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Nelson, Robert P.

To: Peterson, Eric
Subject: 09-1443: OWI draft 3 e % 17 //Ag

Eric,

These are the questions | have regarding the OWI draft:

1. is this draft for your office and Sen. Decker wants a dupiicate, ér just do one draft? / o L
y P )\NWDJ ﬂ A7 Seco sl €~

2. You want {o have a statewide expansion of Winnebago Co. pilot but also want no sunset on the Winnebago Co. pilot. i couid
not find a sunset on that pilot. Is there one somewhere? Also, if there is a statewide expansion of that pilot program, there will no
longer be a Winnebago Co. pilot to worry about a sunset. Am | missing something?

3. You requested that [IDs be mandatory for 3rd offense or for 2nd offense if BAC is .16 or more. But, s. 343.301 (1) (a) 2. seems
to make them mandatory now for 2nd and later offenses within a 5-year period, regardless of BAC level. | don't understand. Or,
are you asking that the language about immobilization at the end of s. 343.301 (1) (a) 2. be removed because it provides an
exception to installing an 11D?

Robert P. Nelson
Senior Legislative Attorney
608-267-7511

#

; ) o A - | 4
;é?fe% :i/ s L 4 %‘j{f’% Rl e “ree

01/13/2009
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Nelson, Robert P.

From: Sobotik, John - DOT [john.sobotik@dot.state.wi.us]
Sent:  Tuesday, January 13, 2009 4:37 PM

To: Nelson, Robert P.

Subject: RE: Ignition interlock

No, there is no error. The 1. provision was Wisconsin law before the feds started in on |IDs. The 2. provision
complies with federal requirements.

The feds consider someone a repeater if they EVER had 2 offenses in a 5-year period. So, if you have a prior in
1989 and another in 1991 and get caught today, you are a federal repeater, and the 2. provision applies to you.
It could be that you have a prior in 2005 and get caught today. You have only 1 prior, but you have 2 in a 5-year
period and you are therefore a federal repeater.

Btw, did you know that the mandatory 1 year hard suspension provisions were repealed?
| have NOT been watching for regulatory changes tied to this change.
If you want the statutory and regulatory cites and legislation, let me know.

- John

John Sobotik

Asst. General Counsel

Wisconsin Dept. of Transportation
4802 Sheboygan Avenue, Room 115B
P.O. Box 7910

Madison, W1 53707-7910

Phone: (608) 267 9320

Fax: (608) 267 6734

From: Nelson, Robert P. [mailto:Robert.Nelson@legis.wisconsin.gov]
Sent: Tuesday, January 13, 2009 10:30 AM

To: Sobotik, John - DOT

Subject: Ignition interlock

John,

| hope you and your family are happy and warm. | have been convinced to help with DD drafts and need some advice/clarification.
Sorry.

S. 343.301 (1) (a) 1. and 2. confuse me. 1. says that the court may order an |ID installed if the person has one or more priors in the
person’s lifetime, which seems to mean that for a 2nd offense, the court has discretion to order an 1D installed. But, 2. says the
court shall order an IID installed if the person has 2 or more convictions...("prior" omitted) within any 5-year period. That also sounds
like a 2nd offense. Is the only difference the 5-year period between a mandatory and discretionary IID installation. Or is the failure to
add “"prior" a drafting error?

Another question: what happens after the court orders an 11D installed and the offender does not pay the installer?

Bob Nelson

Senior Legislative Attorney
608-267-7511

01/14/2009



/ ,; ? . (= R =}
State of Wisconsin
2009 - 2010 LEGISLATURE LRB-1443/P1
RPN:A:...

-

ch\,

PRELIMINARY DRAFT - NOT READY FOR INTRODUCTION
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1 AN ACT ... relating to: operation of a motor vehicle while undef the 1ri\tguence o ‘}/

2 an intoxicantf/ one P('O\)id‘lﬁj ?’ W\% g \\\ \ﬂy

§
H
1
!
E

YO A 7% £ / « %/ﬁ
Analysis by the Legislative Reference Bureau

This bill makes numerous change?re ated to the operation ‘Qf a motor vihicle

while under the influence of an intoxicdnt; including the following;:
1. Current law gives tfi couirt discretion to require the install of
mterlock device on a persons motor vehlcle 1f the perso X

ignition

Aec >

V)

motor vehicle. This bill requlres the court to order thernstallatlon of tion
interlock device on a person’s motor vehicle if the person has a élon
suspension, or revocation for OWI within any‘{)erlocgor if the person has a %;g)‘
conviction, suspension, or revocation for OWI within any period and had @"“alco ol
concentration of 0. 16‘61" greater at the time of the current offense.

2. The bill requires the court, if it orders the installation of an 1gn}t10n interlock
device, to determine the income of the violator, and if the violator’sincome is less
than the income limit for the‘{\;lsconsm Works I’rogram to reduce the amount of the
fine imposed by the amount necessary to pay for the installation and maintenance
of the ignition interlock device.

3. The bill prohibits the company that equips a motor vehicle with an ignition
interlock device from removing the device or terminating the contract for the
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‘&é maintenance of the device during the period that the court ordered without first

' receiving the goqrt’s permission. %\'\f‘ o 0s LHrons
é\%ﬁ 4. The bill increases the pegalties for OWI 7
S A W a. The penalty for a OWI offense is currently a fine of $600 to $2,000
and)30 days to one‘Srear in jail. Under the billyif the person has a third OWI-related
convictiond, suspensioné',’ or revocation8within a@?—'— %period. the current
isaClass1 felony‘énd creates a minimum finef$600'and a minimum imprisonment
of eﬂ‘ﬁays. ouSYS y, v
— b. The penalty for a OWI offense is cufrgntly a fine of $600 to $2,000
/:}Z) and)}60 days to one”year in jail. The bill makes the OWI offense a‘Class I felony
|n5€ A and creates a minimum fine of $600%ind a minimym imprisonment of GO“aays.
;ga’i : The bill requires the Judicial Commission“to establish advisory sentencing
&« J guidelines for OWI offenses and make those guidelines and any revisions available
‘f,(\S to judges and attorneys at least annually. o
ﬁﬁL 6 The bill prohibits the Department of Regulation and Licensin; from denying an J
application for an initial credential or cre(‘:}ential renewal or ¥€vokda credentialif the

/—/ credential jlpplicant or holder has anYOWI-related conviction, suspension, or
revocation¥unless the conviction, suspension, or revocation occurred while ths,
applicant or holder of the credential was acting within the scope of the credential.

J Because this bill creates a new crime or revises a penalty for an existing crime,
the Joint Review Committee on Criminal Penalties may be requested to prepare a
report concerning the propysed penalty and the costs or savings that are likely to
result if the bill is enacted.

For further information see the state and local Tiscal estimate, which will be
printed as an appendix to this bill.

— ¥ The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do

f

enact as follows:

SEcTION 1. 343.301 (1) (a) 1. of the statutes is amended to read:

343.301 (1) (a) 1. Except as provided in subd. 2. and 3‘/, if a person improperly

refuses to take a test under s. 343.305 or violates s. 346.63 (1) or (2), 940.09 (1), or

2
3
4 940.25, and the person has a total of one or more prior convictions, suspensions, or
5 revocations, counting convictions under ss. 940.09 (1) and 940.25 in the person’s
6

lifetime and other convictions, suspensions, and revocations counted under s.

7 343.307 (1), the court may order that the person’s operating privilege for the

&

O
&
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SECTION 1

operation of “Class D” vehicles be restricted to operating “Class D” vehicles that are

equipped with an ignition interlock device.

