Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Agriculture

Assembly Bill 5

Relating to: the dairy and livestock farm investment credits.

By Representatives Ripp, Nerison, Tranel, A. Ott, Petrowski, Kestell, Petersen, Radcliffe, Brooks, Tauchen, Spanbauer, Wynn, LeMahieu, Steineke, Williams, Mursau, Ballweg, Jacque, Marklein, Nygren, Strachota and Thiesfeldt; cosponsored by Senators Kapanke, Harsdorf, Hopper, Schultz and Moulton.

January 20, 2011 Referred to Committee on Agriculture.

January 26, 2011 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (13) Representatives Nerison, Tranel, A. Ott,
Mursau, Murtha, Tauchen, Ripp, Marklein,
Vruwink, Molepske Jr, Jorgensen, Danou and
Steinbrink.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Brooks and Radcliffe.

Appearances For

- Keith Ripp, Madison Rep., 47th Assembly District
- Dan Kapanke, Madison Sen., 32nd Senate District
- John Haag, Dane Haag Dairy, LLC
- Chuck Ripp, Dane Ripp's Dairy Valley, LLC
- John Manske, Madison Cooperative Network
- Shawn Pfaff, Madison Dairy Business Association
- Kara Slaughter, Madison Wisconsin Farmers Union

Appearances Against

None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- John Umhoefer, Madison Wisconsin Cheesemakers Association
- Paul Zimmerman, Madison Wisconsin Farm Bureau
- George Klaetsch, Madison Wisconsin Agribusiness Council
- Jordan Lamb, Madison Wisconsin Cattleman's Association
- Jordan Lamb, Madison Wisconsin Pork Association

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

February 10, 2011 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (14) Representatives Nerison, Tranel, A. Ott,

Mursau, Murtha, Tauchen, Brooks, Ripp, Marklein, Vruwink, Molepske Jr, Jorgensen,

Radcliffe and Danou.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Steinbrink.

Moved by Representative A. Ott, seconded by Representative Vruwink that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (14) Representatives Nerison, Tranel, A. Ott, Mursau, Murtha, Tauchen, Brooks, Ripp,

Marklein, Vruwink, Molepske Jr, Jorgensen,

Radcliffe and Danou.

Noes: (0) None.

Absent: (1) Representative Steinbrink.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Vruwink, seconded by Representative Ripp that **Assembly Bill 5** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (14) Representatives Nerison, Tranel, A. Ott, Mursau, Murtha, Tauchen, Brooks, Ripp,

Marklein, Vruwink, Molepske Jr, Jorgensen,

Radcliffe and Danou.

Noes: (0) None.

Absent: (1) Representative Steinbrink.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 0

Sandra Smith-Loomans Committee Clerk