Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Urban and Local Affairs

Assembly Bill 788

Relating to: creating a sunset provision for the county tax levy rate limit.

By Representatives Hintz, Shilling, Berceau, Turner, Zigmunt, Ziegelbauer, and Clark; co-sponsored by Senator Miller.

March 02, 2010 Referred to Committee on Urban and Local Affairs.

March 23, 2010 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (7) Representatives Berceau, Ziegelbauer, Hintz, Parisi, LeMahieu, Gottlieb, and Spanbauer.

Absent: (2) Representatives Van Akkeren and Roys.

Appearances For

- Gordon Hintz, Oshkosh Representative, 54th Assembly District
- Jennifer Shilling, La Crosse Representative, 95th Assembly District
- David Callender, Madison WI Counties Association
- Mark Harris, Oshkosh Executive, Winnebago County
- Steve O' Malley, La Crosse Administrator, La Crosse County
- Jack Sanderson, Columbus Supervisor, Columbia County Board
- John Tramburg, Fall River Supervisor, Columbia County Board
- Debra Wopat, Rio Chair, Columbia County Board

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Ted Zigmunt, Francis Creek Representative, 2nd Assembly District
- Mark Miller, Monona Senator, 16th Senate District
- Debra Behringer, Wautoma Administrative Co-ordinator, Waushara County

- Jim Brey, Manitowoc Chair, Manitowoc County Board
- Kyle Deno, Black River Falls Clerk, Jackson County
- Erhard Huettl, Wabeno Chair, Forest County Board
- Dick Koeppen, Waupaca Chair, Waupaca County Board
- Susan Mc Murray, Madison AFSCME
- Brent Miller, Montello Administrative Co-ordinator/Finance Director, Marquette County
- Frank Pascarella, Shawano Administrative Co-ordinator, Shawano County
- Barb Petrovsek, Friendship Adams County
- Cathy Schmitt, Sparta Administrator, Monroe County

Registrations Against

• Michael Birkley, Madison — WI Property Taxpayers

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

April 6, 2010 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (7) Representatives Berceau, Ziegelbauer, Parisi, Roys, LeMahieu, Gottlieb, and Spanbauer.

Absent: (2) Representatives Van Akkeren and Hintz.

Moved by Representative Spanbauer, seconded by Representative Roys that **Assembly Bill 788** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (5) Representatives Berceau, Ziegelbauer, Parisi, Roys, and Spanbauer.

Noes: (2) Representatives LeMahieu and Gottlieb. Absent: (2) Representatives Van Akkeren and Hintz.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 2

Traci Peloquin Committee Clerk