### **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on Colleges and Universities**

#### **Assembly Bill 604**

Relating to: eligibility for academic excellence higher education scholarships. By Representatives Ballweg, Bies, Brooks, Hebl, LeMahieu, A. Ott, Pope-Roberts, Smith and Townsend; cosponsored by Senators Miller, Hansen and Taylor.

December 08, 2009 Referred to Committee on Colleges and Universities.

#### February 3, 2010 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (10) Representatives Hixson, Smith, Black, Cullen, Soletski, Hintz, Nass, Rhoades, Townsend,

Gottlieb.

Absent: (2) Representatives Berceau and Ballweg.

#### Appearances For

- Vince Williams, Madison Office of State Representative Joan Ballweg (R-41)
- Connie Hutchinson, Madison Executive Secretary, Higher Education Aids Board

#### Appearances Against

• None.

#### **Appearances for Information Only**

• None.

#### Registrations For

- Mark Miller, Madison State Senator, (D-16)
- Grant Huber, Madison University of Wisconsin System
- Jessica Tormey, Madison University of Wisconsin System
- Morna Foy, Madison Wisconsin Technical College System Board
- Paul Gabriel, Madison Wisconsin Technical College District Boards

#### Registrations Against

None

### Registrations for Information Only

• None.

### February 24, 2010 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (12) Representatives Hixson, Smith, Black, Cullen,

Soletski, Hintz, Berceau, Nass, Rhoades,

Townsend, Gottlieb and Ballweg.

Absent: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Smith, seconded by Representative Ballweg that **Assembly Bill 604** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (12) Representatives Hixson, Smith, Black, Cullen, Soletski, Hintz, Berceau, Nass,

Rhoades, Townsend, Gottlieb and Ballweg.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 12, Noes 0

John Vander Meer Committee Clerk