History: 1999 a. 109; 2001 a. 16 ss. 3417m to 3420t, 4060gj, 4060hw, 4060hy; 2001 a. 104.

SECTION 2. 343.301 (1) (a) 2. of the statutes is amended to read:

343.301 (1) (a) 2. K Except as provided in subd. 3{ if a person improperly
refuses to take a test under s. 343.305 or violates s. 346.63 (1) or (2), 940.09 (1), or

- 940.25, and the person has a total of 2 or more convictions, suspensions, or

revocations, counted under s. 343.307 (1) within any 5-year period, the court shall
order that the person’s operating privilege for the operation of “Class D” vehicles be
restricted to operating vehicles that are equipped with an ignition interlock device
and shall order that each motor vehicle for which the person’s name appears on the
vehicle’s certificate of title or registration be equipped with an ignition interlock
device. If equipping each motor vehicle with an ignition interlock device under this
subdivision would cause an undue financial hardship, the court may order that one
or more motor vehicles subject to this subdivision not be equipped with an ignition
interlock device. This subdivision does not apply if the court enters an order under
sub. (2) (a) 2. or, if the person has 2 or more prior convictions, suspensions, or
revocations for purposes of this subdivision, to the motor vehicle owned by the person
and used in the violation or refusal if the court orders the vehicle to be seized and

forfeited under s. 346.65 (6).

History: 1999 a. 109; 2001 a. 16 ss. 3417m to 3420t, 4060gj, 4060hw, 4060hy; 2001 a. 104. -

SECTION 3. 343.301 (1) (a) 3. of the statutes is created to read:

v
343.301 (1) (a) 3. If a person improperly refuses to take a test under s. 343.305

v v <
or violates s. 346.63 (1) or (2), 940.09 (1), or 940.25‘,’and the person has a total of @2’

or more prior convictions, suspensions, or revocations, counted under s. 343.307 (1)’

or the person has a prior conviction, suspension, or revocation counted under s.
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SECTION 3
1 343.307 (1) and has an alcohol concentration of 0.16 or more at the time of the current
2 offense, the court shall order that the person’s operating privilege for the operation
3 of “Class D” vehicles be restricted to operating vehicles that are equipped with an
4 ignition interlock device and shall order that each motor vehicle for which the
5 person’s name appears on the vehicle’s certificate of title{r registration be equipped
6 with an ignition interlock device.\/If equipping each motor vehicle with an ignition
7 interlock device under this subdivision‘évould cause an undue financial hardship, the
8 court may order that one or more motor vehicles subject to this\éubdivision not be

9 equipped with an ignition interlock device\./ This subdivision does not apply if the

v o .
10 court enters an order under sub. (2) (a) 2. or, if the person has 2"2)1' more prior
11 convictions, suspensions, or revocations for purposes of this subdivision\,'{co the motor
12 vehicle owned by the person and used in the violation or refusal if the court orders

13 the vehicle to be seized and forfeited under 5%346.65 (6).

14 SECTION 4. 343.301 (1) (c) of the statutes is renumbered\é43.301 1) () 1.

15 SECTION 5. 343.301 (1) (¢) 2. of the statutes is created to read:

16 343.301 (1) (c) 2. If the court enters an order under par.\/(a), the court shall
17 determine the amount of the person’s income, and, if the person’s income is less than
18 the income limitations in s.\/49.145 (3) (b), the court shall reduce any fine imposed

v
upon the person as a result of his or her conviction under s. 346.63 (1) or (2), 940.09\/

20 (1), or 940.25 by the amount necessary to pay for the installation and maintenance
21 of the ignition interlock device’

22 SEcTION 6. 343.301 (1) (cm)\éf the statutes is created to read:

23 343.301 (1) (cm) The company that equips the ignition interlock device on a

24 motor vehicle may not remove the device or terminate the contract for the
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SECTION ©

maintenance of the device during the period that the court ordered under par%b)

without the court’s permission.

SECTION 7. 346.65 (2) (am) 3. of the statutes is amended to read:

346.65 (2) (am) 3. Except as provided ir}/subd.%m[.&and pars. (cm), (f), and (g),
shall be fined not less than\éGOO nor more than $2,000 and imprisoned for not less
than SO\éays nor more than one year in the county jail if the number of convictions
under ss. 940.09 (1) and 940.25 in the person’s lifetime, plus the total number of
suspensions, revocations, and other convictions counted under s. 343.307 (1), equals
3,\/except that suspensions, revocations, or convictions arising out of the same

incident or occurrence shall be counted as one.

History: 1971 c. 278; 1973 ¢. 218; 1977 c. 193; 1979 c. 221; 1981 c. 20; 1985 a. 80, 337; 1987 a. 3, 27, 398, 399; 1989 a. 105, 176, 271; 1991 a. 39, 251, 277, 315; 1993
a. 198, 317, 475; 1995 a. 44, 338, 359, 425; 1997 a. 27, 135, 199, 237, 277, 283, 295; 1999 a. 32, 109; 2001 a. 16 ss. 3443k, 4060gm, 4060hw, 4060hy; 2001 a. 109; 2003 a.
33,97, 139, 326; 2005 a. 149, 317, 389; 2007 a. 97, 111.

11
12
13
14
15
©
17
18
19
20
21
22

23

SECTION 8. 346.65 (2) (am) 3m\./of the statutes is created to read:

346.65 (2) (am) 3m. Except as provided in pars. (cm){ (f),‘émd (g):/i's guilty of a
ClassI felony‘énd shall be fined not less than $600€nd imprisoned for not less than
GO\ﬁays if the number of suspensions, revocations, and other convictions counted
under s. 343.307 (1) within a 5—year‘éeriod, equals 3:/ except that suspensions,
revocations)or convictions arising out of the same incident or occurrence shall be
counted as one.

SECTION 9. 346.65 (2) (am) 4. of the statutes is amended to read:

346.65 (2) (am) 4. Except as provided in pars. (f) and (g), is guilty of av(’Jlass I
felony and shall be fined not less than $600 W&M%@Oénd imprisoned

for not less than 60{1ays nor-more-than-one-year-inthe-countyjail if the number of
convictions under ss. 940.09 (1) and 940.25 in the person’s lifetime, plus the total

number of suspensions, revocations and other convictions counted under s. 343.307
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SECTION 9
1 (1), equals 4, except that suspensions, revocations or convictions arising out of the
2 / same incident or occurrence shall be counted as one.
History: 1971 . 278; 1973 ¢. 218; 1977 ¢. 193; 1979 ¢. 221; 1981 ¢. 20; 1985 a. 80, 337; 1987 a. 3, 27, 398, 399: 1989 a. 105, 176, 271; 1991 a. 39, 251, 277, 315; 1993

198, 317, 475; 19954 RS, 359, 425: 1997 a. 27, 135, 199, 237, 277, 283, 295; 1999 a. 32, 109; 2001 a. 16 ss. 3443k, 4060gm, 4060hw, 4060hy; 2001 a. 109; 2003 a.
, 340772005 a. 149, 317, 389; 2007 a. 97, 111.

¥ SECTION 10. 440.122 of the statutes is created to read:
440.122 Credential denial, nonrenewalgand revocation based on
operation of motor st,;hicle while under the influence. Notwithstanding any

\S OnpYes™ OC of
other provision of chs. 44§ t0,480 relating to issuance or renewal of a credential, the

A
7 department may not deny an application for an initial credential or credential
8 renewal or revoke a credential if the credential applicant\ér holder was convicted of
9 an offense counted under s. 343.307 (2)‘4)1‘ whose operating privilege was suspended

10 or revoked as described under s. 343.307 (2) (f)‘/or (g) unless the conviction,

. o ccedesial
@ / suspension, or revocation'occurred while thel;i)plicant or holder ¢fthe credentiallwas

acting within the scope of the credential.

