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the MA trust fund for state fiscal year 2008-09.
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Currently, the federal government pays a specified percentage of the allowable
costs of Medical Assistance (MA) benefits. The federal MA percentages (FMAPs) for
federal fiscal year 2009 were published in the federal register on November 28, 2007,

and the FMAPs for federal fiscal year 2010 were published in the federal register on

- < 5«&“%
November 26, 2008. Also currently, for %;gaﬁﬁ; benefits, the provider contributes
A

the entire state share of the cost of providing the benefit and the state disburses to
the provider the federal share of the allowable costs of providing the benefit.
This bill provides that regardless of whether the FMAPs for federal fiscal years

2009 or 2010 are increased above the percentages published on November 28, 2007,
7 e tri~

and November 26, 2008, forthos ﬁg;ﬁts for which the state currently disburses the
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é

federal share to the provider, the state shall use FMAPs published on those dates to

calculate the federal share for benefits provided between October 1, 2008, and

December 31, 2010.
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Current law requires the Board of Regents of the University of Wisconsin

System (Board) to transfer $15,000,000 to the Medical Assistance trust fund in each

- —

state fiscal year through 2010 11. sThe source of the transfer is an approprlatlon ti;)
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the Boal;/)p general program opera;}a{/ﬁs Or money receive

. Uni ersﬁ:y of Wisconsin Systemrthat is not otherwise specifically appref)/rlated Th1s

e

bill increases the amount that the‘gbard must annually transfer to the Med1cal

Assistance trust fund to $27,500 OOOQrequlres the Board to make the transfer ;
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through ate fiscal year 2012-13. J
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Current law prohibits smoking in mass transit vehicles and specific enclosed,
indoor locations, including the following:
1. Inpatient health care facilities, such as community based-residential

facilities and nursing homes.

2. Prisons and jails.

3 ‘% Restaurants.

4#7/ Governmental buildings.
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Under the bill, smoking areas at indoor locations may no longer be designated

resulting in a complete ban on indoor smoking at those locations with exceptions for
private residences, a limited number of designated rooms in lodging establishments,

and certain residence rooms in assisted living facilities. In addition to the specific

indoor locations listed under current law, the bill prohibits smoking in any public ie‘

place or place of We b%deﬁﬂgzjfe;g}aqg ﬁggmfgfbgamﬁ“fwmny

M&@e that employeemallyimquem during the course-of employment, -
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4|2 place thyt i3open \M&gﬁ&l&ss of wheher afeéis charged or a place

_to which the public has lawful access or may be invited. In-addi ion, the bill defines
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¥oof and at least two walls.
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(J Current law provides

Lassemble goods, products, or merchandise. This bill eliminates these exe 1

2009 - 2010 Legislature -154 - LRB-1897/P1 M {3{

...........

i,
T
g,

es exemptlons from the prohlbltlon agamst smoking fo;ﬂ}

/
%f
%
5

ons. g
«M

) %MM - B - -
bowling centers taverns thalls used for private-fu oms in which the main
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occupa “are-smokers, and are o_manufacture or

Current law allows smoking in any restaurant that has a seating capacity of 5?
individuals or less, or that holds a liquor license, if the sale of alcohol beverages
accounts for more than 50 percent of the restaurant’s receipts. This bill prohibits
smoking in any restaurant regardless of seating capacity or the number of liquor sale
receipts.

Current law allows smoking in any tavern holding a “Class B” intoxicating
liquor license or Class “B” fermented malt beverages license issued by a municipality.
This bill prohibits smoking in any tavern. The bill also specifically prohibits smoking

in private clubs.

Under current law, smoking is prohibited outside in limited instances.

adds a general prohibition against smoking outside within less than a reasonable
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~distance from any entrance into a building, an openable window, or a ventilation
opening that draws air inside.
, The; bill also specifically prohibits smoking in sports arenas and bus shelters,
regardiess of whéther they meet the definition of “enclosed place.”
Current law does not limit the authority of any county, city, village, or town to
7 _ enact smoking ordinances that protect the public’s health and comfort. This bill

makes no change in this provision.

This bill requires that persons in charge of places where smoking is prohibited
enforce the prohibitions by taking certain steps to ensure compliance, such as asking

1 the person to leave or refusing to serve the person if the place is a restaurant or

“bill imposes forfeitures on perso ailto take these |

i ; —

tavern. {This
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HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

Under current law, the Group Insurance Board, attached to DETF, must
develop and administer a pharmacy benefits purchasing program that is available
for all public and private sector employers in this state, as well as all residents of this

state. The program for private sector employers and other residents of this state,
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developed under contract with Navitus Health Solutions, is called “BadgerRx Gold.”

This bill transfers the BadgerRx Gold program to DHS.

*#* ANALYSIS FROM -1544/1 ***
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Under current law, DHS awards grants to organizations to provide mental

health treatment and other services to women who are convicted of non-violent

offenses and their dependent children. This bill eliminates this grant program.

LONG-TERM CARE
Currently, the state imposes a monthly, per-bed assessment on nursing homes

in an amount that may not exceed $75. This bill increases the maximum amount of
the monthly, per-bed assessment imposed on nursing homes to $150 in state fiscal
year 2009-10, and $170 in each year thereafter.
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Current law imposes a cap on the number of nursing home beds that may be

licensed statewide. DHS allocates the number of authoré;ﬁd licensed beds among )
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seven planning areas@;DHS further-allocates beds authorized fer»-»ap}&;m:mé%reﬁ‘w .
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among nursing homes that apply for the beds. ﬂ:& nursing home may transfer an
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a@ﬁﬁiéa hcensed bed to another nursing home if the receiving nursing home is in

the same planning area as the transferring nursing home or in a county adjoining
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This bill allows a nursing home to transfer an authorized licensed bed to

/

another nursing home regardless of location and ownership of the nursmg homes s

Wm e

long as the nursmg homes notlfy DHS and DHS approves the transfer,

*x% ANALYSIS FROM -1288/1 **+*
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Currently, DHS may issue to nursmg homes notices of violations of licensure

H
i
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| laws and notations in biennial reports; may impose a plan of correction or reject a
| nursing home’s plan of correction; and may assess forfeitures to nursing homes. A

nursing home contests these actions by sending, within ten days after receipt of
notice, a written request for a hearing to the Division of Hearings and Appeals thati

|
is attached to DOA. This bill changes the time period within which a nursing home i

may contest these DHS actions to 60 days. -
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Currently, DHS may place a monitor in, and the secretary of health services
may petition for appointment of a receiver for, a nursing home or community-based
residential facility (CBRF) when any of several conditions (for example, operating

without a license or in the event of an emergency) exist. This bill specifies two
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additional conditions for placement of a monitor or petitioning for appointment of a
receiver: 1) DHS or the nursing home or CBRF determines that estimated operating
expenses of the nursing home or CBRF significantly exceed anticipated revenues;
and 2) the nursing home or CBRF or its operator has been charged with or convicted

