Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Health, Health Insurance, Privacy, Property Tax Relief, and Revenue

Senate Bill 24

Relating to: creating an individual income tax checkoff for Wisconsin food banks that are members of Feeding America and making an appropriation.

By Senators Coggs, Vinehout, Risser, Hansen, Kreitlow, Erpenbach, Taylor and Darling; cosponsored by Representatives Young, Hilgenberg, Richards, Grigsby, Sinicki, Gunderson, A. Williams, Pasch, Roth and Montgomery.

February 03, 2009 Referred to Committee on Health, Health Insurance, Privacy, Property Tax Relief, and Revenue.

March 18, 2009 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (7) Senators Erpenbach, Carpenter, Robson, Lassa,

Lazich, Kanavas and Darling.

Absent: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Spencer Coggs Sen.
- Leon Young Rep.
- Bonnie Bellehumeur America's Second Harvest of Wisconsin
- Russ Haberman, Milwaukee Sherman Park Community Ministries
- Blaire Shydlowski, Loretta Harvest of Friends, Inc.
- Emily Moore, Eau Claire Feed My People
- Barbara McKinney, Madison Second Harvest Food Bank
- Robert Mohelnitzky Second Harvest Foodbank
- James Taylor, Jr., Milwaukee Family House, Inc.
- Jim Milner

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

• Martha Williams

- Gina Styer, Milwaukee Second Harvest
- Cordelia Taylor, Milwaukee Family House, Inc.
- LaVance Johniyakir, Milwaukee Sherman Park Community Center
- Dale Henricks, Fitchburg
- Dan Stein Second Harvest Food Bank
- Kenneth Dickson, Madison
- Betty Kjer, Milwaukee Sherman Park Community Center
- Gina Wilson, Madison Second Harvest Food Bank of Southern WI
- Grant Sovern, Madison Second Harvest

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

April 14, 2009 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: Senators Erpenbach, Carpenter, Robson, Lassa, (7) Lazich, Kanavas and Darling.

Absent: (0)None.

Moved by Senator Lazich, seconded by Senator Lassa that Senate Bill 24 be recommended for passage.

> (6) Senators Erpenbach, Carpenter, Robson, Ayes:

Lassa, Lazich and Darling.

(1) Senator Kanavas. Noes:

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 6, Noes 1

Kelly Johnson-Becker Committee Clerk