SECTION 11. 758.13 (2) (h)\'{)f the statutes is created to read:
14 758.13 (2) (h) Adopt advisory sentencing guidelines for violations of s. 346.63

: | /
@ (1) or (2{@%640.09 (1), or 940.25 to promote public safety, to reflect changes in

@ sentencing practices.)and to preserve the integrity of the judicial, criminal justice,

17 and correctional systems.
18 SECTION 12. 758.13 (2) (i) of the statutes is created to read:
g QXTOTNEMS
758.13 (2) (i) Provide information to judges and ut the sentencing
Vv
20 guidelines adopted under par. (h), which shall include annual reports that include

21 \/ the most current sentencing guidelines and all changes in existing sentencing

guidelines adopted during the 12\1/nonths preceding the report.

SEcTION 13. Initial applicability.
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SECTION 13

(1) This act first applies to violations committed on the effective date of this
subsection%)ut does not preclude the counting of other convictions, suspensions, or
revocations as prior convictions, suspensions, or revocations for purposes of

administrative action by the department of transportation“(/)r sentencing by a court.

SEcTION 14. Effective date. @
(1) This act takes effect on July 15, 2009,\{)1" he effective date of this\élbsection,

whichever is later.

(END)
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1 AN ACT to repeal 346.65 (8); and to amend 346.65 (2) (bm), 346.65 (2) (cm),
2 346.65 (2j) (bm), 346.65 (2j) (cm) and 346.65 (3r) of the statutes; relating to:

3 drunken driving and creating a penalty.

Anal lysis by the Legmla tive Reference Bureau

s,

a”’"m@tor vehicle with a prohlblted alcohol concentration, or urider the "
ofan intoxicant, a controlled substance or its analog, or any combination

L—

{ & I ? thereof OWH Under that act, the period of imprisonment for an OWT offerise in”
gk%m‘ o~ Winnebago county may be reduced if the violator successfu]ly completes a period of
& probation tiat includes alcohol and other drug treatment” A person may complete

a_treatment program and receive a reduced period of imprisonment only once. SN
This bill expands the sentencing option to any county that opts to allow a
vldlator to successfully complete a period of probation that includes alcohol and other

drug treatment in exchange for a shorter period of imprisonment.

ecause_this bill creates a new crime or revises a pepadty for an existing crime,
the Joint Review Committee on Criminal Penalties prdy be requested to prepare a
report concerning Qe proposed penalty and the gaSts or savings that are likely to
result if the bill is enasged.

The people of the state of Wisc¢
enact as follows:

n, represented in senate and assembly, do



10

11

12

13

14

15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23

24

Q.2 Leoi r o P PO LRB-1188/1
2009 — 2010 Legislature 2 # 6-3 Ou

R PJH:bjk:ph
BILL f; NGet " SECTION 1

SecTION 1. 346.65 (2) (bm)\{)f the statutes is amended to read:

346.65 (2) (bm) In Winnebage-Ceunty any county that opts to offer a reduced

minimum period of imprisonment for the successful completion of a probation period

V.

that includes alcohol and other drug treatmenty if the number of convictions under

ss. 940.09 (1) and 940.25 in the person’s lifetime, plus the total number of
suspensions, revocations, and other convictions counted under s. 343.307 (1) within
a 10-year period, equals 2, except that suspensions, revocations, or convictions
arising out of the same incident or occurrence shall be counted as one, the fine shall
be the same as under par. (am) 2., but the period of imprisonment shall be not less
than 5 days, except that if the person successfully completes a period of probation
that includes alcohol and other drug treatment, the period of imprisonment shall be
not less than 5 nor more than 7 days. A person may be sentenced under this
paragraph or under par. (cm) or sub. (2j) (bm) or (cm) or (3r) once in his or her lifetime.

SECTION 2. 346.65 (2) (cm)\(/::f the statutes is amended to read:

346.65 (2) (cm) In Winaebag&@eumy‘énv county that opts to offer a reduced

minimum period of imprisonment for the successful completion of a probation period
that includes alcohol and other drug treatment, if the number of convictions under

ss. 940.09 (1) and 940.25 in the person’s lifetime, plus the total number of
suspensions, revocations, and other convictions counted under s. 343.307 (1) within
a 10-year period, equals 3, except that suspensions, revocations, or convictions
arising out of the same incident or occurrence shall be counted as one, the fine shall
be the same as under par. (am) 3., but the period of imprisonment shall be not less
than 30 days, except that if the person successfully completes a period of probation

that includes alcohol and other drug treatment, the period of imprisonment shall be
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BILL I & SECTION 2
not less than 10 days. A person may be sentenced under this paragraph or under par.

(bm) or sub. (2j) (bm) or (cm) or (3r) once in his or her lifetime.
SeEcTION 3. 346.65 (2j) (bm)\/of the statutes is amended to read:

346.65 (2j) (bm) In Winnebage-Ceunty any county that opts to offer a reduced

minimum period of imprisonment for the successful completion of a probation period

that includes alcohol and other drug treatment, if the number of convictions under

ss. 940.09 (1) and 940.25 in the person’s lifetime, plus the total number of
suspensions, revocations, and other convictions counted under s. 343.307 (1) within
a lO—yeaf/ period, equals 2, except that suspensions, revocations, or convictions
arising out of the same incident or occurrence shall be counted as one, the fine shall
be the same as under par. (am) 2., but the period of imprisonment shall be not less
than 5 days, except that if the person successfully completes a period of probation
that includes alcohol and other drug treatment, the period of imprisonment shall be
not less than 5 nor more than 7 days. A person may be sentenced under this
paragraph or under par. (cm) or sub. (2) (bm) or (cm) or (3r) once in his or her lifetime.
SECTION 4. 346.65 (2j) (cm) of the statutes is amended to read:

346.65 (2j) (cm) In %ﬁﬂﬂeb&g&@eaﬂ%yénv county that opts to offer a reduced

minimum period of imprisonment for the successful completion of a probation period

that includes alcohol and other drug treatment, if the number of convictions under
ss. 940.09 (1) and 940.25 in the person’s lifetime, plus the total number of
suspensions, revocations, and other convictions counted under s. 343.307 (1) within
a 10-year period, equals 3" or more, except that suspensions, revocations, or
convictions arising out of the same incident or occurrence shall be counted as one, the
fine shall be the same as under par. (am) 3., but the period of imprisonment shall be

not less than 30 days, except that if the person successfully completes a period of

Y
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1 probation that includes alcohol and other drug treatment, the period of

2 imprisonment shall be not less than 10 days. A person may be sentenced under this

paragraph or under par. (bm) or sub. (2) (bm) or (cm) or (3r) once in his or her lifetime.
SECTION 5. 346.65 (3r) of the statutes is amended to read:

346.65 (3r) In Winnebago-County any county that opts to offer a reduced

minimum period of imprisonment for the successful completion of a probation period
7 that includes alcohol and other drug treatment,\ény person violating s. 346.63 (2) or

8 (6) shall be fined the same as under sub.\/(?)m), but the period of imprisonment shall
9 be not less than 30 days, except that if the person successfully completes a period of
10 probation that includes alcohol and other drug treatment, the period of
11 imprisonment shall be not less than 15 days. If there was a minor passenger under
12 16 years of age in the motor vehicle at the time of the violation that gave rise to the
13 conviction under s. 346.63 (2) or (6), the offense is a felony, the applicable minimum
14 and maximum fines or periods of imprisonment for the conviction are doubled and
15 the place of imprisonment shall be determined under s. 973.02. A person may be
16 sentenced under this subsection or under sub. (2) (bm) or (cm) or (2j) (bm) or (cm) once
17 in his or her lifetime.
18 SECTION 6. 346.65 (8)\)(§f the statutes is repealed. |
~ 19 (ENDE J /A }ffé é “i@