- B

of @al Assistan@Mraud, fraud under the federal Medicare Program, or the

abuse or neglect of residents of the nursing home or CBRF. The hill also permits a

monitor placed in a nursing home or CBRF to assist in financial management. é@ﬁi\
()
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LONG-TERM CARE g 2
e Under current law, EDHS licenses community-based residential | facilities ™
g‘%f (CBRFs) and adult family homes (AFHs), and, for purposes of reimbursengent under f
5 / ]
~ | e . ~ |
N ~ the Medical Assistance program, certifies adult day care centers (AIfCCs). The |
Q;i /,hceﬁ§ﬁ?§ fees for CBRFs and wH s well as the certification fee for @me
-5 | / w/gﬁ Vo ;’“35"& 4
>~ established by statute/” In addition, current law authorizes/DHS/t9 increase the
— ; ; )’V/ / Lﬂ%&;’
~E |/ certification fee for ADCCs by rule. 2 gf '
£ |
=3 This bill increases the licensure fees for CBRFs and AFHs and the certification

* fee for ADCCs. In addition, the bill grants DHS authority to increase the licensure

fees for CBRF's and AFHs by rule.
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LONG-TERM CARE . M({b

B

Under current law, .the Board on “‘A‘gmg and Long-Term Care operates thén‘v

B

e

gf Log%\ Term Care Ombudsman Program The board serves aged and Cﬁsa%

o AT

% «,.

x,‘;ndzvxduals\)nhe long-term care ombudsman investigates complamts of improper
el o IO

care in/ “‘long-terﬁb care facihtles and advocates for ?esoluj:mn of tho%e\ complam ;

.

The meudsman h%@ccess%gre&dents az:@.breear oﬁ residents of nursing homes,

community-based residential facilities, adult family homes, hospices, facilities

providing care under continuing care contracts, and swing beds in hospitals.
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This bill authorizes the ombudsman to investigate complaints of and advocate

for residents of residential care apartment complexe%WwM

i
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" Under current. law, the ﬁ’oagd on Agmg and\Long—Term Care operates an-
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problems relating to long-?berm care. Thl/g}fequlres re31dent1al care apartment “
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complexes to post not1ce regardmg the board s Long-Term Care &mbudsman
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. MENTAL ILLNESS AND DEVELOPMENTAL DISABILITIES
Under current law, a person who has been released into the community on

supervised release after having been institutionalized as a sexually violent person
is in the custody and control of DHS and is subject to conditions and rules. One
mandatory condition is that the person, for the first year of supervised release, is
restricted to his or her home except for limited outings under the direct supervision
of an escort from DOC. This bill gives DHS discretion in whether a person on an

outing is required to be under the direct supervision of an escort.

*xx ANALYSIS FROM -1141/P2 ***
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MENTAL ILLNESS AND DEVELOPMENTAL DISABILITIES
Under current law, if a court hasreason to doubt the competency of a criminal

defendant, the court may require the defendant to be examined to determine
whether the person is competent to proceed to trial. If the examiner determines that
the person is not éompetent, but may attain competency with treatment, the court
must suspend the criminal proceedings and commit the defendant to the custody of
DHS for placement in an appropriate mental health institution for up to 12 months,
or for the maximum sentence specified for the most serious offense with which the
defendant is charged, whichever is less. This bill reduces the commitment time to
a maximum of six months, or the maximum sentence specified for the most serious

offense with which the defendant is charged, whichever is less.

___*** ANALYSIS FROM -0511/P1 ***
~ HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

Under curen law ifa d 7 reason of
mental disease or mental defect, the court must commit the person to either
institutional care or conditional release. If the court lacks sufficient information to
determine whether the person should be committed to institutional care or to

conditional release, the court may order a predisposition investigation of the person
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or a supplementary mental examination, or both. Under this bill, the court may

order only a predisposition investigation.

+#+ ANALYSIS FROM -0884/3 ***

. CHILDREN
=
Under current law, any person who receives four-orfewer-childreen-erunder

supplemental payments for special needs, exceptional circumstances, and initial
clothing allowances according to rates promulgated by DCF by rule. In addition, a
treatment foster parent receives supplemental payments for providing treatment
foster care. A relative who provides care and maintenance for a child is not required

or
to obtain a foster@reatment foster home license, but may, if he or she meets

certain conditions, receive kinship care payments of $215 per month

ship ¢
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This bill eliminates kinship care = inshi ayments and

treatment foster homes as a separate licensing category effective on January 1, 2010.
Instead, the bill requires DCF to promulgate rules regulating foster care as follows:

1. Rules providing levels of care that a foster home is licensed to provide. Those
levels of care must be based on the level of knowledge, skill, training, experience, and
other qualifications that are required of the licensee, the level of responsibilities that
are expected of the licensee, the needs of the children who are placed with the
licensee, and any other requirements relating to the ability of the licensee to provide
for those needs that DCF may promulgate by rule.

2. Rules establishing a standardized assessment tool to assess the needs of a
child placed outside the home, to determine the level of care that is required to meet
those needs, and to place the child in a placement that meets those needs. A foster
home that is licensed to provide a given level of care may provide foster care for any
child whose needs are assessed to be at or below the level of care that the foster home
is licensed to provide.

3. Rules providing monthly rates of reimbursement for foster care that are
commensurate with the level of care that the foster home is licensed to provide and
the needs of the child who is placed in the foster home. Those rates are in addition
to the basic maintenance rates for foster care}and must include rates for

i@/"\ék( Y\{«’ﬁ.{ ‘\»x\“{
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supplemental payments for special needs, exceptional circumstances, and initial
clothing allowances for children placed in a foster home.

4. Rules providing a monthly retainer fee for a foster home that agrees to
maintain openings for emergency placements.

A person who is licensed to operate a treatment foster home on December 31,
2009, is considered to be licensed to operate a foster home beginning on January 1,
2010, and must be reimbursed for foster care at the appropriate rate determined
under the rules promulgated by DCF under the bill. A person who is receiving

kinship We payments{ on December 31, 2009, is considered

to be licensed to operate a foster home beginniné)n January 1, 2010, and must be
) "

reimbursed for foster care at that appropriate rate?if the person passes the ¢ rimifa

background investigation required of foster parents.

' history-and chiTdabase
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Under current law, a residential care center for children and youth (residential
their

e for@gervices and

c.\«arj'; ny , _
must submit that rate and any change in that rate before a-elrargeis made
(_%/\af}"‘"
y purchaser of those services.

care center) and a group home must establish a per client
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This bill requires DCF tW a residential care
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center or a group home and the per client administrative

rate that a child welfare agency may charge for the administrative portion of its

S

treatment foster care services, for services provided beginning on January 1, 2{}1%\
The bill also freezes for 2010 at the 2009 level the per client rate that a residential

care center or a group home may charge for its services and the per client

administrative rate that a child welfare agency may charge for the administrative

b2

portion of its treatment foster care services. /The bill defines “administrative rate

as the difference between the rate charged by a child welfare agency to a purchaser

e

of treatment foster care services and the rate paid by the child welfare agency to a

treatment foster parent for the care and maintenance of a child. J
Under the bill, by-October Tanmmually;-a-residential care center or a greuphome
muyst submitt6 DCF the per client rate that it proposes to charge fér services

provided in the next year“and a child welfare agency tmust subrit to DCF the

pfaposed peér-client administrative rate that i

DCF must/then-peview the proposed

ate-and-aydit-the-résrdentislcare-centergroupdiomayorchild wellare agency to/

@ gf.a ’i‘ja [y b.y o U4 \Epn}ﬁ«& Caen chz«\)(cr;} ¢ oo M\?
determine whether thépn)posetiratej?\ is appropriate to the level of services to be> \’*Wv)"v
(& i)

w\C
provided; the qualifications of the residential care center, group home, or chi “
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welfare agency to provide those services; and the reasonable and necessary costs of
providing those services.

