

State of Misconsin 2011 - 2012 LEGISLATURE



2011 ASSEMBLY JOINT RESOLUTION 10

February 4, 2011 – Introduced by Representatives Hulsey, Hebl, Pocan, Berceau, Roys, Jorgensen, Turner, Mason, Barca, Danou, Hintz, Milroy, D. Cullen, Kerkman, Sinicki, Petryk, Toles, Brooks, Krusick, LeMahieu, Shilling, Nygren, Zepnick, Tranel, Pasch, Thiesfeldt, Fields, Spanbauer, Young, Rivard, Mursau, Bies, Kaufert, A. Ott and Ballweg, cosponsored by Senators Risser, Miller, Erpenbach, S. Coggs, Lassa, Olsen, Hansen, Hopper, Taylor, Darling, Lazich, Harsdorf, Schultz, Kedzie and Cowles. Referred to Committee on Rules.

1	Relating to: commending the Wisconsin Badger football team for an outstanding
2	season and 2011 Rose Bowl bid.
3	Whereas, the Wisconsin Badgers completed a dominant regular season,
4	winning the Big Ten Title, finishing 11 and 1, and earning a bid to the Rose Bowl on
5	January 1, 2011; and
6	Whereas, the annual Rose Bowl is the oldest of all college bowl games, and its
7	history and prestige have earned it the title "The Granddaddy of Them All"; and
8	Whereas, the Rose Bowl was first played in 1902 and since 1945 has been the
9	highest attended college football bowl game; and
10	Whereas, University of Wisconsin-Madison Chancellor Biddy Martin has
11	exhibited strong leadership for the University of Wisconsin and an unyielding
12	commitment to academic excellence for its student-athletes; and
13	Whereas, Athletic Director Barry Alvarez, a three-time Rose Bowl winning
14	coach, helped lead the Badgers back to Pasadena, California; and

2011 – 2012 Legislature – 2 –

1	Whereas, Head Coach Bret Bielema showed tremendous leadership, guiding
2	the Badgers to an outstanding 11 and 1 season and an outstanding overall 49 and
3	15 record under his tenure; and
4	Whereas, senior quarterback Scott Tolzien, the most accurate passer in college
5	football, won the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award for his on–field performance, as
6	well as his character; and
7	Whereas, senior offensive lineman Gabe Carimi won the Outland Trophy, an
8	honor given to the best interior lineman in college football, in addition to being
9	selected to the Academic All–Big Ten Team as a civil engineering major; and
10	Whereas, senior defensive end J.J. Watt is an Academic All-Big Ten Team
11	selection, and winner of the Lott IMPACT Trophy, awarded nationally to a defensive
12	player for his athletic, academic, and community achievements; and
13	Whereas, the Wisconsin Badgers had six offensive linemen selected to the
14	All–Big Ten Team, when only five players start at the position; and
15	Whereas, for a second consecutive season, the Badger football team features 22
16	players that were selected to the Academic All-Big Ten team, surpassing the
17	previous record of 19 set in 2007; now, therefore, be it
18	Resolved by the assembly, the senate concurring, That the Wisconsin
19	legislature commends the student-athletes, coaches, and administrators of the
20	University of Wisconsin Badger football team for their remarkable season, Big Ten
21	Championship, and a thrilling Rose Bowl appearance.
22	(END)