Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Labor, Elections and Urban Affairs

Senate Bill 172

Relating to: limiting a city's and village's use of direct annexation and authorizing limited town challenges to an annexation.

By Senators Holperin, A. Lasee and Schultz; cosponsored by Representatives Jorgensen, Clark, Danou, Hilgenberg, Bies, Brooks, Gunderson, Kerkman, LeMahieu, A. Ott, Petersen, Ripp, Roth, Townsend and Vos.

April 23, 2009 Referred to Committee on Labor, Elections and Urban Affairs.

February 17, 2010 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (4) Senators Coggs, Wirch, Lehman and

Grothman.

Absent: (1) Senator A. Lasee.

Appearances For

- Rick Stadelman Wisconsin Towns Association
- Jerry Derr Wiscosnin Towns Association
- Tim McCumber Town of Merrimac
- Bryan Jochimsen Town of Little Black
- Matthew Fleming Town of Windsor
- Jeffrey Bayliss Town of Cross Plains
- Lyle Updike Town of Sun Prairie
- Arnold Harris Western Dane Coalition for Smart Growth & Environment
- Stefi Harris Western Dane Coalition for Smart Growth & Environment

Appearances Against

- Ed Huck Wisconsin Alliance of Cities
- Curt Witynski League of Wisconsin Municipalities

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Dennis Morgan
- Jolene Plautz Wisconsin Towns Association
- Tom Larson Wisconsin Realtors Association
- Terry McMahon Town of Yorkville

- Vicky Van Vonderen
- Denise Baylis
- Bill Goehring Town of Sherman
- Richard Gimlor Town of Watertown
- Clayton Montez Town of East Troy
- Richard Nawrock
- Jim Holperin Senator
- Ann Jablonski Wisconsin Towns Association
- Lena Taylor Senator
- Darrell Schulz Town of Dell Prairie
- Frank Frassetto Town of Black Wolf

Registrations Against

- Eileen Nickels Platteville City Council
- Jerry Wehle City of Lancaster
- David Breunig City of Darlington
- Frank Fiorenza
- Bev Anderson City of Darlington
- Jerry Vandersteen City of Suamico
- Betty Klein City of Hillsboro
- Adam Hammett City of Elroy
- Delton Thoreson Mayor, City of Augusta
- James Van De Bogart City of Beloit
- Larry Arft City of Beloit
- Ron Marsh Mayor, City of Monroe
- Ron Krueger Mayor, City of Watertown
- Larry McDonald Mayor, City of Bayfield
- John Small Village of Marathon City
- Patrick Stevens Wisconsin Builders Association
- Doug Williams City of Merrill
- Tony Chladek City of Merrill
- Paul Fisk City of Lodi
- Tom Leonhardt
- Mark Dahlberg Village of Grantsburg
- Jack Chiovatero City of New Berlin

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

April 8, 2010 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (5) Senators Coggs, Wirch, Lehman, A. Lasee and

Grothman.

Absent: (0) None.

Moved by Senator Lehman, seconded by Senator Wirch that **Senate Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (5) Senators Coggs, Wirch, Lehman, A. Lasee and Grothman.

Noes: (0) None.

ADOPTION OF SENATE AMENDMENT 1 RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 0

Moved by Senator Wirch, seconded by Senator Lehman that **Senate Amendment 2** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (5) Senators Coggs, Wirch, Lehman, A. Lasee and Grothman.

Noes: (0) None.

ADOPTION OF SENATE AMENDMENT 2 RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 0

Moved by Senator Wirch, seconded by Senator Lehman that **Senate Bill 172** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (5) Senators Coggs, Wirch, Lehman, A. Lasee and Grothman.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 0

Adam Plotkin Committee Clerk