WWQ@FMM@M&E@M{M% Y
v

]
anges in the consumer price index; 2) changes in allowable costs baée/}a( current

actual cost data or documented projections of costs; 3) changesin ;ir/gétam utilization

that affect the pex_client rate or per client administrative rate; 4) changes in DCF’s

expectations relating toservice delivery; 5) changes i 4 service delivery proposed by

the residential care center, group home, or chi d welfare agency and agreed to by

DCF; 6) the loss of any source of reven® that had been used to pay expenses; 7)

proposed rate; and 10) any other factor relevant to the setting fﬁMAx/

ay-determine by rule promulgated under the bill. J
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he ¥

‘é‘“‘"‘ If DCF determines that a proposed rate is appropriate, DCF must approve the
proposed rate. If DCF does not approve a proposed rate, DCF must negotiate with
the residential care center, group home, or child welfare agency to determine an
agreed to rate. If after negotiations a rate is not agreed to, the parties must engage

in mediation to arrive at an agreed to rate. If after mediation a rate is not agreed to,
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the residential care center, group home, or child welfare agency may not provide the

service for which the rate was proposed.

ek ANALYSIS FROM 1415/1 ek

is required to receive initial training before placement of the first child in his or her
home and ongoing training in the specific needs of the treatment foster parent after
licensing. Additionally, a foster T that< vid
(8

ructured, $sio a chitd; treatment
foster parent caring for a child with special needs may voluntarily participate in a
foster care education program approved by DCF. This bill requires all foster Wﬂt&
and treatment foster parents to successfully complete training in the care and

[+ 30

support needs of children who are placed in foster c\ai;&bﬁ;{:reatment foster care tliat
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as'beeri approved bk DEE—Thebill require 0 promulgate-rules-prescribing
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CHILDREN

t law specifies age-related basic maintenance rates that/are paid by the
state or a county towa foster parent for the care and maintenance of a child. Currently,
those rates are $349 for}sQid under five years of age, $381 for a child 5 to 11 years
of age, $433 for a child 12 to rears of age, and $45 fr a child 15 years of age or
over. This bill increases those rates by ercen nning onJanuary 1, 2010, and
by an additional 5 percent beginning on s uary 1, 2011, so that beginning on
January 1, 2010, those rates are $3664or a chﬂd der five years of age, $400 for a

child 5 to 11 years of age, $455 for a child 12 to 14 years of age, and $475 for a child

/ 15 years of age or over, grd beginning on January 1, 2011, those rates are $384 for

ﬁw&gf child abuse or neglect, a county t iceS OT

ervi e must evaluate the report to determine whether a
caregiver of the child is suspected of the abuse or neglect. If a caregiver is suspected

of the abuse or neglect, the county dgp’éptﬁi@zf must initiate a diligent investigation
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to determine whether the child is in need of protection or services. If a person who

is not a caregiver is suspected of the abuse or neglect, the county@%y

initiate such an investigation. If the report is of Sugk

o

abuse, the couﬁty@must refer the report to the sheriff or police

department. Within 60 days after receiving a report that it investigates, a county

i \"g, S e 0% oo
\‘i\ as follows:

specific person has abused or neglected a child, that person may appeal that

determination under procedures promulgated by DCF by rule.

This bill requires DCF to establish a pilot program under which a county

ort, 4
“,4

1. If the county d¢parfment

ig\reason to suspect@

substantial abuse or neglecWor that an investigation

of the report is otherwise necessary to ensure the safety of the child and his or her
family, the county &é‘pﬁ&:}n@aﬁ: must investigate the report as provided under current

law. The bill defines “substantial abuse or neglect” as abuse or neglect or threatened
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abuse or neglect that under guidelines developed by DCF under the bill constitutes

severe abuse or neglect or a threat of severe abuse or neglect and a significant threat

to the safety of a child and his or her family. Q e
§;§ it ‘

anpsubstantial abuse or neglect w
. DHEE L
@ut that under the/guidelines developed by BDEF there is no immediate

2. If the countydepa
sk
| abuse or neglect, i

v
Ay

nder t, ) is not necessary, the

child and his or her family, the risk of subsequent abuse or neglect, and the strengths

and needs of the child’s family to determine whether services are needed to address

those issues. Based on the assessment, the county "‘,7", I
appropriate services to the child’s family on a voluntary basis or refer the child’s

family to a service provider in the community for the provision of those services. If

the county depar

not required as under current law to refer the report to the sheriff or police
department or determine by a preponderance of the evidence that abuse or neglect
has occurred or is likely to occur or that a specific person has abused or neglected the

child.
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R
¢.\the county @r:ust refer

the child’s family to a service provider in the community for the provision of

appropriate services on a voluntary basis. If the caunty@;;}oys the
community services response, the count@s/ not required to conduct an
7

A5
grefer the report

abuse or neglect 43

assessment us
to the sheriff or police department/or determine by a preponderance of the evidence
that abuse or neglect has occurred or is likely to occur or that a specific person has
abused or neglected the child.

ik ANALYSIS FROM -1579/3 ***

CHILDRE?

Under current law, DCF administers the Child Abuse and Neglect Prevention
Program under which DCF awards grants to no more than six rural counties, three
urban counties, and two Indian tribes that offer voluntary home visitation services
to first-time parents who are eligible for Medical Assistance (MA). Current law
requires DCF to determine the amount of a grant awarded to a county or an Indian
tribe in excess of the statutory minimum grant amount of $10,000 based on the
number of births that are funded by MA in that county or the reservation of that

Indian tribe in proportion to the number of those births in all of the counties and the
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reservations of all of the Indian tribes to which grants are awarded. Currently, a
county or Indian tribe may use a grant to make payments totalling not more than
$1,000 per year for the appropriate expenses of a family participating in the program.
A county, other than Milwaukee County, or an Indian tribe may also use a grant to
provide case management services for a family participating in the program.

This bill makes all of the following changes to the Child Abuse and Neglect
Prevention Program:

1. Eliminates the caps on the number of counties and Indian tribes that may
be selected to participate in the program.

2. Requires DCF to determine the amount of a grant in excess of the statutory

minimum based on #eed}-as-determined by a formula that DCFis required under the

bo-promuleatebhyrule-andregwires-that-formulatodetermime-need hased on the

[€))
J
~

number of births that are funded by MA in a county or a reservation of an Indian
tribe, without regard to the number of those births in other counties and
reservations, and on the rate of poor birth outcomes, including infant mortality,
premature births, low birth weights, and racial or ethnic disproportionality in the
rate of those outcomes, in the county or reservation.

3. Provides that if a family with a child who is at risk of abuse or neglect has

been continuously receiving home visitatio services for not less than 12
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months, those services may continue to be provided until the child reaches three
years of age, regardless of whether the child continues to be eligible for MA.