——————,
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b

at the time of the violation is liable for the surcharges or fees and must comply with
an alcohol or other drug assessment program before his or her driving privileges may ,

further information see the and local fiscal estimatgzwhich™w(ill be
printed ashag appendix to this bil / /
Wisconsin, reprew and assW \
L4

enact as fpdlows:

SecTION 1. 165.755 (1) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:
165.755 (1) (b) A court may not impose the crime laboratories and drug law

enforcement surcharge under par. (a) for a violation of s. 101.123 (2) (a), (am) 1., (ar),

v

(bm), (br), or (bv) or (5) (b); i i i —23- —30- -

or for a violation of a state law or municipal or county ordinance involving a
nonmoving traffic violation, a violation under s. 343.51 (1m) (b), or a safety belt use
violation under s. 347.48 (2m). ,

SEcTION 2. 302.46 (1) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

302.46 (1) (a) If a court imposes a fine or forfeiture for a violation of state law

or for a violation of a municipal or county ordinance except for a violation of s. 101.123

(2) (a), (am) 1., (ar), (bm), (br), or (bv) or (5)-orfor-afirst-viclation-of s.-23.33-(4¢)-{a)

time-of- the-vielation; or for a violation of state laws or municipal or county ordinances
involving nonmoving traffic violations, violations under s. 343.51 (1m) (b), or safety
belt use violations under s. 347.48 (2m), the court, in addition, shall impose a jail

surcharge under ch. 814 in an amount of } percent of the fine or forfeiture imposed

¥
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SECTION 2

or $10, whichever is greater. If multiple offenses are involved, the court shall
determine the jail surcharge on the basis of each fine or forfeiture. If a fine or
forfeiture is suspended in whole or in part, the court shall reduce the jail surcharge
in proportion to the suspension.

SecTION 3. 343.23 (2) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.23 (2) (b) The information specified in pars. (a) and (am) must be filed by
the department so that the complete operator’s record is available for the use of the
secretary in determining whether operating privileges of such person shall be
suspended, revoked, canceled, or withheld, or the person disqualified, in the interest
of public safety. The record of suspensions, revocations, and convictions that would
be counted under s. 343.307 (2) shall be maintained permanently-except-that-the
department-shall purge-the record-of afirst-violation-of-s.-23.33-(4¢)-{a)-2---30-681-(1)

v
under—s—343-307—duringthat-10-year—period. The record of convictions for

disqualifying offenses under s. 343.315 (2) (h) shall be maintained for at least 10

years. The record of convictions for disqualifying offenses under s. 343.315 (2) (f) and
(). and all records specified in par. (am), shall be maintained for at least 3 years. The
record of convictions for disqualifying offenses under s. 343.315 (2) (a) to (e) shall be
maintained permanently, except that 5 years after a licensee transfers residency to
another state such record may be transferred to another state of licensure of the

licensee if that state accepts responsibility for maintaining a permanent record of

3
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convictions for disqualifying offenses. Such reports and records may be cumulative
beyond the period for which a license is granted, but the secretary, in exercising the
power of suspension granted under s. 343.32 (2) may consider only those reports and
records entered during the 4-year period immediately preceding the exercise of such
power of suspension.
SecTION 4. 343.30 (1q) (c) 1. (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.30 (1q) (¢) 1. (intro.) Except as provided in subd. 1. a. or b., and-exceptfor

v

vielatien,' the court shall order the person to submit to and comply with an
assessment by an approved public treatment facility as defined in s. 51.45 (2) (c) for
examination of the person’s use of alcohol, controlled substances or controlled
substance analogs and development of a driver safety plan for the person. The court
shall notify the def)artment of transportation of the assessment order. The court
shall notify the person that noncompliance with assessment or the driver safety plan

will result in revocation of the person’s operating privilege until the person is in

compliance. The assessment order shall:

SECTION 5. 346.655 (1) of the statutes is amended to read;

346.655 (1) If a court imposes a fine or a forfeiture for a violation of s. 346.63

the-vielation-had-a-bloed-aleohel-concentration-of 0.08 er-more-but-less-than-0.1-at
the-time-of the-vielatien; or a local ordinance in conformity therewith, or s. 346.63
(2) or (6) or 940.25, or s. 940.09 where the offense involved the use of a vehicle, it shall

impose a driver improvement surcharge under ch. 814 in an amount of $365 in

X
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. g’” 3 SECTION 6. 757.05 (l)w(wéi) of the statutes is amended to
4 757.05 (1) (a) Whenever a court imposes a fine or forfeiture for a violation of
) state law or for a violation of a municipal or county ordinance except for a violation

6 of s. 101.123 (2) (a), (am) 1., (ar), (bm), (br), or (bv) or (5), erfor-afirst-viclation-ofs.

{J s %%’ 9 than@%%t—the»&me—eﬁ%he—welaﬁe&\{)r for a violation of state laws or municipal or
g“{;

10 county ordinances involving nonmoving traffic violations, violations under s. 343.51
11 (1m) (b), or safety belt use violations under s. 347.48 (2m), there shall be imposed in
12 addition a penalty surcharge under ch. 814 in an amount of 26 percent of the fine or
13 forfeiture imposed. If multiple offenses are involved, the penalty surcharge shall be
14 based upon the total fine or forfeiture for all offenses. When a fine or forfeiture is
15 suspended in whole or in part, the penalty surcharge shall be reduced in proportion

,ﬁf to the Suspe,,r;g,ignwwgf‘@‘é‘ QS LoD
= S WWVM

i

\yj;”’”“ﬂwwwww ’SE‘CTION 7. 814.63 (1) (c) of the statutes is amended to read:
% 18 814.63 (1) (c) This subsection does not apply to an action for a violation of s.
-

é:{‘ 19 101.123 (2) (a), (am) 1., (ar), (bm), (br), or (bv) or (5), fer-afirstviclation-of-s-23-33

éﬁ% ;

i? }% 20 30 346 : : :
v 21 committed-the violation-had-a-bleed-aleohol-concentration-of 0.08-or- more-but-less
22 . i i ion; Jfor a violation under s. 343.51 (1m) (b), or a
23 safety belt use violation under s. 347.48 (2m).
24 SEcTION 8. 814.63 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:

Y
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814.63 (2) Upon the disposition of a forfeiture action in circuit court for
violation of a county, town, city, village, town sanitary district or public inland lake
protection and rehabilitation district ordinance, except for an action fer-a-first

violation-of s.23.33-(4¢)-(a)-2--30-681-(1)(b)-1-;-346.63-(1)-{b);-0r-350-101-{1)(b),-if the

WWMMFH@MM@W\{OY a violation under s. 343.51 (Im)

(b) or a safety belt use violation under s. 347.48 (2m), the county, town, city, village,
town sanitary district or public inland lake protection and rehabilitation district
shall pay a nonrefundable fee of $5 to the clerk of circuit court.

