Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Agriculture

Assembly Bill 746

Relating to: promoting the use of locally grown food in school meals and snacks and granting rule-making authority.

By Representatives Vruwink, Jorgensen, Black, Benedict, Van Akkeren, Suder, A. Ott, Zepnick, Garthwaite, Roys, Turner, Sinicki, Hubler, Berceau, Hebl, Danou, Ripp, Hraychuck, Hilgenberg, Pasch, Mason, Pope-Roberts, Zigmunt, Molepske Jr., Steinbrink, Smith, Petrowski, Parisi, Radcliffe, Hixson, Lothian, Milroy and Nerison; cosponsored by Senators Lassa, Taylor, Risser, Lehman, Hansen and Wirch.

February 12, 2010 Referred to Committee on Agriculture.

February 24, 2010 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (11) Representatives Vruwink, Radcliffe, Garthwaite, Jorgensen, Molepske Jr., Danou,

A. Ott, Nerison, Murtha, Tauchen and Brooks.

Absent: (0) None.

Appearances For

- John Umhoefer, Madison Wisconsin Cheesmakers Association
- Theresa Huber, Janesville Janesville Farmers Market
- June Paul, Madison Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction
- Jennifer Kammerud, Madison Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction
- Rosemary Ventura, Madison
- Susan Peterman, Middleton Middleton-Cross Plains School District
- Marcia Canton Campbell, Wauwatoaa Growing Power, Inc.
- Diane Chapeta, DePere
- Monique Hooker, De Soho
- Nancy Goyings, Middleton Middleton-Cross Plains Farm 2 School Program
- Dylan Bruce, Freeville
- Dillon Grabshi, DePere
- LIsa Jacobson, Madison REAP Food Group
- Sara Tedeshi, Ferryville
- Steven Pincus, Evansville

- Teresa Cuperus, Madison Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade, and Consumer Protection
- Camilla Vargas, Madison Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade, and Consumer Protection
- Kristen Kordet, Stoughton Blue Moon Community Farm
- Stephanie Ricketts, Madison

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

- Tara LaRowe UW School of Medicine & Public Health
- Bill Wright, Green Bay Brown County UW Extension

Registrations For

- Melissa Kieffer, Madison REAP Farm To School Program
- Dan Rossmiller, Madison Wisconsin Association of School Boards
- Nick George, Madison Midwet Food Processors Association
- Don Nelson, Madison UW-Madison
- Michelle Moreau, McFarland American Cancer Society
- Mickey Beil, Madison Dane County
- Bridget Holcomb, Madison Michael Fields Ag Institue
- Michael Welsh, Madison Wisconsin Dietetic Association
- Michael welsh School Nutrition Association of Wisconsin
- Michael Welsh, Madison Wisconsin Public Health Association
- Michael Welsh, Madison Wisconsin Association of Local Health Departments & Boards
- Jordan Lamb, Madison Wisconsin Potato & vegetable Growers Association
- Amy Basken, Praire Du Sac American Heart Association Mended Little Hearts
- Luke Rollins, Madison American Heart Association
- Bob Meyer American Cancer Society
- Lena Taylor Senator, Wisconsin State Senate
- Julie Lassa Senator, Wisconsin State Senate
- Casey Bilyen, Madison

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

February 25, 2010 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (11) Representatives Vruwink, Radcliffe, Garthwaite, Jorgensen, Molepske Jr., Danou, A. Ott, Nerison, Murtha, Tauchen and Brooks.

Absent: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Molepske Jr., seconded by Representative Garthwaite that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for introduction.

Ayes: (11) Representatives Vruwink, Radcliffe, Garthwaite, Jorgensen, Molepske Jr., Danou, A. Ott, Nerison, Murtha, Tauchen and Brooks.

Noes: (0) None.

INTRODUCTION OF ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 RECOMMENDED, Ayes 11, Noes 0

Moved by Representative A. Ott, seconded by Representative Garthwaite that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (11) Representatives Vruwink, Radcliffe,
Garthwaite, Jorgensen, Molepske Jr., Danou,
A. Ott, Nerison, Murtha, Tauchen and
Brooks.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 11, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Molepske Jr., seconded by Representative Garthwaite that **Assembly Amendment 2** be recommended for introduction.

Ayes: (11) Representatives Vruwink, Radcliffe,
Garthwaite, Jorgensen, Molepske Jr., Danou,
A. Ott, Nerison, Murtha, Tauchen and
Brooks.

Noes: (0) None.

INTRODUCTION OF ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 2 RECOMMENDED, Ayes 11, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Nerison, seconded by Representative Brooks that **Assembly Amendment 2** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (11) Representatives Vruwink, Radcliffe, Garthwaite, Jorgensen, Molepske Jr., Danou, A. Ott, Nerison, Murtha, Tauchen and Brooks.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 2 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 11, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Garthwaite, seconded by Representative Molepske Jr. that **Assembly Bill 746** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (11) Representatives Vruwink, Radcliffe,
Garthwaite, Jorgensen, Molepske Jr., Danou,
A. Ott, Nerison, Murtha, Tauchen and
Brooks.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 11, Noes 0

Christian Plata Committee Clerk