4. Permits Milwaukee County to use grant funds to provide case management
services.

5. Eliminates the cap on the amount that a county or Indian tribe may pay per
year for the Wxgenses of a family participating in the program and
instead requires a county or Indian tribe to pay not less than $250 per year for those
expenses.

6. Eliminates the authority of a county or Indian tribe that receives a grant to
provide home visitation services to a person who is not eligible for participation in
the program, but who is at risk for perpetrating child abuse or neglect.

7. Requires a county or Indian tribe that receives a grant to do all of the
following:

a. Agree to match at least 25 percent of the grant amount in funds or in-kind
contributions.

b. Offer voluntary home visitation services to all, not just first-time, pregnant

women in the county or reservation of the Indian tribe who are eligible for MA and

\ commence those services during the prenatal period.
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c. Reinvest in the program a portion of the MA reimbursement received by the

county or Indian tribe i hall be i negotiati een
Mwmmn*ﬁﬂhﬁﬁb@
d. Implement strategies, in collaboration with local prenatal care coordination

providers, aimed at achieving healthy birth outcomes in the county or reservation

of the Indian tribe.

ik ANALYSIS FROM -1655/1 *#*

tead an
a ay care centerNmay receive reimbursement under the Wisconsin Works
(W-2) program for child care provided for a person who is eligible for a child care
subsidy under that program. This bill requires DCF to provide a child care quality
rating system for licensed day care centers that receive reimbursement under the
W-2 program or that volunteer for rating under the system. The rating information

must be made available, including on DCF’s Internet site, to parents, guardians, and

legal custodians of children who are recipients, or prospective recipients, of care and

supervision from a day care center ths

ik ANALYSIS FROM -1389/1 ***
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«~CHILDREN

Under current law, a child care provider, other than a day care center licensed

by DCF or established or contracted by a school board, must be certified by a county

rent-ofhaa Fice iahSETYg 8 before the child care provider may

- PN w’g" ©
gexviees provided to a f; Fis eligible for

receive reimbursement for child care
a child care subsidy under the Wiseensin Woxk&\¢W-2J program. This bill permits
DCF to contract with a W-2 agency, child care resource and referral agency, or other
agency to certify child care providers in a particular geographic area or for a
particular Indian tribal unit for purposes of reimbursement under the W-2 program.

*kx ANALYSIS FROM -1513/1 #%%*

Under current law, a day care center that provides care and supervision for nine

or more children must pay a biennial license fee of $30.25, plus $10.33 per child based

on licensed capacity. This bill raises the per child portion of that license fee to $16.94.

the child’s parent to support or maintenance from any other person, including any

right to unpaid amounts accrued at the time of application for those payments or that
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aid (pre-assistance arrears), is assigned to the state. This bill, beginning on October

mo'e Yo )1, 2009, eliminates assignment to the state of any right of a child or parent to

1698
‘} pre-assistance arrears.ﬁccordingly, under the bill, the only right to support or

aintenance that is assigned to the state is the right to support or maintenance

accruing during the time that those payments are made or that aid is paid. The bill

\ s ond
v1des that any right to pre-z isgtance arrears assigned to the state before

—othat
ber 1, 2009, shall bgreleased to the person who assigned that right to the state.

ik ANALYSIS FROM -1209/1 ***

HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES ~——

OTHER HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES
Under current law, DHS{Which administers the Medical Assistance (MjD

Mw/

o (M) -

©

L
e

may recover mcorrect payments that were made for health care services

) §
{
M Wﬁﬂ?’rom m1sstatement or omission of fact by a pers?z}/

\'“«u.w S
R

supplying information in an application for benefits{/ from the failure of a person to

5
T |
" report the receipt of income or assets in an amount that would have affected a
recipient’s eligibility for benefits, or from the failure of a person to report changes in
recipient’s financial or nonfinancial situation or eligibility characteristics that i

/

would have affected the recipient’s eligibility for benefits or his or her cost—sharifigj

If DHS provides any medical assistance to a person as a result of an

injury, for example, that was caused by a third party, DHS may recover from the third
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party the amount of the medical assistance provided. ‘Also under current law, if an

individual who is obligated to pay court-ordered child or family support (support) or

maintenance has an overdue support or maintenance iﬂﬁﬁgatmn ecause of a falluiee/

to pays his or her name, social security number, and amount of support or
maintenance owed is posted on a statewide support lien docket.

This bill requires every insurer authorized to do business in this state, before
paying any claim of $500 or more, to verify with DHS that the individual to whom
the claim is to be paid does not owe an amount that was paid under MA incorrectly
or an amount that DHS may recover because of medical assistance provided to
another person (medical assistance liability) and to check the statewide support lien
docket to ensure that the individual does not have an overdue support or

maintenance obligation (support liability). If the individual has a support iability,

the insurer must pay the claim proceeds, up to the amount of the support liabili ,j/
oL }
to DCF. If the individual has @jmedical assistance liability, the insurer must pay the

oL WBCF'

individual has both liabilities, the support liability must be paid ﬁrsf. After any
5 o

-

liability is p;ﬁ,\, the individual is p@ﬁy claim proceeds that remaim

claim proceeds, up to the amount of the}nedical assistance liability, to

7

Y
T ANALYSIS FROM -0401/3 7 ’*‘/W W
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((SEEI’I;;HEALTHANDHUMANSER e

Under current law, the fee for a copy of a birth certificate, death certificate,

marriage certificate, or divorce or annulment certificate (vital record) is $20, {}m

e

i
i

fee for expedited issuance of a copy of a vital record is $2/%Current law reduces fees
for vital records, effective July 1, 2010, to the following amounts, which were in effect
before enactment of the 2007 biennial budget act: for a copy of a birth certificate, $12;
for a copy of a death certificate, marriage certificate, or divorce or annulment

certificate, $7; and for expedited issuance of a copy of a vital record, $10.

This bill repeals the fee reductions for vital records that are scheduled to take

efcton Ty 1, 20005

nder”t’t’i”rré“ﬁ”f” law, the fee for 1ssuanc““‘“”6f“”a “copy of a blrfh“eef@iﬁc&t“”“ls $§O

o W” WMM%/

/

s AT

certificate to $12 effective July 1,2010.

is'bi gx;;?eases the fee for issuance of a copy of a birth certificate to $22 and
oS :

\\ Imcreases the fee for issuance, at the same time, of an addltlonal copy to $5¢’/ 'Eh‘é\b}ll

- .gFinally,

¢
?
/
{
i
i
i
|

;f

S,
T N—
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the bill annually appropriates $155,600§€0 DCF for a foster care public information

campaign and $150,400 to DHS for activities relating to maternal and child health.

