Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Transportation

Assembly Bill 284

Relating to: special identification cards issued by the Department of Transportation providing parking privileges for persons with physical disabilities and providing a penalty.

By Representatives Krusick, A. Ott, Berceau, Brooks, Kaufert, Lothian, Mason, Pasch, Petrowski, Pope-Roberts, Steinbrink, Townsend and A. Williams; cosponsored by Senators Hansen and Darling, by request of IndependenceFirst, Disability Rights Wisconsin, Survival Coalition of Wisconsin Disability Organizations, Wisconsin Coalition of Independent Living Centers, Sauk County Disabled Parking Enforcement Council, City of Madison Parking Council for People with Disabilities, and City of Milwaukee Police Department.

May 27, 2009 Referred to Committee on Transportation.

July 16, 2009 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

> Present: Representatives Steinbrink, Zigmunt, (8) Garthwaite, Bernard Schaber, Petrowski, A. Ott. Stone and Bies.

Absent: Representatives Vruwink, Fields, Sinicki and (4) Ripp.

Appearances For

- Peggy Krusick Representative, 7th Assembly District
- Alicia Boehme Disability Rights Wisconsin
- Duane Hinz Madison Parking Council for People with Disabilities
- Karen Foxgrouer
- Steven Pribbenow Sauk County Disabled Parking **Enforcement Assistance Council**
- Gary Weber, Madison

Appearances Against

None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

Tony Driessen, Madison — AAA

- Mario Mendoza City of Madison
- Ramie Zelenkova Independence First

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

September 10, 2009 EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD

Present: (11) Representatives Steinbrink, Zigmunt, Vruwink,

Garthwaite, Fields, Bernard Schaber, Sinicki,

Petrowski, A. Ott, Bies and Ripp.

Absent: (1) Representative Stone.

Moved by Representative A. Ott, seconded by Representative Garthwaite that **Assembly Bill 284** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (11) Representatives Steinbrink, Zigmunt,

Vruwink, Garthwaite, Fields, Bernard

Schaber, Sinicki, Petrowski, A. Ott, Bies and

Ripp.

Noes: (0) None.

Absent: (1) Representative Stone.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 11, Noes 0

Erin Pollocoff Committee Clerk