SECTION 9. 814.65 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:

814.65 (1) Courrt costs. In a municipal court action, except for an action for
afirst vielation-of-§-23.33-(4¢){(a)-2.,-30.681-(1)-(b)-1--346.63-(1)-(b);-or-350.101-(1}
(). if 4] | itted the violation had-a-blosd-aleohol : ¢

YA

for a violation of an

ordinance in conformity with s. 343.51 (Im) (b) or 347.48 (2m), the municipal judge
shall collect a fee of not less than $15 nor more than $28 on each separate matter,
whether it is on default of appearance, a plea of guilty or no contest, on issuance of
a warrant or summons, or the action is tried as a contested matter. Of each fee
received by the judge under this subsection, the municipal treasurer shall pay
monthly $5 to the secretary of administration for deposit in the general fund and

shall retain the balance for the use of the municipality.

SeEcTION 10. 814.85 (1) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

814.85 (1) (a) Except for an action for%%iaﬁe&eﬁ%%&%%#e}%&)—zf,
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H;rwef—%he#m«l&tm&»eﬁi%‘é violation under s. 343.51 (1m) (b) or a safety belt use
violation under s. 347.48 (2m), the clerk of circuit court shall charge and collect a $68
court support services surcharge from any person, including any governmental unit
as defined in s. 108.02 (17), paying a fee under s. 814.61 (1) (a), (3), or (8) (am) or
814.63 (1).

SEcCTION 11. 814.86 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:

814.86 (1) Except for an action for -a-first vielation-of s-23.-33-{4e){a)-2-30.-681

welaﬁeﬂ—ﬂr—fer‘/a violation under s. 343.51 (1m) (b) or a safety belt use violation under

s. 347.48 (2m), the clerk of circuit court shall charge and collect a $12 justice
information system surcharge from any person, including any governmental unit, as
defined in s. 108.02 (17), paying a fee under s. 814.61 (1) (a), (3), or (8) (am), 814.62
(1), (2), or (3) (&) or (b), or 814.63 (1). The justice information system surcharge is in

addition to the surcharge listed in sub. (1m).

g ol g2 2
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Section #. 346.65 (2m) (a) of the statutes is amended to read: - i,, ;@L@ﬂ‘
T
- \M%Mx
346.65 (2m) (a) In imposing a sentence under sub. (2) for a violation of s. 346.63 (1) (am) or (b) 2‘%

or (5) or a local ordinance in conformity therewith, the court shall review the record ;m} conmderg’/ A :{é
ez v s f? ‘*’Zi:f

= The Fe= lFrnors
N -
the. aggravatmg and mitigating factors in the mattegf If the amount of alco‘Hf n the person ’s blood

or urine or the amount of a restricted controlled substance in the person’s blood is known, the court

History: 1971 ¢. 278; 1973 ¢. 218; 1977 ¢. 193; 1979 c. 221; 1981 ¢. 20; 1985 a. 80, 337; 1987 a. 3,27, 398, 399; 1989

a. 105, 176, 271; 1991 a. 39, 251, 277, 315; 1993 a. 198, 317, 475; 1995 a. 44, 338, 359, 425; 1997 a. 27, 135, 199,
237, 277, 283, 295; 1999 a. 32, 109; 2001 a. 16 ss. 3443k, 4060gm, 4060hw, 4060hy; 2001 a. 109; 2003 a. 33, 97, 139,

326; 2005 a. 149, 317, 389; 2007 a. 97, 111.

rnelson2(unx001) Fri—Jan—16-2009 1:29 pm
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Nelson, Robert P.

From: Peterson, Eric

Sent:  Wednesday, January 21, 2009 9:09 AM

To: Nelson, Robert P.

Subject: RE: Draft review: LRB 09-1443/P1 Topic: Drunken driving

Bob:

I just got back from a leadership meeting. I need to have the professional licensure section removed from
the bill draft. Please keep the language around as I will need it drafted as a simple amendment to the bill
when introduced.

Any questions, please call me.

Eric

Eric M. Peterson

Chief of Staff, Senator Lena C. Taylor

Staff Director, Committee on Judiciary, Corrections, Insurance, Campaign Finance Reform, & Housing
Joint Review Committee on Criminal Penalties

608-266-5810

From: Nelson, Robert P.

Sent: Wednesday, January 21, 2009 9:01 AM

To: Peterson, Eric

Subject: RE: Draft review: LRB 09-1443/P1 Topic: Drunken driving

Erric,
OK, sorry for the slip-up. Thanks for reading the anlaysis. | put it in editing last night.

Bob N

From: Peterson, Eric

Sent: Tuesday, January 20, 2009 2:51 PM

To: Basford, Sarah; Nelson, Robert P.

Subject: RE: Draft review: LRB 09-1443/P1 Topic: Drunken driving

Bob:

Can you redraft the bill? The analysis incorrectly says the Judicial Commission is to create Sentencing
Guidelines. It should read the "judicial council".

Thanks,
Eric

01/21/2009
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Eric M. Peterson

Chief of Staff, Senator Lena C. Taylor

Staff Director, Committee on Judiciary, Corrections, Insurance, Campaign Finance Reform, & Housing
Joint Review Committee on Criminal Penalties

608-266-5810

From: Basford, Sarah

Sent; Tuesday, January 20, 2009 1:25 PM

To: Sen.Taylor

Subject: Draft review: LRB 09-1443/P1 Topic: Drunken driving

Following is the PDF version of draft LRB 09-1443/P1.

01/21/2009
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1 AN AC? repeal 346.65 (8); fo renumber 343.301 (1) (¢); to amend 165.755 (1)

(b),/802.46 (1) (a), 343.23 (2) (b), 343.30 (1g) (c) 1. (intro.), 343.301 (1) (a) 12
ﬁ;:’)m (1) (a) 2., 346.65 (2) (am) 3., 346.65 (2) (am) 4., 346.65 (2) (bm), 346.65 |

7

/" (2) (cm), 346.65 (2j) (bm), 346.65 (2j) (cm), 346.65 (2m) (a), 346.65 (3r), 346.655

7
7

(e R————

(1), 757.05 (1) (a), 814.63 (1) (c), 814.63 (2), 814.65 (1), 814.85 (1) (a) and 814.86

(1); and to create 343.301 (1) (a) 3., 343.301 (1) (¢) 2., 343.301 (1) (cm), 346@@
%K\.N,.,.‘..\_M_(Z_}u(,a_}}}}_ﬁ{{}ﬂg_f%fl0-122’ 758.13 (2) (h) and 758.13 (2) (i{Eﬁﬁg"éﬂiéi‘éﬁfég;w;gi;ting

to: operation of a motor vehicle while under the influence of an intoxicant and

v

© 0 = & Ut s W

providing a penalty.

Analysis by the Legislative Reference Bureau

This bill makes numerous changes to the laws related to the operation of a
motor vehicle while under the influence of an intoxicant (OWI), including the
following:

1. Current law gives a court discretion to require the installation of an ignition
interlock device on a person’s motor vehicle if the person @hoJcommitted an OWI
offense and has one or more prior convictions, suspensions, or revocations for OWL.
Under current law, if the person has two convictions, suspensions, or revocations for
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OWI within any five-year period, the court is required to order the installation of an
ignition interlock device on a person’s motor vehicle. This bill requires the court to
order the installation of a ignition interlock device on a person’s motor vehicle if the
person has a third conviction, suspension, or revocation for OWI within any period;
or if the person has a second conviction, suspension, or revocation for OWI within any
period and had an alcohol concentration of 0.16 or greater at the time of the current
offense.

2. The bill requires the court, if it orders the installation of an ignition interlock
device, to determine the income of the violator, and if the violator’s income is less
than the income limit for the Wisconsin Works program to reduce the amount of the
fine imposed by the amount necessary to pay for the installation and maintenance
of the ignition interlock device.

3. The bill prohibits the company that equips a motor vehicle with an ignition
interlock device from removing the device or terminating the contract for the
maintenance of the device during the period that the court ordered without first
receiving the court’s permission.