% ANALYSIS FROM -0956/2 *%* -
HFALTH /

7 s BBOA Lo By “?g 5&&&» o SOPLoE,

Under current law, with few exis, a patient’s health information must
remain confidential unless the patient gives informed consent to release that
information. Hospitals, physicians, and certain laboratories, however, must report

to DHS information concerning any person diagnosed as having cancer or a

precancerous condition. ﬁs may no\t*@sclose any information th?ﬁs\ould identig;%% |

W \ N A
\
(//"t;e patlent%%xcept to the naﬁg\}nal tumor\;é\éaétry or to a central tumor registry in /,f

\\b\nother state, 1the patient re51des in that stati:}

s 210 &
This b111 allows DHS to disclose to certam researchers otherwise confidential

cancer report information. To obtain the information, a researcher must submit an
application with his or her qualifications, a written research protocol,

documentation of approval of the protocol by an institutional review board, and any

g

information that DHS requests. ] he proposed %gsearch must study cancerr %EE?\Q

é@xéltlon or cancemgontrol DHS may charge a fee for providing inft mation t;\&x

Wm»w.wm
e st

sz\«*""w

Nt
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The bill prohibits the researcher from disclosing the cancer information

obtained from DHS except in certain circumstances. Anyone who discloses a

patient’s confidential cancer information is liable to that patient fora hct

vf s N
Y Syt

KQ aricosts plus exemplarjﬁ\iamages Of up ta $1 OOO for a negiigent vwlatmiand up; ? o
[ ¥ine or
N\ % g % gﬁ?’*@fg@é
; to $5‘%0{)O for an intentional ‘violation. Anynr\}@ dlsclosmg a pa ient’s conﬁ&entlaf it
g ‘ 1nformahon is subject to a fine of\ﬂ‘\15 ,000 or 1mprlsd§ment of not more than one year i
L \ |
%\Q ~in the couﬂ{;y jail or both and is subjkqt to a forfeiture assessed by Dﬂéof up to $1 \Q f

\ for each v1o}’at10n o

\s

ik ANALYSIS FROM -1210/3 ***

BadgerCare Plus (BC+) is a Medical Assistance (MA) program, administered
by DHS, that provides health care benefits undef two different plans, depending on
the basis for a recipient’s eligibility, to recipients who satisfy financial and
nonfinancial eligibility criteria. The first plan provides the same benefits that are
provided under regular MA. The second plan, called the Benchmark Plan, provides
specified benefits to individuals whose family incomes, generally, are higher than the
family incomes of individuals who are eligible for the first plan.

Under current law, DHS is required to conduct a program (childless adults

program) providing health care coverage to adults under the age of 65 who have

ob
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(35
incomes not exceeding 200 percent of the federal poverty line and who are not
otherwise eligible for MA or Medicare. ,

g‘i j /,x
//' /

\fﬁ& Also under current law, DHS administers a program under which DHS 5;{ ?
€3

reimburses eligible individuals who have a human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) & 5o
(3%
lo"o

infection for the cost of the drug azidothymidine (AZT) or other cost-effective %21;&"

s
s 78

alternatives. One of the eligibility criteria is that an individual must have applied

"“a: ——

for coverage under and been denied eligibility for MA within 12 months before

Wé Mw
4 OB

applying for reimbursement.

L

Tdtess—
248 0o,

%

The Health Insurance Risk-Sharing Plan (HIRSP) under current law is,

ch
%';km«m

&

generally, a health insurance program administered by the HIRSP Authority that

(/Q.«_,xw(gd;v\—% [oah) @%’”’%ﬁ (Mﬂ'ﬂggﬁ“‘& {97\4?

provides major medical health insurance coverage for persons who are covered under

Medicare because they are disabled, persons who have tested positive for HIV, and
persons who have been refused coverage, or coverage at an affordable price, in the
private health insurance market because of their mental or physical health

conditions. With a number of exceptions for different types of MA coverageipersons }

who are eligible for MA are not eligible for coverage under HIRSP. é

(=

This bill provides that individuals who are eligible for coverage under the

-

Benchmark Plan under BC+ are not for that reason ineligible for HIRSP. 61;rent }

S

/flaw already provides that individuals who are eligible for the childless adults

S
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/ program are not for that reason ineligible for HIRSP.)The bill also provides that the

N

requirement under the HIV drug reimbursement program, that to be eligible for that
program an individual must have applied for coverage under and been denied
eligibility for MA within 12 months before applying for reimbursement, does not
apply to individuals who are eligible for the childless adults program or the
Benchmark Plan under BC+.

ik ANALYSIS FROM -1590/1 ***

HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVIC : |
HEALTH AND

Under current law, DHS administers a grant program to provide $225,000

£ annually for respite care for individuals with special needs or individuals who are

at risk of abuse or neglect. This bill eliminates the grant program.

*** ANALYSIS FROM -1458/3 ***

Under current law, DHS, and its attached entities, must make certain
recommendations, collect certain information, and submit certain reports to the
legislature and various other state entities. This bill eliminates the requirement to
make recommendations regarding physical disabilities and hunger prevention, the
requirement to collect information on hospital newborn hearing screenings, and the
requirement to submit reports on the following subjects: the impact of the

relocations of residents of state centers for the developmentally disabled on state
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employees, motor vehicle use by physically disabled persons, hunger prevention, the
Badger Care Program, medical assistance certified pharmacists, care and service
facilities, nursing home Class A violations, rehabilitation requests under the
caregiver background requirements, the Birth to 3 Program, activities related to
treatment of alcoholism, the state emergency medical services plan, statewide
immunization, newborn hearing screening, birth defect surveillance, and tobacco

use cessation grants.

kit ANALYSIS FROM -1538/P3 ***
INSURANCE

Independent review

|

adverse,

Under current law, every insurer that issues a group or individual thli}l\g_/

benefit plan must have an internal grievance procedure@er which an insured may ! i .

submit a written grievance and a grievance panel must investigate the grievance }

A sl

; and, if appropriate, take corrective aotioug In addition, every surerw

-

’( group or individual health benefit planimust have an independent review procedure

for @gafter the internal grievance procedure has been exhauste

x

wmw;m‘z@ e

b

S

insurer’s denial of treatment or payment for treatment that the insurer determined

was experimental or to the insurer’s denial, reduction, or termination of a health care

service or payment for a health care service on the basis that the health care service
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did not meet the plan’s requirements for medical necessity, appropriateness, health

care setting, level of care, or effectiveness. An independent review may be conducted

fom,

only by an independent review organization that has been certified by the

Commissioner of Insurance (commissioner).

e Tos

The bill adds the rescission of a policy or certificate and a coverage denial

~
i
‘V\_ﬁé

determination based on a preexisting condition exclusion to the types of adverse

decisions that are eligible for review under a group or individual health benefit plan’s

prasp

independent review procedure. The bill also eliminates the $25 fee that an insured
must pay when requesting an independent review. In addition, the bill requires
every insurer that issues individual health benefit plans to report to the
commissioner annually the number of individual health benefit plans issued by the

insurer in the preceding year and the number of individual health benefit plans with

5 § e Greoteb a2 o

respect to which the insurer initiated or completed a cancellation or rescission in the

precéding year. arf) tﬁw&m w nd W e ’Q‘M L‘a
A PN
Preexisting condition exclusions fﬁ@%(,.,\ e WWM . %;tﬁ"@

Under current law, an insurer may impose a preexisting condition exclusion for

up to two years under an individual health insurance policﬁ;c;e?a group health

insurance policy, a preexisting condition exclusion generally may not exceed one

Q-

yea@dditionally under a group health insurance policy, a \knsurer is limited to
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imposing a preexisting condition exclusion only with respect to conditions for which

an insured received treatment, or for which treatment was recommended, within six

months before the insured’s coverage began.@nder an individual health insurance
)

policy, an insurer is not limited with respect to how long before an insured’s coverage |

began a condition must have existed to be considered a preexisting condition for an

exclusion, and current law does not specify that the insured must have received

treatment, or that treatment must have been recommended, for the condition. Thus,

an insurer is free to impose a preexisting condition exclusion under an individual

health insurance policy for any condition that may have existed at any time during

the insured’s lifetime that the insurer believes the insured should have known

existed or for which the insurngaﬁthﬁmuzgiglguld have sought treatment.

