Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Health and Healthcare Reform

Assembly Bill 671

Relating to: licensing anesthesiologist assistants and creating the Council on Anesthesiologist Assistants and granting rule-making authority.

By Representatives Shilling, Pasch, Petrowski, Smith, Townsend, Vruwink, Zepnick and A. Williams; cosponsored by Senators Taylor, Darling, Kapanke, Kedzie and Plale

January 22, 2010 Referred to Committee on Health and Healthcare Reform.

February 17, 2010 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (13) Representatives Richards, Roys, Benedict, Shilling, Vruwink, Seidel, Pasch, Bernard Schaber, Vukmir, Rhoades, Stone, Strachota and Nygren.

Absent: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Jennifer Shilling Representative, 95th Assembly District
- Peter Shearer Wisconsin Academy of Anesthesiologist Assistants
- Sara Strom, Madison Wisconsin Association of Anesthesiologist Assistants
- Michael Bottcher, Onalaska Gundersen Lutheran
- Deborah Rusy, Madison University of Wisconsin -Department of Anesthesiology
- James Merosian, Whitefish Bay Wisconsin Society of Anesthesiologists
- Robert Stupi, Holmen Wisconsin Academy of Anesthesiologist Assistants

Appearances Against

- Debra McClure, Franklin Wisconsin Association of Nurse Anesthetists
- James Albrecht, Fitchburg Wisconsin Association of Nurse Anesthetists
- Debra Dahlke, Middleton Wisconsin Association of Nurse Anesthetists
- Lawrence Beck Wisconsin Association of Nurse Anesthetists

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Eric Jensen, Madison Wisconsin Academy of Physician Assistants
- Chris Rasch, Milwaukee Wisconsin Medical Society
- Ashley Diedrich, Oregon Anesthesiology Assistants
- Scott Springman, Fitchburg
- Jack Lund, Onalaska
- Jacob Peterson, West Salem Wisconsin Academy of Anesthesiologist Assistants
- Cathy Drexler, Milwaukee Wisconsin Society of Anesthesiologist Assistants
- Brian Vamstad, LaCrosse Gundersen Lutheran
- Joey Ashley, Madison
- Jen Bravnschweig, Onalaska Gundersen Lutheran
- Ruth Devine, Waunakee
- Lisa Maroney, Madison UW Hopstial and Clinics
- Robert Koebert, Milwaukee Wisconsin Society of Anesthesiologists
- Lena Taylor Senator, 4th Senate District

Registrations Against

- Mary Dudley, Onalaska
- Sara Heffernan, La Crosse
- Shelley Ekblacherna, Eau Claire Wisconsin Association of Nurse Anesthetists
- Tony Driessen, Madison Wisconsin Association of Nurse Anesthetists

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

March 3, 2010 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (12) Representatives Richards, Roys, Benedict, Shilling, Seidel, Pasch, Bernard Schaber, Vukmir, Rhoades, Stone, Strachota and

Nygren.

Absent: (1) Representative Vruwink.

Moved by Representative Shilling, seconded by Representative Nygren that **Assembly Amendment 3** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (12) Representatives Richards, Roys, Benedict, Shilling, Seidel, Pasch, Bernard Schaber, Vukmir, Rhoades, Stone, Strachota and Nygren.

Noes: (0) None.

Absent: (1) Representative Vruwink.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 3 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 12, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Vukmir, seconded by Representative Shilling that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (12) Representatives Richards, Roys, Benedict, Shilling, Seidel, Pasch, Bernard Schaber, Vukmir, Rhoades, Stone, Strachota and Nygren.

Noes: (0) None.

Absent: (1) Representative Vruwink.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 12, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Shilling, seconded by Representative Pasch that **Assembly Bill 671** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (12) Representatives Richards, Roys, Benedict, Shilling, Seidel, Pasch, Bernard Schaber, Vukmir, Rhoades, Stone, Strachota and Nygren.

Noes: (0) None.

Absent: (1) Representative Vruwink.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 12, Noes 0

Jeff Kostelic Committee Clerk