Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Veterans and Military Affairs

Assembly Bill 128

Relating to: authorizing a sheriff to depute certain security officers who are employed by the Department of Military Affairs.

By Representatives Brooks, Vruwink, Ballweg, Schneider, Pridemore, M. Williams, Nerison, A. Ott, Vos, Townsend, Spanbauer and Petrowski; cosponsored by Senators Lassa, Schultz, Taylor, Vinehout and Kedzie.

March 09, 2009 Referred to Committee on Veterans and Military Affairs.

April 15, 2009 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (10) Representatives Hilgenberg, Schneider, Turner, Hubler, Sinicki, Milroy, Petersen, Petrowski,

Townsend, Meyer.

Absent: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Julie Lassa Sen.
- Larry Olson, Madison Dept. of Military Affairs
- Ed Brooks Rep.
- Jeff Wiswell, Madison Wisconsin Sheriffs & Deputy Sheriffs Assocation

Appearances Against

• Susan McMurray — AFSCME

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Barry Hutchews, Camp Douglas Dept. of Military Affairs
- David Dziobkowski, Madison Dept. of Military Affairs
- Gary Ebben, Camp Douglas Dept. of Military Affairs
- Mike Furgal, Monroe Veterans of Foreign Wars
- Sarah Diedrick-Kasdorf, Madison Wisconsin Counties Association

Registrations Against

• Marty Beil — AFSCME

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

September 1, 2009 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (10) Representatives Hilgenberg, Schneider, Turner,

Hubler, Sinicki, Milroy, Petersen, Petrowski,

Townsend, Meyer.

Absent: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Hubler, seconded by Representative Turner that **Assembly Amendment 2** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (10) Representatives Hilgenberg, Schneider,

Turner, Hubler, Sinicki, Milroy, Petersen,

Petrowski, Townsend, Meyer.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 2 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Hubler, seconded by Representative Sinicki that **Assembly Bill 128** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (10) Representatives Hilgenberg, Schneider,

Turner, Hubler, Sinicki, Milroy, Petersen,

Petrowski, Townsend, Meyer.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 0

Max Dulberger Committee Clerk