- WWAMWWMMM
—

This bill provides that under an individual health insurance policy, an insurer may
impose a preexisting condition exclusion for up to one year for a condition for which
aninsured received treatment, or for which treatment was recommended, within one

year before the insured’s coverage began.

Modifications at renewal of individual health insurance

With some exceptions, an insurer must renew an individual health insurance
policy at the option of the insured. At renewal, the insurer may modify the policy

form on a uniform basis among all individuals with coverage under that policy form.
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The bill requires an insurer, at renewal of an individual health insurance policy and

at the request of the insured, to issue(com le coverage to the insured that the
L coVEoag corte~Fg GW%“% T

insurer currently offers that has more limited benefits or a higher deductible or to

provide a higher deductible under the insufed’s current coverage. § If the insurer

R it e

it S

/~ issues the alternative coverage, the insurer may not rate the coverage for any health j

/
i
status that did not apply when the insured applied for the original coverage.g;/
=
insurer issuing individual policies)must annually mail to each insured under an

individual policy issued by the insurer a notice that informs the insured of his or her

right to elect alternative coverage and that describes the alternatives dvailable to the
a - e@%ﬁd the procedure for electing the alternative coverage.

Uniform application for individual health insurance

The bill requires the commissioner to promulgate rules prescribing uniform

, -
questions and the format for individual health insurance policy application

may not be more than ten pages long‘{{éfter the effective date of the rules Jall insurers

Y, offermg individual health insurance policies must us@escrlbed quest@ﬁd
an application for such a pohc¥)/‘§g‘€)‘}1

Dependent coverage

Current law contains a number of provisions related to coverage of dependents

under health insurance polichple, a health insurer must cover a newly

/
}

G /
<born child of an insured from the moment of birth, but may discontinue coverage /
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(pren o rogpnts

/after 60 days if the insured does not noti

& a the insurer of the birth and pay any |
! i ‘ I
£ )i F,
%% i @iitional premium within those 60 days. If a health insurer ;éovers a child of an
; %Q | insured{t/h; health insurer mus} alsxi]bover any child of the insured’s child until the
4%

@%OE ‘z insured’s child is 18 years 01 If a health msurer covers depeﬁdents up to a certé;1<§/
% (@Q&ﬂth msurermrfe‘fﬁlﬁgg’(?;erage ofa dependent child who reaches

that agélif, and while, the child is incapable of self-sustaining employment because

) of mental retardation or physical handicap and is dependent on the insured for

/
~_ support and mainteﬁirff;@ health insurer covers a person as a dependent because"g/

i

e

ﬂ}:e person is a full-time student, the health insurer must continue to cover that

r
e
"‘"'w%

person if he or she ceases to be a full-time student due to a medically necessary leave

of absence until the happening of one of a number of specified events, such as the

R —————_

person’s obtaining other health care coverage or reaching the age at which coverage

ends under the terms of the policy for a dependent who is covered because he or she > )

is a full-time student.' Current law, however, does not require a health insurer to

4 T Stoples,

cover a dependent of an insured up to any particular age or/because a dependent is

a full-time student.
Under this bill, a health insurer that provides coverage for dependents must
cover any child of an insured if the child is unmarried, is under 27 years old, does not

have other health care coverage, and is not employed full time by an employer that
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offers health care coverage to its employees. The coverage requirement applies to all
types of individual and group health insurance policies and plans, including those
offered by the state, and to self-insured health plans of counties, cities, villages,

towns, school districts, and the state.
TNS =N
\a2\Y *xx ANALYSIS FROM -1658/P3 ***

per PrK
INSURANCE =

Under current law, a care management organization is certified by and

contracts with DHS to administer the Family Care Prograﬁhéggamily e!
i W P
i

N
@prowdes financial as31stance for long—term care to ehglble 1nd1v1dual

oSS

m&ﬁg}wffﬁﬁ elder or a persdh who is at least 18 years old w1th ap smal‘ )
= N AN Sy
\xd1sa —

blhty ora developmental disability. IR

m
&’;'ﬂ" h’*

F&mé 3*5:&}”@.
This bill reqmres that, in order to provide, {semces a care management
'{;;\asr &GES et a@ ?*{OV aci& ?ﬂmf& or aiiﬁ’f ?ﬁ*‘%&ﬁf{h&g%

orgamzatlon( must also obtain a perm1t from OCJ If‘ a care }Qanagement \[(\

; ‘K \
/7~ orgamzatlon admlmsters a program- that includes pr1mary or acute med\lagl care

[ ~ . ’x \ ‘a J
?j . M . "s. . '\ . %* . R . ‘&* ;
§§ E&gmes, then“~that orgamzatmn is already subject to oversight by OCI and is not /

\
\L reqmre&{o obtain a permlt P

4

R e

To obtain a permit, the care management organization must submit an
application to the commissioner of insurance (commissioner) containing certain
information. The commissioner may issue the permit if, after consulting with DHS,

the commissioner finds that 1) the care management organization has met all

D



LRB-1897/P1

...........

2009 - 2010 Legislature ~189-

requirements of law, 2) the directors, principal officer, or any controlling person are
trustworthy and competent to engage in the proposed services, and 3) the care
- management organization’s business plan is consistent with the interests of Family
Care Program enrollees and the public. Under certain circumstances, the
commissioner may revoke or suspend the permit.

With respect to oversight and enforcement of laws on care management
organizations, the commissioner has powers under the bill similar to those granted
to oversee and enforce laws on insurance companies. Care management
organizations that have a permit are subject to requirements under the bill similar

354
1 ah

to requirements in current law applicable to insurance companiesﬂ{tequ}r@ments
. \ e e

¢

f “;ipplicablé\gto care %i‘xa%nagement organizatioxTS\\include\¥5}$omplying with the
N ‘*» e i ~ -

Nb%‘" e s M‘(\\AMWWW(MM,\“M

L

commissioner’s request for reports, submitting to examinations and audits, paying
the costs of examination, complying with rules promulgated by OCI, reporting
transactions with affiliates of the care management organization, and reporting
changes in ownership or management of the care management organization to OCI.
A care management organization with a permit must also make a monetary deposit,

which is assessed in an amount determined by DHS to pay for services on behalf of

an insolvent or financially hazardous care management organization.

al
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The bill also requires that Family Care Program enrollees not be held liable for

/y»ww““”' [ {
/ ~—~ D
any obligations of the care management organization. pthex\gntltles may né\t bill or\\

b
i

[/ 0tl3erw1sNry to hold the \Enrollee respo ible for the\@@:e management

N {WW e

s
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kY

E\E orgam;z\nens obhgatlons /
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ik ANALYSIS FROM -0389/2 *** g