4. The bill increases the penalties for OWI as follows:

a. The penalty for a third OWI offense is currently a fine of $600 to $2,000 and
imprisonment of 30 days to one year in jail. Under the bill if the person has a third
OWI-related conviction, suspension, or revocation within a five-year period, the
current offense is a Class I felony and creates a minimum fine of $600 and a minimum
imprisonment of 60 days.

b. The penalty for a fourth OWI offense is currently a fine of $600 to $2,000 and
imprisonment of 60 days to one year in jail. The bill makes the fourth OWI offense
a Class I felony and creates a minimum fine of $600 and a minimum imprisonment
of 60 days.

5. 2005 Wisconsin Act 389 created a pilot program for sentencing persons in
Winnebago County who are convicted of certain second or third offenses involving
OWI. Under that act, the period of imprisonment for an OWI offense in Winnebago
County may be reduced if the violator successfully completes a period of probation
that includes alcohol and other drug treatment. A person may complete a treatment
program and receive a reduced period of imprisonment only once. This bill expands
the sentencing option to any county that opts to allow a violator to successfully
complete a period of probation that includes alcohol and other drug treatment in
exchange for a shorter period of imprisonment.

6. Currently, a person who commits his or her first OWI offense and who has
a prohibited alcohol concentration between 0.08 and 0.99 at the time of the offense
is not liable for penalty surcharges or court fees and does not need to comply with an
alcohol or other drug assessment program. Further, the Department of
Transportation (DOT) must purge its records of a first OWI offense after ten years;
DOT keeps all other records of OWI offenses permanently.

Under this bill, a person who commits his or her first OWI offense and who has
a prohibited alcohol concentration between 0.08 and 0.99 at the time of the violation
is liable for the surcharges or fees and must comply with an alcohol or other drug



~ to judges and attorneys at least annually.

/.,% Bl . Y
~“...—Because this bill'treates a new crime or revises a penalty for an existing crime,
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assessment program before his or her driving privileges may be reinstated. Under
this bill, DOT must keep a record of thloffens permanently.

-

nmissionto establish advisory sentencing
guidelines for OWI offenses and make those guid hnes and any revisions available
Q Aeath Ce \\

bil¥prohibits the Department of Rg
an initial credential or cred

the Joint Review Committee on Criminal Penalties may be requested to prepare a
report concerning the proposed penalty and the costs or savings that are likely to
result if the bill is enacted.

For further information see the state and local fiscal estimate, which will be
printed as an appendix to this bill.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do
enact as follows:
SECTION 1. 165.755 (1) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:
165.755 (1) (b) A court may not impose the crime laboratories and drug law

enforcement surcharge under par. (a) for a violation of s. 101.123 (2) (a), (am) 1., (ar),

(bm), (br), or (bv) or (5) (b)forafirst-vielationofs-23.-33-(4e)(a)2-,-30-681 (1) (b)-1;

or for a violation of a state law or municipal or county ordinance involving a

nonmoving traffic violation, a violation under s. 343.51 (1m) (b), or a safety belt use
violation under s. 347.48 (2m).

SECTION 2. 302.46 (1) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

302.46 (1) (a) If a court imposes a fine or forfeiture for a violation of state law

or for a violation of a municipal or county ordinance except for a violation of s. 101.123

(2) (@), (am) 1., (ar), (bm), (br), or (bv) or (5);-orfer-afirst-violation-ofs-23.33-(4e)(a)
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SECTION 2

timeof the vielatien; or for a violation of state laws or municipal or county ordinances

involving nonmoving traffic violations, violations under s. 343.51 (1m) (b), or safety
belt use violations under s. 347.48 (2m), the court, in addition, shall impose a jail
surcharge under ch. 814 in an amount of 1 percent of the fine or forfeiture imposed
or $10, whichever is greater. If multiple offenses are involved, the court shall
determine the jail surcharge on the basis of each fine or forfeiture. If a fine or
forfeiture is suspended in whole or in part, the court shall reduce the jail surcharge
in proportion to the suspension.

SECTION 3. 343.23 (2) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.23 (2) (b) The information specified in pars. (a) and (am) must be filed by
the department so that the complete operator’s record is available for the use of the
secretary in determining whether operating privileges of such person shall be
suspended, revoked, canceled, or withheld, or the person disqualified, in the interest
of public safety. The record of suspensions, revocations, and convictions that would

be counted under s. 343.307 (2) shall be maintained permanently;-except-that-the

under—s—343.307during that10-year period. The record of convictions for
disqualifying offenses under s. 343.315 (2) (h) shall be maintained for at least 10
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SEcTION 3

years. The record of convictions for disqualifying offenses under s. 343.315 (2) (f) and
(§), and all records specified in par. (am), shall be maintained for at least 3 years. The
record of convictions for disqualifying offenses under s. 343.315 (2) (a) to (e) shall be
maintained permanently, except that 5 years after a licensee transfers residency to
another state such record may be transferred to another state of licensure of the
licensee if that state accepts responsibility for maintaining a permanent record of
convictions for disqualifying offenses. Such reports and records may be cumulative
beyond the period for which a license is granted, but the secretary, in exercising the
power of suspension granted under s. 343.32 (2) may consider only those reports and
records entered during the 4-year period immediately preceding the exercise of such
power of suspension.

SECTION 4. 343.30 (1q) (c) 1. (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.30 (1q) (¢) 1. (intro.) Except as provided in subd. 1. a. or b., and-execept-for

violation, the court shall order the person to submit to and comply with an
assessment by an approved public treatment facility as defined in s. 51.45 (2) (c) for
examination of the person’s use of alcohol, controlled substances or controlled
substance analogs and development of a driver safety plan for the person. The court
shall notify the department of transportation of the assessment order. The court
shall notify the person that noncompliance with assessment or the driver safety plan
will result in revocation of the person’s operating privilege until the person is in
compliance. The assessment order shall:

SECTION 5. 343.301 (1) (a) 1. of the statutes is amended to read:
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SECTION 5

343.301 (1) (a) 1. Except as provided in subd. 2. and 3., if a person improperly

refuses to take a test under s. 343.305 or violates s. 346.63 (1) or (2), 940.09 (1), or
940.25, and the person has a total of one or more prior convictions, suspensions, or
revocations, counting convictions under ss. 940.09 (1) and 940.25 in the person’s
lifetime and other convictions, suspensions, and revocations counted under s.
343.307 (1), the court may order that the person’s operating privilege for the
operation of “Class D” vehicles be restricted to operating “Class D” vehicles that are
equipped with an ignition interlock device.

