## Assembly

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on Agriculture**

#### Assembly Bill 717

Relating to: the agricultural producer security program, providing an exemption from emergency rule procedures, and granting rule-making authority.

By Representatives Vruwink, Jorgensen, Garthwaite, Smith, Hraychuck, Danou, Tauchen, Ripp, Dexter, Molepske Jr. and A. Ott; cosponsored by Senators Vinehout, Miller, Taylor, Harsdorf and Schultz.

February 09, 2010 Referred to Committee on Agriculture.

February 10, 2010 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present:	(11)	Representatives Vruwink, Radcliffe,
		Garthwaite, Jorgensen, Molepske Jr., Danou,
		A. Ott, Nerison, Murtha, Tauchen and Brooks.
Absent:	(0)	None.

#### Appearances For

- John Manske, Madison Cooperative Network
- Ron Statz, Praire Du Sac National Farmers Organization
- John Petty, Monona Wisconsin Agri-Service Association
- Janet Jenkins, Madison Wisconsin Dept. of Agriculture, Trade, and Consumer Protection

#### Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

#### Registrations For

- Nick George, Madison Midwest Food Processors Association
- Bob Welch, Palmyra Wisconsin Corn Growers Association
- Duane Maatz, Antigo Wisconsin Potato & Vegetable Growers Association
- Jeff Lyons, Madison Wisconsin Farm Bureau
- John Umhoefer, Madison Wisconsin Chessemakers Association

#### **Registrations Against**

• None.

**Registrations for Information Only** 

• None.

### February 25, 2010 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present:(11)Representatives Vruwink, Radcliffe,<br/>Garthwaite, Jorgensen, Molepske Jr., Danou,<br/>A. Ott, Nerison, Murtha, Tauchen and Brooks.Absent:(0)None.

Moved by Representative A. Ott, seconded by Representative Garthwaite that **Assembly Bill 717** be recommended for passage.

 Ayes: (11) Representatives Vruwink, Radcliffe, Garthwaite, Jorgensen, Molepske Jr., Danou, A. Ott, Nerison, Murtha, Tauchen and Brooks.
Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 11, Noes 0

Christian Plata Committee Clerk