Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Education

Senate Bill 154

Relating to: school safety plans, pupil records, and school bullying. By Joint Legislative Council.

October 23, 2009 Referred to Committee on Education.

January 12, 2010 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

 Present: (13) Representatives Pope-Roberts, Dexter, Hilgenberg, Sinicki, Hixson, Smith, Krusick, Radcliffe, Davis, Nass, Townsend, Vukmir and Nygren.
Absent: (0) None.

Appearances For

- John Lehman, Racine Senator, 21st Senate District
- Mike Thompson, Madison Department of Public Instruction
- Nic Dibble, Madison Department of Public Instruction
- Kevin St. John, Madison Department of Justice
- Diana Borth, New Glarus Wisconsin Education Association Council
- Jeff Spitzer-Resnick, Madison Disability Rights Wisconsin
- Mary Harrison, Green Bay
- Jerome Holzbauer, Milwaukee Doctor
- Barbara Dorff, Green Bay Green Bay Area Public Schools
- Peter Pochowski, Milwaukee WI School Safety Coordinators Association
- Mary Jean Erschen, Lodi
- Shel Gross, Madison Mental Health America of Wisconsin

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

• Jeff Wiswell, Madison — WI Sheriffs and Deputy Sheriffs Association

- J.B. Van Hollen, Madison Attorney General, Department of Justice
- Dan Rossmiller, Madison WI Association of School Boards
- John Forester, Madison School Administrators Alliance
- Michael Walsh, Madison Wisconsin Education Association Council
- Joseph Quick, Madison Madison Metropolitan School District
- Dave Bloom, Madison WI State Fire Chiefs Association

Registrations Against

- Amy Lewis, Racine
- Julaine Appling, Madison Wisconsin Family Action

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

February 16, 2010 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present:	(12)	Representatives Pope-Roberts, Dexter,
		Hilgenberg, Hixson, Smith, Krusick, Radcliffe,
		Davis, Nass, Townsend, Vukmir and Nygren.
Absent:	(1)	Representative Sinicki.

Moved by Representative Hixson, seconded by Representative Dexter that **Senate Bill 154** be recommended for concurrence.

Ayes:	(7)	Representatives Pope-Roberts, Dexter,
-		Hilgenberg, Hixson, Smith, Krusick and
		Radcliffe.
ът	(5)	

- Noes: (5) Representatives Davis, Nass, Townsend, Vukmir and Nygren.
- Absent: (1) Representative Sinicki.

CONCURRENCE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 7, Noes 5

Tom McCarthy Committee Clerk