2011 Senate Joint Resolution 22
Relating to: honoring the University of Wisconsin-Madison's women's hockey team.
Whereas, the University of Wisconsin-Madison women's hockey team is the 2011 NCAA Division I Women's Ice Hockey National Champion; and
Whereas, the University of Wisconsin's women's hockey team has won four national championships since 2006; and
Whereas, the Badger women's hockey team won its third conference regular season title and fourth Western Collegiate Hockey Association tournament title in program history this season; and
Whereas, Coach Mark Johnson returned to Wisconsin after a one-year sabbatical during which he served as coach of the silver-medal winning 2010 U.S. Olympic Women's Hockey Team; and
Whereas, the Badgers closed the season on a 27-game unbeaten streak with their final loss of the 2010-11 season coming on November 28, 2010; and
Whereas, the UW Women's hockey team set a new program record with 37 wins on the season and earned the UW women's hockey program's 300th win this year on November 19, 2010, against Robert Morris; and
Whereas, Senior Captain Meghan Duggan was the recipient of the prestigious Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award, given annually to the top player in NCAA Division I women's ice hockey and is the third UW recipient of the award since 2006; and
Whereas, Duggan and junior Hilary Knight were honored as first team All-Americans, while sophomore Brianna Decker earned second team honors; and
Whereas, sophomore goaltender Becca Ruegsegger received the NCAA's Elite 88 Award, presented to the student-athlete with the highest cumulative grade point average participating at the finals site for each of the NCAA's 88 championships and was honored as a WCHA Scholar Athlete and named to the All-WCHA Academic team this season; and
Whereas, the Badger women's hockey team set a new NCAA women's hockey attendance record in a victory over Minnesota this season in front of 10,668 fans at the Kohl Center; and
Whereas, the women's hockey team held its first-ever Outdoor Hockey Meet and Greet in January 2011 as a way to connect with its fans; now, therefore, be it
Resolved by the senate, the assembly concurring, That the members of the legislature congratulate the coaches, players, staff, personnel, fans, and other supporters of the University of Wisconsin's women's ice hockey team on a historic championship season.