SECTION 6. 343.301 (1) (a) 2. of the statutes is amended to read:

343.301 (1) (a) 2. ¥f Except as provided in subd. 3., if a person improperly
refuses to take a test under s. 343.305 or violates s. 346.63 (1) or (2), 940.09 (1), or
940.25, and the person has a total of 2 or more convictions, suspensions, or
revocations, counted under s. 343.307 (1) within any 5-year period, the court shall
order that the person’s operating privilege for the operation of “Class D” vehicles be
restricted to operating vehicles that are equipped with an ignition interlock device
and shall order that each motor vehicle for which the person’s name appears on the
vehicle’s certificate of title or registration be equipped with an ignition interlock
device. If equipping each motor vehicle with an ignition interlock device under this
subdivision would cause an undue financial hardship, the court may order that one
or more motor vehicles subject to this subdivision not be equipped with an ignition
interlock device. This subdivision does not apply if the court enters an order under
sub. (2) (a) 2. or, if the person has 2 or more prior convictions, suspensions, or
revocations for purposes of this subdivision, to the motor vehicle owned by the person

and used in the violation or refusal if the court orders the vehicle to be seized and

forfeited under s. 346.65 (6).
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SECTION 7

SECTION 7. 343.301 (1) (a) 3. of the statutes is created to read:

343.301 (1) (a) 3. If a person improperly refuses to take a test under s. 343.305
or violates s. 346.63 (1) or (2), 940.09 (1), or 940.25, and the person has a total of 2
ér more prior convictions, suspensions, or revocations, counted under s. 343.307 (1),
or the person has a prior conviction, suspension, or revocation counted under s.
343.307 (1) and has an alcohol concentration of 0.16 or more at the time of the current
offense, the court shall order that the person’s operating privilege for the operation
of “Class D” vehicles be restricted to operating vehicles that are equipped with an
ignition interlock device and shall order that each motor vehicle for which the
person’s name appears on the vehicle’s certificate of title or registration be equipped
with an ignition interlock device. If equipping each motor vehicle with an ignition
interlock device under this subdivision would cause an undue financial hardship, the
court may order that one or more motor vehicles subject to this subdivision not be
equipped with an ignition interlock device. This subdivision does not apply if the
court enters an order under sub. (2) (a) 2. or, if the person has 2 or more prior
convictions, suspensions, or revocations for purposes of this subdivision, to the motor
vehicle owned by the person and used in the violation or refusal if the court orders
the vehicle to be seized and forfeited under s. 346.65 (6).

SEcTION 8. 343.301 (1) (¢) of the statutes is renumbered 343.301 (1) (c) 1.

SECTION 9. 343.301 (1) (¢) 2. of the statutes is created to read:

343.301 (1) (¢) 2. If the court enters an order under par. (a), the court shall
determine the amount of the person’s income, and, if the person’s income is less than
the income limitations in s. 49.145 (3) (b), the court shall reduce any fine imposed

upon the person as a result of his or her conviction under s. 346.63 (1) or (2), 940.09
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SECTION 9
(1), or 940.25 by the amount necessary to pay for the installation and maintenance
of the ignition interlock device.

SECTION 10. 343.301 (1) (cm) of the statutes is created to read:

343.301 (1) (cm) The company that equips the ignition interlock device on a
motor vehicle may not remove the device or terminate the contract for the
maintenance of the device during the period that the court ordered under par. (b)
without the court’s permission.

SECTION 11. 346.65 (2) (am) 3. of the statutes is amended to read:

346.65 (2) (am) 3. Except as provided in subd. 3m. and pars. (cm), (f), and (g),

shall be fined not less than $600 nor more than $2,000 and imprisoned for not less
than 30 days nor more than one year in the county jail if the number of convictions
under ss. 940.09 (1) and 940.25 in the person’s lifetime, plus the total number of
suspensions, revocations, and other convictions counted under s. 343.307 (1), equals
3, except that suspensions, revocations, or convictions arising out of the same
incident or occurrence shall be counted as one.

SECTION 12. 346.65 (2) (am) 3m. of the statutes is created to read:

346.65 (2) (am) 3m. Except as provided in pars. (cm), (f), and (g), is guilty of a
Class I felony and shall be fined not less than $600 and imprisoned for not less than
60 days if the number of suspensions, revocations, and other convictions counted
under s. 343.307 (1) within a 5-year period, equals 3, except that suspensions,
revocations, or convictions arising out of the same incident or occurrence shall be
counted as one.

SECTION 13. 346.65 (2) (am) 4. of the statutes is amended to read:

346.65 (2) (am) 4. Except as provided in pars. (f) and (g), is guilty of a Class I
felony and shall be fined not less than $600 ner-mere-than-$2,000 and imprisoned
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SECTION 13

for not less than 60 days nor-mere-than-oneyear-inthe-countyjail if the number of
convictions under ss. 940.09 (1) and 940.25 in the person’s lifetime, plus the total

number of suspensions, revocations and other convictions counted under s. 343.307
(1), equals 4, except that suspensions, revocations or convictions arising out of the
same incident or occurrence shall be counted as one.

SECTION 14. 346.65 (2) (bm) of the statutes is amended to read:

346.65 (2) (bm) In Winnebago-County any county that opts to offer a reduced

minimum period of imprisonment for the successful completion of a probation period

that includes alcohol and other drug treatment, if the number of convictions under

ss. 940.09 (1) and 940.25 in the person’s lifetime, plus the total number of
suspensions, revocations, and other convictions counted under s. 343.307 (1) within
a 10-year period, equals 2, except that suspensions, revocations, or convictions
arising out of the same incident or occurrence shall be counted as one, the fine shall
be the same as under par. (am) 2., but the period of imprisonment shall be not less
than 5 days, except that if the person successfully completes a period of probation
that includes alcohol and other drug treatment, the period of imprisonment shall be
not less than 5 nor more than 7 days. A person may be sentenced under this
paragraph or under par. (cm) or sub. (2j) (bm) or (cm) or (3r) once in his or her lifetime.
SECTION 15. 346.65 (2) (cm) of the statutes is amended to read:

346.65 (2) (cm) In Winnebago-County any county that opts to offer a reduced

minimum period of imprisonment for the successful completion of a probation period

that includes alcohol and other drug treatment, if the number of convictions under

ss. 940.09 (1) and 940.25 in the person’s lifetime, plus the total number of
suspensions, revocations, and other convictions counted under s. 343.307 (1) within

a 10-year period, equals 3, except that suspensions, revocations, or convictions
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SECTION 15
arising out of the same incident or occurrence shall be counted as one, the fine shall
be the same as under par. (am) 3., but the period of imprisonment shall be not less
than 30 days, except that if the person successfully completes a period of probation
that includes alcohol and other drug treatment, the period of imprisonment shall be
not less than 10 days. A person may be sentenced under this paragraph or under par.
(bm) or sub. (2j) (bm) or (cm) or (3r) once in his or her lifetime.

SECTION 16. 346.65 (2j) (bm) of the statutes is amended to read:

346.65 (2j) (bm) In Winnebage-County any county that opts to offer a reduced

minimum period of imprisonment for the successful completion of a probation period
that includes alcohol and other drug treatment, if the number of convictions under

ss. 940.09 (1) and 940.25 in the person’s lifetime, plus the total number of
suspensions, revocations, and other convictions counted under s. 343.307 (1) within
a 10-year period, equals 2, except that suspensions, revocations, or convictions
arising out of the same incident or occurrence shall be counted as one, the fine shall
be the same as under par. (am) 2., but the period of imprisonment shall be not less
than 5 days, except that if the person successfully completes a period of probation
that includes alcohol and other drug treatment, the period of imprisonment shall be
not less than 5 nor more than 7 days. A person may be sentenced under this
paragraph or under par. (cm) or sub. (2) (bm) or (cm) or (3r) once in his or her lifetime.

SECTION 17. 346.65 (2j) (cm) of the statutes is amended to read:

346.65 (2j) (cm) In Winnebago-County any county that opts to offer a reduced

minimum period of imprisonment for the successful completion of a probation period
that includes alcohol and other drug treatment, if the number of convictions under

ss. 940.09 (1) and 940.25 in the person’s lifetime, plus the total number of

suspensions, revocations, and other convictions counted under s. 343.307 (1) within
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SECTION 17

a 10-year period, equals 3 or more, except that suspensions, revocations, or
convictions arising out of the same incident or occurrence shall be counted as one, the
fine shall be the same as under par. (am) 3., but the period of imprisonment shall be
not less than 30 days, except that if the person successfully completes a period of
probation that includes alcohol and other drug treatment, the period o
imprisonment shall be not less than 10 days. A person may be sentenced under this
paragraph or under par. (bm) or sub. (2) (bm) or (cm) or (3r) once in his or her lifetime.

