## **Senate**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# Committee on Veterans and Military Affairs, Biotechnology, and Financial Institutions

**Freedman, Marvin**, of Middleton, as a member of the Board of Veterans Affairs, to serve for the term ending May 1, 2015.

September 02, 2009 Referred to Committee on Veterans and Military Affairs,

Biotechnology, and Financial Institutions.

January 20, 2010 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD** 

Present: (5) Senators Sullivan, Coggs, Carpenter, Leibham

and Kanavas.

Absent: (0) None.

### Appearances For

• Marvin Freedman

- Dan Naylor, Waupaca
- Marcia Anderson, Verona Vice Chair, WI Board of Veterans Affairs
- Donna Chrzas, Portage County Veterans Services Association of WI

#### Appearances Against

- AJ Salas, Pardeeville
- Ken Wendt, Sturgeon Bay
- Tim Thiers, Manitowoc
- William Gamble, Manitowoc

#### **Appearances for Information Only**

• None.

#### Registrations For

- Mike "Gunner" Furgal, Monroe Veterans of Foreign Wars
- Fred Risser, 26th State Senate District Senator
- Kenneth Kuehul, Union Grove
- Libby Gerds Office of Governor Doyle
- Mike Demske, Manitowoc President, Vietnam Veterans of America, WI State Council
- Holly Hoppe, Green Bay

- Gus Sorenson, Sturtevant Government Relations Director, WI Paralyzed Veterans of America
- Jon Erpenbach Senator, 27th Senate District
- Victor Vela, Milwaukee American GI Forum

#### Registrations Against

- Mary Lazich Senator, 28th Senate District
- Dan Kapanke Senator, 32nd Senate District
- Scott Fitzgerald Senator, 13th Senate District
- Dale Schultz Senator, 17th Senate District
- Kathryn Gadzinski, Manitowoc
- CR Gates, Manitowoc
- Michael Link, Manitowoc
- David Soukup, Manitowoc
- Daniel Czekala, Manitowoc
- Gerald Fordham, Waukesha
- Peter Hanson, Delafield
- James Chatham, Waukesha
- Charles Kopshinsky, Waukesha
- Otto Beglinger, Waukesha
- Geraldine Bellin, Two Rivers
- Christopher Czekala, Manitowoc
- Kay Prochnow, Manitowoc
- Joy Thiers, Manitowoc
- Leroy Free, Manitowoc
- Kathryn Kiefer, Kiel
- Tony Pelsawski, Manitowoc
- Tom McCabe, Sheboygan
- Howard Jansen, Manitowoc AMVETS
- Paul Blashka, Manitowoc AMVET #99
- John Garcia, Manitowoc Post 99
- Don Vandenbusch, Reedsville
- Gene Schad, Manitowoc
- Dean Duellman, Manitowoc
- Fred Biashter, Manitowoc
- Patrick Gadzinski, Manitowoc
- Marvin Kliment, Manitowoc AMVETS #99
- Paul Hynek, Manitowoc
- Larry Yax, Manitowoc Post 99
- Clarson Stoel, Waukesha
- Roger Strege, Depere
- Donald Sitte, Baileys Harbor
- Stephen Kase, Sturgeon Bay AMVETS Post 51
- Jolirh Deckdu, Manitowoc

- John Acheine, Forestville
- Lelaid Burrett, Sturgeon Bay
- Grdon Roberts, Sturgeon Bay
- Peter Santner, Sturgeon Bay
- Harold Lindhors, Sturgeon Bay
- Gebald Schmidtke, Sturgeon Bay
- Donald Diefenbach, Sturgeon Bay
- Mark Bauldry, Sturgeon Bay
- Norman Kiennau, Sturgeon Bay
- Mary Wendt, Sturgeon Bay
- Steven Grantham, Sturgeon Bay
- Daniel Schuster, Manitowoc Post 99
- Roger Falk, Sturgeon Bay
- Al Peters, Denmark AMVETS 99
- Jean Vandenbusch, Reedsville
- Jada Hynels, Manitowoc
- Lyle Reed, Waukesha
- Jesse Freis, Newton
- Kurt Jansen, Manitowoc

## Registrations for Information Only

• None.

#### February 24, 2010 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (5) Senators Sullivan, Coggs, Carpenter, Leibham

and Kanavas.

Absent: (0) None.

Moved by Senator Carpenter, seconded by Senator Sullivan that **Freedman, Marvin** be recommended for confirmation.

Ayes: (3) Senators Sullivan, Coggs and Carpenter.

Noes: (2) Senators Leibham and Kanavas.

CONFIRMATION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 3, Noes 2

Nicole Hudzinski Committee Clerk