relating to the regulation of migrant labor
camps and contractors.

4. Sections 111.32 (5) and (12) and 111.345 relating to employment discrimination
based on marital status.

If you would like to conform any of those provisions, please advise.

Gordon M. Malaise

Senior Legislative Attorney

Phone: (608) 266-9738

E-mail: gordon.malaise@legis.wisconsin.gov

Current law provides that an owner of a manufactured home must pay a supplemental
fee when transferring the title to a manufactured home. The fee is waived with respect
to the transfer of a decedent’s interest in a manufactured home to his or her surviving
spouse. This draft extends the waiver to a state-registered domestic partner. There
are also references to surviving spouses in the other manufactured home provisions
relating to involuntary transfers in the interest of an owner of a manufactured home.
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See s.101.9211 (4) (b) 1., 1m., and 4. Please let me know if you would like the draft to
add domestic partners to these provisions as well.

Robin N. Kite

Legislative Attorney

Phone: (608) 266-7291

E-mail: robin.kite@legis.wisconsin.gov

The probate provisions of this draft utilize a definition for “surviving domestic partner”
that is based on the definition of “surviving spouse” under s. 851.30. The instructions
do not address a situation in which a surviving domestic partner or the decedent had
not obtained a valid certificate of termination of a previous domestic partnership with
a third person or a final decree or judgment of divorce or an annulment of a previous
marriage to a third person prior to registering the domestic partnership with the
decedent under created s. 770.05. Would you like to address this issue in this draft?

The instructions do not mention transfers under a will or revocations of provisions in
favor of a former domestic partner, and accordingly, this draft does not treat s. 854.15.
Is that your intent?

The instructions in Benefit 28 refer to s. 861.21 (3) and I note that 2005 Wisconsin Act
216 repealed that subsection, which dealt with an intestate estate’s interest in a home.
It appears that sub. (3) was repealed because it was redundant, as the language in sub.
(2) allowing the surviving spouse or domestic partner to petition the court for full
ownership in the absence of a governing instrument transferring the decedent’s
interest in the property to a third person would apply equally to the estate of a decedent
whose estate is governed by a will and to a decedent who died intestate. Accordingly,
I believe that amending s. 861.21 (2) to add surviving domestic partners adequately
addresses the intent in Benefit 28. Is this acceptable?

Your request specified in Benefit 29 that a domestic partner is entitled to receive a
share of the testator’s estate under s. 853.11 (2) (renumbered to s. 853.12 in 2005
Wisconsin Act 216) if the testator had a premarital or predomestic partnership will.
Although s. 853.12 (3) (d) refers to spouses, I have not added “or domestic partner” to
it because it provides an exception to the surviving spouse inheriting under a
premarital will if there was an agreement under chapter 766 that the spouse is to have
no portion of the testator’s estate. Given that the instructions do not mention chapter
766 at all, I have not amended s. 853.12 (3) (d) or any other portion of the probate
statutes that refers to marital property issues under chapter 766. Isthat your intent?

The draft amends s. 859.25 (1) (g), which regulates payment of claims of a probate
estate, and that section is referenced by both s. 342.17 (4) (b) 1. c., which governs the
transfer of automobile titles and is amended in this draft, and s. 30.541 (3) (d) 2. a.,
which governs the transfer of boat titles and is not addressed by the drafting
instructions. Would you like to amend s. 30.541 (3) (d) 2. a. toinclude domestic partners
as well as spouses?
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You have requested that for estates of under $50,000 in value, that domestic partners
be allowed to partake of the estate under the summary settlement of small estates
procedures under s. 867.01 and of the procedures under s. 867.03 for transfers by
affidavit. Several portions of those two statutes, including ss. 867.01 (3) (am) 4. and
867.03 (1g) (c) and (1m) (a), as well as s. 867.02 (2) (am) 6., concerning assignments of
small estates subject to the claims of creditors, refer to situations in which the decedent
or spouse received benefits including the family care benefit under s. 46.286, medical
assistance under subch. IV of ch. 49, long-term community support services funded
under s. 46.27 (7), or aid under s. 49.68, 49.683, or 49.685. I have not included domestic
partners within those portions of ss. 867.01 to 867.03 because the instructions do not
address amending chapters 46 or 49 to add domestic partners to the groups of persons
entitled to such benefits. Additionally, I have not changed s. 867.03, as requested in
Instruction 34, as no portion of that statute, other than subs. (1g) (¢) and (1m) (a),
discussed above, mentions spouses or otherwise requires change to apply to domestic
partners. Is this acceptable?

The probate statutes are rather complex and I would recommend that you have
attorneys who specialize in probate law review this draft. Perhaps the State Bar of
Wisconsin’s probate section could assemble a panel to review the draft and recommend
further changes. A computer search of the probate chapters, chs. 851 to 879 using
Folio, revealed that the word “spouse” appears 203 times, which includes many
sections that are not addressed in this draft. You may wish to perform that Folio search
and determine if there are any additional probate provisions you would like addressed
in this draft.