SECTION 18. 346.65 (2m) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

346.65 (2m) (a) In imposing a sentence under sub. (2) for a violation of s. 346.63
(1) (am) or (b) or (5) or a local ordinance in conformity therewith, the court shall
review the record and consider the aggravating and mitigating factors in the matter

and the sentencing guidelines adopted under s. 758.13 (2) (h). If the amount of

alcohol in the person’s blood or urine or the amount of a restricted controlled

substance in the person’s blood is known, the court shall consider that amount as a

factor in sentencing. The-chiefjudge-of eachjudicial-administrative distriet-shall

SECTION 19. 346.65 (3r) of the statutes is amended to read:

346.65 (3r) In Winnebago-County any county that opts to offer a reduced

minimum period of imprisonment for the successful completion of a probation period
that includes alcohol and other drug treatment, any person violating s. 346.63 (2) or

(6) shall be fined the same as under sub. (3m), but the period of imprisonment shall
be not less than 30 days, except that if the person successfully completes a period of
probation that includes alcohol and other drug treatment, the period of

imprisonment shall be not less than 15 days. If there was a minor passenger under



10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

2009 - 2010 Legislature -12 - LRB-1443/P1
RPN:jld:jf

SECTION 19
16 years of age in the motor vehicle at the time of the violation that gave rise to the
conviction under s. 346.63 (2) or (6), the offense is a felony, the applicable minimum
and maximum fines or periods of imprisonment for the conviction are doubled and
the place of imprisonment shall be determined under s. 973.02. A person may be
sentenced under this subsection or under sub. (2) (bm) or (cm) or (2j) (bm) or (cm) once
in his or her lifetime.

SECTION 20. 346.65 (8) of the statutes is repealed.

SECTION 21. 346.655 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:

346.655 (1) If a court imposes a fine or a forfeiture for a violation of s. 346.63

the time-of the vielation; or a local ordinance in conformity therewith, or s. 346.63
(2) or (6) or 940.25, or s. 940.09 where the offense involved the use of a vehicle, it shall
impose a driver improvement surcharge under ch. 814 in an amount of $365 in

addition to the fine or forfeiture, plus costs, fees, and other surcharges imposed under

I W

ch.814. I

) ;/ <8 CTION 22. 440.122 of the statutes is created to reac’i;”

S
4

440.122 redential denial, nonrenewal, and-fevocation based on
operation of motor vehicle while under the ififluence. Notwithstanding any
other provision of this chapter oref chs 441 to 480 relating to issuance or renewal

of a credential, the departmengariay not deny~an application for an initial credential

\_ or credential renewalef revoke a credential if the credential applicant or holder was /

k%égnvicted of arf offense counted under s. 343.307 (2) or whose operating privilege was

s k‘,gnded or revoked as described under s. 343.307 (2) (f) or (g) unless the consiction,

.
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SE(;TION 23 57.05 (1)&%(;516?){}1(3 statutes is amended to read:

757.05 (1) (a) Whenever a court imposes a fine or forfeiture for a violation of

state law or for a violation of a municipal or county ordinance except for a violation

of s.101.123 (2) (a), (am) 1., (ar), (bm), (br), or (bv) or (5), erfor-afirst-viclation-of s-

than 0.1 at-the time of thevioclation; or for a violation of state laws or municipal or
county ordinances involving nonmoving traffic violations, violations under s. 343.51
(1m) (b), or safety belt use violations under s. 347.48 (2m), there shall be imposed in
addition a penalty surcharge under ch. 814 in an amount of 26 percent of the fine or
forfeiture imposed. If multiple offenses are involved, the penalty surcharge shall be
based upon the total fine or forfeiture for all offenses. When a fine or forfeiture is
suspended in whole or in part, the penalty surcharge shall be reduced in proportion
to the suspension.

SECTION 24. 758.13 (2) (h) of the statutes is created to read:

758.13 (2) (h) Adopt advisory sentencing guidelines for violations of s. 346.63
(1) or (2), 940.09 (1), or 940.25 to promote public safety, to reflect changes in
sentencing practices, and to preserve the integrity of the judicial, criminal justice,
and correctional systems.

SEcCTION 25. 758.13 (2) (i) of the statutes is created to read:

758.13 (2) (i) Provide information to judges and attorneys about the sentencing

guidelines adopted under par. (h), which shall include annual reports that include
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SECTION 25
the most current sentencing guidelines and all changes in existing sentencing
guidelines adopted during the 12 months preceding the report.

SECTION 26. 814.63 (1) (¢) of the statutes is amended to read:

814.63 (1) (¢) This subsection does not apply to an action for a violation of s.

than-0.1 at the time of the vielatien;or for a violation under s. 343.51 (1m) (b), or a
safety belt use violation under s. 347.48 (2m).

SECTION 27. 814.63 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:

814.63 (2) Upon the disposition of a forfeiture action in circuit court for

violation of a county, town, city, village, town sanitary district or public inland lake

protection and rehabilitation district ordinance, except for an action for-afirst

but-less-than 0.1 at-the time-of thevielatien,or for a violation under s. 343.51 (1m)
(b) or a safety belt use violation under s. 347.48 (2m), the county, town, city, village,
town sanitary district or public inland lake protection and rehabilitation district
shall pay a nonrefundable fee of $5 to the clerk of circuit court.

SECTION 28. 814.65 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:

814.65 (1) Courrt costs. In a municipal court action, except for an action fer

ordinance in conformity with s. 343.51 (1m) (b) or 347.48 (2m), the municipal judge
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SECTION 28

shall collect a fee of not less than $15 nor more than $28 on each separate matter,
whether it is on default of appearance, a plea of guilty or no contest, on issuance of
a warrant or summons, or the action is tried as a contested matter. Of each fee
received by the judge under this subsection, the municipal treasurer shall pay

Lonn

monthly $5 to the secretary of administration for

shall retain the balance for the use of the municipality.

SECTION 29. 814.85 (1) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:
814.85 (1) (a) Except for an action for -a-first-vielation-of s—23-33-{4e){a)-2-

time-of the vielation,-or-for a violation under s. 343.51 (1m) (b) or a safety belt use

violation under s. 347.48 (2m), the clerk of circuit court shall charge and collect a $68
court support services surcharge from any person, including any governmental unit
as defined in s. 108.02 (17), paying a fee under s. 814.61 (1) (a), (3), or (8) (am) or
814.63 (1).

SECTION 30. 814.86 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:
814.86 (1) Except for an action for -afirst-vielation-ofs-23.33-4e){a)2530-681

vielation, orfor a violation under s. 343.51 (1m) (b) or a safety belt use violation under
s. 347.48 (2m), the clerk of circuit court shall charge and collect a $12 justice
information system surcharge from any person, including any governmental unit, as
defined in s. 108.02 (17), paying a fee under s. 814.61 (1) (a), (3), or (8) (am), 814.62
(1), (2), or (3) (a) or (b), or 814.63 (1). The justice information system surcharge is in

addition to the surcharge listed in sub. (1m).
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SECTION 31

SEcTION 31. Initial applicability.
(1) This act first applies to violations committed on the effective date of this
subsection but does not preclude the counting of other convictions, suspensions, or

revocations as prior convictions, suspensions, or revocations for purposes of

SEcTION 32. Effective date.
(1) This act takes effect on July 15, 2009, or on the effective date of this
subsection, whichever is later.

(END)
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