- INSURANCE S S

s s

Under current law, /an rance companles mu‘s& notlfy OCI of the‘g\pipomtments,

m

N\ eacs
@%, and terminations of insurance agents selhng policies on their behalf f{or K A

Al inSurane ag«?ﬁ%
notification @n appointment and eachyrenewal of ankippomtment the insurance

of

Il
company must pay to OCI a fee that is set by the commissioner@ rule but which may

¢

fot more than $24 for a nonresident

/,,:/‘M . gg&v 3 {}X 4 é .
/{h & (Q‘Eg‘k &&ﬁw ﬁé, ”{{Q‘i’@i ﬁ%f 5 E
PN S

not @more than $8 for a resident agent and

agent. 7 @éﬁj‘

o
e e

e

S

( ) .
~This bill eliminates the maximum fee leveI( etains the reqﬁment thaN;\he

/" commissioner set the appom‘tment fees by fp‘de and requires that the fees be paid ét\

"\x tlmes ana\under procedures se by the commi 10ner : e
— S Arelyss for = RGBTSR @
i - , #++ ANALYSIS FROM -1606/2 ***
JUSTICE {—ijiwm LAW QMF@QCQ%EN‘E‘]

Under current law, a law enforcement agency must collect information
concerning each person that the law enforcement agency arrests or takes into
custody, if the person has committed certain offenses or is a fugitive from justice. The

information that the law enforcement agency must collect includes the person’s

TEIN



=
\26( CAsx ~YL vas gy
& 2009=2010Legislature -9- ALL:KE:
4? \}.ﬁb( [ Qf*’)f Qi\&w (gf\ g’(«:’(kff\& &M&/\' QGC\e\F/ M“‘”/ ?(Q‘v éﬁ Sy Bt awen
Cave cage %-;\ * '\}’i’ WM\:&*& Cremd Poned o “Np =i s RN Q}?ﬁv\éﬁ X (\N&‘\ﬁuﬁ_'

of a decedent’s interest in a vehicle to his or her surviving spouse. Also under curren
wwith an exception, DOT must transfer-a decedent’s interest in a vehicle4g his
or her surviving spouse upon receipt of the title executed by the surviving-spouse and
a statement By~the spouse that includes specified information.
Under this bill~a domestic partner is provided the safhe privileges as a
surviving spouse for purposes of these motor vehicle trapsfér provisions.

NATURAL RESOURCES \
OTHER NATURAL-RESOURCES

Under current law, with an exception, DNR must transfer a decedent’s interest
in a boat to his or her surviyiag spouse upon receipt of-the title executed by the
surviving spouse and an affidavit by the spouse that includes specified information,

Under this bif]" a domestic partner is provided the same privileges as
Se for purposes of these boat transfer provisions.

The bill authorizes fraternal benefit societies to provide insurance coverage to
the domestlc partners of fraternal members -

Under current law, no insurer may cancel or refuse to issue or renew an
automobile insurance policybeeause-af a person’s marital status. This bill prohxbxts
an insurer from cancelling or refusing to issue or renew such a policy
domestic partnership status.

- EDUCATION

HIGHER EDUCATION

nder current law, no student may be denied admissiefi to, participation in, or
the bené any service, program, course, or facili the University of Wisconsin
System or of the chnical College System b se of the student's marital status.
a student’s domestic partnershlp status.

AL REGULATION S T

solely because of marifal status. This bill prohibits those individuals from treating
a person unequatly solely because of domestic partnership status.

Becays¢ this bill relates to an exemption™from state or local taxes, it may be
referredAo the Joint Survey Committee on Tax Exemptions for a report to be printed
A appendix to the bill.

Because this bill relates to public employee retirement_or pensions, it may be
- referred to the Joint Survey Committee on Retirement Systéms for a report to be
printed as an appendix to the bill.

Gond




s,
i

LRB-1897/P1

2009 - 2010 Legislature -191-

‘ ﬁng‘e’rprints, photographs of the person’s face and profile, and other available

identifying data. The information collected must be forwarded to DOJ, which
maintains the information for various law enforcement and reporting purposes.
This bill requires a law enforcement agency to collect the following information

concerning motor vehicle stops made in any county having a population of 125,000

and race of the operator of the motor vehicle (if the operator’s race is not available
through an electronic database or similar source, the officer must subjectively
determine the operator’s race as being Caucasian, African American, Hispanic,
American Indian or Alaska Native, or Asian or Pacific Islander); 2) the reason for the
motor vehicle stop; 3) the make and year of the motor vehicle; 4) the date, time, and
location of the motor vehicle stop; 5) whether or not a law enforcement officer
conducted a search of the motor vehicle, the operator, or any passenger and, if so,
whether the search was with consent or by other means; 6) the name, address,
gender, and race of any person searched; and 7) the name and badge number of the
officer making the motor vehicle stop.

The information that is collected under the bill concerning motor vehicle stops
is not subject to inspection or copying as a public record. The information, however,

must be submitted to DOJ, which must then compile and analyze it, along with any



T

2009 - 2010 Legislature -192 - LRB-1897/P1

other relevant information, to determine, both for eachlaw éﬁforcement agency and
as an aggregated total for all law enforcement agencies in populous counties,
whether the number of stops and searches involving motor vehicles operated or
occupied by members of a racial minority are disproportionate compared to the
number of stops and searches involving motor vehicles operated or occupied solely
by persons who are not members of a racial minority. The determination of whether
the number of stops and searches invoiving racial minorities is disproportionate
must be based on an estimate of the population and characteristics of all persons
traveling on highways in populous counties, on an estimate of the populations and
characteristics of persons traveling on highways in populous counties who are

violating a law or ordinance, or on some other relevant population estimate. If DOJ

finds that the number of stops and searches involving racial minorities is

V"disproportionate compared to the number of stops and searches involving

nonminorities, DOJ must then determine whether that disproportion is the result
of racial profiling, racial stereotyping, or other race-based discrimination or
selective enforcement.

DOJ must prepare an annual report that summarizes the information
submitted to it by law enforcement agencies and that describes the methods and

conclusions of its analysis of the information. DOJ must also promulgate rules to
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implement the information coliecﬁon requiremeﬁt cré ated m thé bﬂl,mcludmg rules k ;
prescribing a form for use in obtaining the information and estéblishing a schedule
for submitting the information obtained to DOJ.

Under current law, no person may be appointed as a law enforcement officer
unless the person has been certified by the Law Enforcement Standards Board
(LESB) after completing a training program approved by LESB. Currently, LESB
may establish minimum educational and training standards for law enforcement
ofﬁcers and minimum curriculum requirements for Iaw’enforcement officer training
programs. Current law also contains specific requirements for law enforcement
training programs, including the requirements that the programs provide training
to enable officers to deal effectively with domestic abuse incidents and training on
police pursuit standards.