No changes were suggested in ch. 815, but that chapter provides exemptions for
execution, including the homestead exemption for land owned by a husband and wife
under s. 815.20 and various exemptions under s. 815.18 that define a “dependent” to
include a spouse. Isyour intent to not make changes in that chapter?

Robert P. Nelson

Senior Legislative Attorney

Phone: (608) 267-7511

E-mail: robert.nelson@legis.wisconsin.gov

As I'm sure you are aware, this bill could be challenged as unconstitutional under
article XIII, section 13, of the Wisconsin Constitution, which provides that “[a] legal
status identical or substantially similar to that of marriage for unmarried individuals
shall not be valid or recognized in this state.” Although a state-registered domestic
partnership under this bill is not identical to marriage, the question is whether it is
substantially similar to marriage. It has some characteristics in common but obviously
differs in many ways. No matter what our opinions might be on that question, the only
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opinion that matters is a court’s if the bill were passed and a legal action initiated to
determine its constitutionality.

Pamela J. Kahler

Senior Legislative Attorney

Phone: (608) 266-2682

E-mail: pam.kahler@legis.wisconsin.gov



To: Rick, Robirl R., Robin K., B6b, Peggy, Gordon

From: Pam

Subject: DOA’s domestic partnership bill

Date: Jan. 22, 2009

DOA has reviewed Pocan’s draft and wants to go with their (DOA’s) version. (Even though in the
email it says to use Pocan’s, they want to use their procedure — state—registerd with Secretary of State
—and to respond to the d—notes differently, so it’s their version we start with, not Pocan’s.)

Please make any changes necessary in response to their responses to the d—notes.

Rick, I talked to Caitlin yesterday. She said their intent for the ch. 40 provisions is to use the defini-
tion of domestic partner that you have in LRB—1175 for all of the ch. 40 provisions, not just health
insurance. She said their intent is not to require state—registry for the DP’s in ch. 40, but to require
the criteria in LRB-1175. If the DP’s under ch. 40 are state-registered, that’s ok, but they still need
to satisfy the criteria under LRB-1175. \
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Kahler, Pam

From: Frederick, Caitlin - DOA

Sent: Wednesday, January 21, 2009 1:58 PM

To: Ryan, Robin; Malaise, Gordon, Kite, Robin; Neison, Robert P.; Kahler, Pam; Huriey, Peggy
Subject: FW: LRB Draft: 09-1308/P1 Domestic Partnership Registry

Attachments: 09-1308/P1.pdf; 09-1308/P1dn.pdf

L. : [ e

Please modify the bill to eliminate the requirement that dp be of the same gender.
2. Regarding the attached notes:

Robin R:

Do you want a provision that accords spousal privileges of accompanying a patient to a medical clinic
for state—registered domestic partners? Yes

Also, as drafted, violation of some of these provisions regarding access to health care facilities is subject
to penalty and violation of others is not. The difference is caused by differing provisions for each type of
facility under current law. For example, violation of s. 50.032 (2d), under the provisions of s. 50.032 (6),
stats., would carry with it a $500 fine or imprisonment in the county jail for not more than one year,
whereas violation of s. 50.36 (3j) has no penalty that attaches under current law. Do you want all
violations to be subject to penalty? Yes

Do you want the amounts of the penaltles to be identical? Yes. }f so, what penalty would you prefer‘7

Confirm this provision: 4. Sections 111.32 (5) and (12) and 111.345 relating to employment
discrimination
based on marital status.

~ Robin K:
¥ Add dp to the manufactured home transfer fee provision.

~Robert:
L The probate provisions of this draft utilize a definition for “surviving domestic partner” that is based on
the definition of “surviving spouse” under s. 851.30. The instructions do not address a situation in which
a surviving domestic partner or the decedent had not obtained a valid certificate of termination of a
previous domestic partnership with a third person or a final decree or judgment of divorce or an
annulment of a previous marriage to a third person prior to registering the domestic partnership with the

decedent under created s. 770.05. Would you like to address this issue in this draft? Yes.

~The instructions do not mention transfers under a will or revocations of provisions in favor of a former
domestic partner, and accordingly, this draft does not treat s. 854.15. Is that your intent? Yes.

The instructions in Benefit 28 refer to s. 861.21 (3) and I note that 2005 Wisconsin Act 216 repealed that

v subsection, which dealt with an intestate estate’s interest in a home. It appears that sub. (3) was repealed
because it was redundant, as the language in sub. (2) allowing the surviving spouse or domestic partner

01/22/2009
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to petition the court for full ownership in the absence of a governing instrument transferring the
ﬁiﬁ éi‘,} decedent’s interest in the property to a third person would apply equally to the estate of a decedent
/ whose estate is governed by a will and to a decedent who died intestate. Accordingly, I believe that
4 amending s. 861.21 (2) to add surviving domestic partners adequately addresses the intent in Benefit 28.
Is this acceptable? Yes.

