Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Education

Assembly Bill 534

Relating to: authorizing the state superintendent of public instruction to direct a school district to implement a new curriculum or instructional design, make personnel changes, or adopt accountability measures, and requiring the exercise of rule-making authority.

By Representatives Pope-Roberts, Dexter, Sinicki and Hixson.

October 29, 2009 Referred to Committee on Education.

November 2, 2009 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present:	(10)	Representatives Pope-Roberts, Hilgenberg,
		Sinicki, Hixson, Smith, Krusick, Davis, Nass,
		Townsend, Nygren.
Absent:	(3)	Representatives Dexter, Radcliffe and Vukmir.

Appearances For

- Michael Morgan, Madison Secretary, Department of Administration
- Tim Casper, Madison Department of Administration
- Tony Evers, Madison State Superintendent, Department of Public Instruction

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

 Sheri Krause, Madison — Wisconsin Association of School Boards

Registrations For

- Leigh Roberts, Madison Wisconsin Retired Educators Association
- Lena Taylor, Milwaukee Senator, 4th Senate District

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

November 3, 2009 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

(12)	Representatives Pope-Roberts, Dexter,
	Hilgenberg, Sinicki, Hixson, Smith, Krusick,
	Radcliffe, Davis, Nass, Townsend and Nygren.
(1)	Representative Vukmir.
	()

Moved by Representative Dexter, seconded by Representative Sinicki that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for rejection.

Ayes:	(7)	Representatives Pope-Roberts, Dexter,
-		Hilgenberg, Sinicki, Hixson, Smith and
		Krusick.
NT	(5)	Dennes detines De 1-1:66 Denis Mars

- Noes: (5) Representatives Radcliffe, Davis, Nass, Townsend and Nygren.
- Absent: (1) Representative Vukmir.

REJECTION OF ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 RECOMMENDED, Ayes 7, Noes 5

Moved by Representative Dexter, seconded by Representative Hixson that **Assembly Bill 534** be recommended for passage.

Ayes:	(9)	Representatives Pope-Roberts, Dexter,	
		Hilgenberg, Sinicki, Hixson, Smith, Krusick,	
		Davis and Townsend.	
Noes:	(3)	Representatives Radcliffe, Nass and Nygren.	

Absent: (1) Representative Vukmir.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 3

Tom McCarthy Committee Clerk