This bill requires law enforcement training programs to provide training
concerning cultural diversity, including sensitivity toward racial and ethnic
differences. The training must be designed to prevent the use of race, racial profiling,
racial stéreotyping, or other race-based discrimination or selection as a basis for
detaining, searching, or arresting a person or for otherwise treating a person

differently from persons of other races and must emphasize the fact that the primary
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purposes of enforcement of traffic regulations are safety and equal and uniform

enforcement under the law

e ANALYSIS FROM -0306/P2 e

Under current law, DOJ charées }ﬁrearlﬁé /deaiers an $8 fee to conduct a
firearms restrictions record search. A firearms restrictions record search includes
a criminal history record search and a search to determine if the person who wishes
to purchase a firearm is prohibited from doing so under state law. No firearms dealer
may sell a firearm to a person until 48 hours have elapsed since the dealer submitted
a request to DOJ to perform the search and DOJ has not informed the dealer that
the person may not purchase a firearm.

This bill increases the fee for a firearms restrictions record search from $8 to

~ $30.

*%% ANALYSIS FROM -0328/1 ***
Under current law, when a court imposes penalty or places a person on

probation for a violation of state law or a local ordinance, the court generally must
also impose a surcharge of $8 for crime laboratories and drug law enforcement. This

bill increases the surcharge to $13.

#x% ANALYSIS FROM -0308/P2 ***

Under current law, DOJ must ose a fee for a criminal history search that

is not related to criminal justice or to a handgun purchase DOJ must impose a $2 fee
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for each search requested by a nonprofit organization and a $5 fee for each search

requested by a governmental agency. This bill changes the fee to $7 for each search

requested by a nonprofit organization or a governmental agency.

*#% ANALYSIS FROM -1374/2 *%*
JUSTICE
mfnder current law, most persons who are ordered by a state or mug@ﬂ%ourt
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to pay a ﬁné\@g forfeiture must also pay a penalty surcharge qu,aff’y 26 percent of
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the fine or forfeitﬁtgz. The penalty surcharge receipts are appropriated to DOJ to
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LOCAL GOVERNMENT | /@F

Under current law, local levy limits are applied to the property tax levies that

are imposed in December 2007 and 2008. Current law prohibits any ci’ty, villaﬂge,,
town, or county (political subdivision) from increasing its levy by a percentage that
exceeds its “valuation factor,” which is defined as the greater of either 2 percent or
the percentage change in the political subdivision’s equalized value due to new
construction, less improvements removed, except that for 2007 the levy limit is 3.86
percent. In addition, the calculation of a political subdivision’s levy does not include
any tax increment that is generated by a tax incremental district.

This bill extends the levy limits to the property tax levies that are imposed in

& Y004 And o lO
‘# December 2009 and 2010, and increases the w‘{ limit to the greater of either 3

percent or the percentage change in the political subdivision’s equalized value due
to new construction less improvements removed. Also under the bill, the base
amount of a political subdivision’s levy, on which the levy limit is imposed, is the
maximum allowable levy for the immediately preceding year.

*** ANALYSIS FROM -1693/1 ***
BOCAL-GOVERNMENT —
This bill authorizes a first class city (presently only Milwaukee) to issue
appropriation bonds on a one-time basis, other than refunding bonds, to pay all or

any part of the city’s unfunded prior service liability with respect to an employee

retirement system of the city. “Appropriation bonds” is defined as any bond, note, or
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other obligation of a city issued as provided in the bill to evidence the city’s obligation
to repay borrowed money that is payable from various sources, including the
following:

1. Moneys annually appropriated by the city for debt service due with respect
to the appropriation bonds.

2. Proceeds of the sale of the appropriation bonds.

3. Investment earnings on the items listed above.

Before the city may issue appropriation bonds, however, the city must enact an
ordinance to implement a five-year strategic and financial plan related to the
payment of unfunded employee retirement benefits. The financial plan shall provide
that future annual pension liabilities are funded on a current basis, and the financial
plan must contain quantifiable benchmarks to measure compliance with the plan.
Annually, the common council must report to the legislature, DOR, DOA, and the
governor on a number of issues related to the appropriation bonds, including the
city’s progress in meeting the benchmarks, whether the city fully funds the normal
cost contribution for its employee retirement system and the amount that the
actuary determines is the city’s required contribution to that system. If the city does
not fully fund the lower of either the required cost contribution for a particular year

or the normal cost for that year, DOR must reduce and withhold from the city’s shared
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revenue payments the difference between its required cost contribution and the
amount the city actually contributes to the system for that year. DOR must deposit
the withheld amount into the city’s employee retirement system.

The bill states that a first class city is not generally liable for appropriation
bonds, and appropriation bonds are not a debt of the city for any purpose whatsoever.
Appropriation bonds, including the principal and interest payments, are payable
only from amounts that the common council may, from year to year, appropriate.

A similar statute applies to a county with a population of 500,000 or more
(presently only Milwaukee county).
wxx ANALYSIS FROM -1093/3 ***

This bill requires DOR to impose annually an administrative fee of $150 on each
tax incremental district (TID) or environmental remediation TID (ERTID) for which

DOR authorizes the allocation of a tax increment. The fee is imposed on the city,

village, or town (municipality) that created the TID or on the municipality or county

that created the ERTID, and the political subdivision ernwhieh-the feeis‘imposed is
Dre D0b—imposed fer
//é F)L? required to pa by May 15 Mé\kyBGRG
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NATURAL RESOURCES

FISH, GAME, AND WILDLIFE ;
Under current law, if a court imposes a fine or forfeiture for a violation of certain

laws regulating hunting, fishing, or trapping, or for a violation of other laws
regulating wild animals, the court must also impose a wildlife violator compact

> surcharge of $5. MMS coected

by the court mﬁ?ﬁﬁ tolthe county -

surcharge to $20.

*kx ANALYSIS FROM -1368/2 ***

ATURAL RESOURCES ~Q_
N ISH, GAME, AND WILDLIFE

Under the wildlife damage claim program, DNR makes payments to any

e

eligible person for damage to the person’s crops, orchard trees, nursery stock, me-y

4

apiaries, or livestock caused by certain wild animals. A claimant is not entitled to

receive a wildlife damage payment if the amount of the claim is $250 or less. &1
f&ﬁ% ‘ 0 m o, e h

the clalm %$500 o
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each claim.

*xk ANALYSIS FROM -1310/3 ***
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NATURAL RESOURCES

FISH, GAME, AND WILDLIFE

Under current law, DNR and the Lac du Flambeau band of the Lake Superior
Chippewa (band) have in effect an agreement under which the band agrees to limit
its treaty-based, off-reservation rights to fish, in exchange for the band being able
to issue DNR fishing licenses and stamps as an agent of DNR. The band may retain
all of the fees that the band collects for these fishing licenses and stamps.

For licenses and stamps not issued by the band but issued by other DNR agents
within the boundary of the band’s reservation, current law authorizes, but does not

{; ‘ require, DNR to make an annual payment to the band that equals what the band
would receive if it had issued those licenses and stamps (reimbursement amount,).
In addition to this payment, DNR currently makes a mandatory annual payment of
$50,000, which must be used for fishery management on the reservation. A@VQ
the@m&@mﬁ@mwpmmmmamwh
by thestate pursuant toIndian gaming compacts. Ifithe-amount avaijlable fromthe
appropriated gaming revenues (appropriated amount), after making the mandatory.
p,ayment,lilaﬁs“tha’mtherelmbursegznt amount; the remaining reimbursement.

amount-is paid to the band from separate moneys appropriated. from the /

conservation fund..
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