Your request specified in Benefit 29 that a domestic partner is entitled to receive a share of the testator’s
estate under s. 853.11 (2) (renumbered to s. 853.12 in 2005 Wisconsin Act 216) if the testator had a
premarital or predomestic partnership will.
A hh()ugh s. 853.12 (3) (d) refers io spouses, 1 have not added “or domestic pdriner to it because it
~ / provides an exception to the surviving spouse inheriting under a premarital will if there was an
5// agreement under chapter 766 that the spouse is to have
no portion of the testator’s estate. Given that the instructions do not mention chapter 766 at all, [ have
not amended s. 853.12 (3) (d) or any other portion of the probate statutes that refers to marital property
issues under chapter 766. Is that your intent? DP should be treated as a dependent. [Legislature may
address further] [LaVE w5 15 . OF thy [N F0aa

The draft amends s. 859.25 (1) (g), which regulates payment of claims of a probate estate, and that
» section is referenced by both s. 342.17 (4) (b) 1. c., which governs the transfer of automobile titles and is
5’5%% amended in this draft, and s. 30.541 (3) (d) 2. a.,
r which governs the transfer of boat titles and is not addressed by the drafting instructions. Would you
like to amend s. 30.541 (3) (d) 2. a. to include domestic partners as well as spouses? Yes

, ... estates of under $50,000 in value... I have not changed s. 867.03, as requested in Instruction 34, as no
We / portion of that statute, other than subs. (1g) (c) and (1m) (a), discussed above, mentions spouses or

(7 otherwise requires change to apply to domestic
partners. Is this acceptable? Yes.

é};’/}klsoﬁ do not make changes to ch 815 regarding exemptions.

Currently there is a conflict between LRB 1175/1 and this bill regarding the definition of domestic
partner. For the purposes of treatment of benefits under Ch. 40, the definition of dp under 1175/1, Ch.
40.02 (21d) should be used.

From: Henry, Patty [mailto:Patty.Henry@legis.wisconsin.gov]
Sent: Tuesday, January 20, 2009 3:22 PM

To: Frederick, Caitlin - DOA
Cc: Thornton, Scott - DOA;
Subject: LRB Draft: 09-1308/

naman, Cathlene - LEGIS; Beadles, Kathleen - DOA
Domestic Partnership Registry

Following is the PDF version of draft 09-1

é“5>777
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Kahler, Pam

From: Hanaman, Cathlene
Sent: Wednesday, January 21, 2009 4:48 PM
To: Kahier, Pam

Subject: FW: DP Registry
Attachments: 09-1492/P1.pdf; FW: LRB Draft: 09-1308/P1 Domestic Partnership Registry

From: Frederick, Caitlin - DOA [mailto:caitlin.frederick@wisconsin.gov]
Sent: Wednesday, January 21, 2009 4:47 PM

To: Hanaman, Cathlene

Cc: Thornton, Scott - DOA

Subject: DP Registry

Our starting point is using the Pocan draft (1492/P1) as a base, and modifying it to address the issues noted in
the d;afters notes (attached e-mail).

E/ﬂf{. Remove Pocan’s treatment of Ch 770 (Section 97) and replace it with the 1308/P1 (Section 94) but omit

lines 12-14 of pg 44 of 1308/P1 limiting the criteria by sex and age and modify the application materials
under 770.07 (lines 16-20, pg 44 of 1308/P1) to require documentary proof of identification and residence
and social security number.

”{;ig W V;’ ¢ Remove Pocan’s treatment of Ch 853 (Section 104) and replace with 1308/P1

The intent of these modifying provisions, if I have not caught everything, is to remove the language from
1492/P1 which is similar to the language used for marriage, expand the eligibility as to not limit it to those of

the same gender, administer the registry and application as noted in the original 1308/P1 draft, and to
include some proof of identification and residence requirements.

From: Hanaman, Cathlene [mailto:Cathlene.Hanaman@Iegis.wisconsin.gov]
Sent: Wednesday, January 21, 2009 2:38 PM

To: Kraus, Jennifer - DOA; Frederick, Caitlin - DOA

Subject:

Jenny and Caitlin:

Pocan's office is waiving confidentiality on their domestic partners draft for DOA budget purposes. Please let us
know as soon as possible if you want to start using their draft as a base or if you want to proceed on your draft.

Your response will greatly relieve some of our stress over here. Did | mention "greatly"?
Jenny, ignore that last email | sent you.

-Cathlene

<<09-1492/P1>>

01/21/2009



