Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Urban and Local Affairs

Assembly Bill 661

Relating to: county and municipal expenditures for emergency services.

By Representatives Gottlieb, Ziegelbauer, Zigmunt, Strachota, LeMahieu, Brooks, Vos, Kleefisch, Kestell, Townsend, A. Ott, Petrowski, Ripp, Honadel, Gunderson, Knodl and Kaufert; cosponsored by Senators Ellis, Olsen, Darling, Lazich and Grothman.

January 21, 2010 Referred to Committee on Urban and Local Affairs.

March 23, 2010 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (7) Representatives Berceau, Ziegelbauer, Hintz, Parisi, LeMahieu, Gottlieb and Spanbauer.

Absent: (2) Representatives Van Akkeren and Roys.

Appearances For

- Mark Gottlieb, Port Washington Representative, 60th Assembly District
- David Callender, Madison WI Counties Association
- John Dougherty, Reedsburg Administrator, City of Reedsburg
- Carol Held, Reedsburg Mayor, City of Reedsburg
- Ed Huck, Madison WI Alliance of Cities
- Scott Klein, Pewaukee Mayor, City of Pewaukee
- Steve O' Malley, La Crosse Administrator, La Crosse County
- Andy Phillips, Mequon WI Counties Association
- Terry Witkowski, Milwaukee Alderman, City of Milwaukee
- Curt Witynski, Madison League of Wisconsin Municipalities

Appearances Against

• Jim Palmer, Madison — WI Professional Police Association

Appearances for Information Only

None.

Registrations For

 Ted Zigmunt, Francis Creek — Representative, 2nd Assembly District

- Debra Behringer, Wautoma Administrative Co-ordinator, Waushara County
- Mickey Beil, Madison Dane County Executive Kathleen Falk
- Jim Brey, Manitowoc Chair, Manitowoc County Board
- Kyle Deno, Black River Falls Clerk, Jackson County
- Mark Harris, Oshkosh Executive, Winnebago County
- Doug Johnson, West Bend Administrative Co-ordinator, Washington County
- Dick Koeppen, Waupaca Chair, Waupaca County Board
- Robert Kopisch, Butternut Chair, Price County Board
- Tammy La Borde, Pewaukee Administrator, City of Pewaukee
- Susan Mc Murray, Madison AFSCME
- Brent Miller, Montello Administrative Co-ordinator/Finance Director, Marquette County
- Frank Pascarella, Shawano Administrative Co-ordinator, Shawano County
- Gary Petre, Jefferson Administrator, Jefferson County
- Barb Petrovsek, Friendship Adams County
- Cathy Schmitt, Sparta Administrator, Monroe County
- John Tramburg, Fall River Supervisor, Columbia County Board
- Mark Wadium, Appleton Outagamie County
- Debra Wopat, Rio Chair, Columbia County Board

Registrations Against

• Joe Strohl, Madison — Professional Firefighters of WI

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

April 22, 2010 Failed to pass pursuant to Senate Joint Resolution 1.

Traci Peloquin Committee Clerk