Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Labor, Public Safety, and Urban Affairs

Senate Bill 15

Relating to: collection and analysis of motor vehicle traffic stop information and law enforcement training standards.

By Senators Lazich, Wanggaard, Grothman, Schultz, Leibham, Jauch and Olsen; cosponsored by Representatives Bernier, Jacque, Mursau, Thiesfeldt, Nass, Farrow, Brooks, LeMahieu, Vos, Ziegelbauer, Petersen, Kerkman, Ripp, Kooyenga, Bies, Strachota, Kleefisch, Kestell, Marklein and Spanbauer.

February 03, 2011 Referred to Committee on Labor, Public Safety, and Urban Affairs.

February 16, 2011 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present:	(4)	Senators Wanggaard, Lazich, S. Coggs and Wirch.
Absent:	(1)	Senator Grothman.
Excused:	(0)	None.

Appearances For

- Mary Lazich Senator
- Kathy Bernier Representative
- Van Wanggaard Senator
- J.B. Van Hollen Attorney General
- Doug Pettit Chief, Wisconsin Chiefs of Police Association
- Chris Schmaling Sheriff, Racine County
- Kurt Wahlen Chief, Racine Police Department
- Todd Nehls Sheriff, Dodge County
- James Soneberg Village of Big Bend
- Michael Hartert Chief, Big Bend Police Department
- David Beth Sheriff, Kenosha County
- Mark Buetow Milwaukee Police Association
- Randall Wright Sheriff, Shawano County
- Rick Oliva Chief, Franklin Police Department
- Steve Michek Sheriff, Badger State Sheriff's Association
- Brad Hardel Sheriff, Waupaca County
- Jeff Wiswell, Sr. WI Sheriff's & Deputy Sheriff's Association

Appearances Against

• Lena Taylor — Senator

- Spencer Coggs Senator
- A. Steven Porter Civil Rights Section, State Bar
- Chris Ahmuty ACLU of Wisconsin

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Glenn Grothman Senator
- Curt Witynski League of Wisconsin Municipalities
- Mary Wekkin League of Wisconsin Municipalities
- Susan Beety City of Menomonie
- Dan Wietecha City of Evansville
- Mason Braunschweig, Evansville
- Stan Wekken Village of North Hudson
- Larry Van Frachen Alderman, City of Brillion
- Delton J. Thorson City of Augusta
- Randy Summerfield Mayor, City of Bloomer
- Dave Breunig Mayor, City of Darlington
- Cindy Corley Darlington City Council
- Bev Anderson, Darlington
- Jerry Wehrle, Lancaster
- Frank Fiorenza, Potosi
- Mark Dahlberg Trustee, Village of Grantsburg
- Mike Hunter City of Prescott
- Mark Huber City of Prescott
- Elizabeth Fraeh City of Prescott
- Jack Chiovatero Mayor, City of New Berlin
- David Smetana, Racine
- John Hanrahan, Racine
- Sean Marochke Chief, Sturtevant Police Department

Registrations Against

- Robert Turner Representative
- Adam Korbitz, Madison State Bar of Wisconsin

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

February 22, 2011**EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present:	(5)	Senators Wanggaard, Grothman, Lazich, S. Coggs and Wirch.
Absent: Excused:		None. None.

Moved by Senator Lazich, seconded by Senator Grothman that **Senate Bill 15** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (4) Senators Wanggaard, Grothman, Lazich and Wirch.

Noes: (1) Senator S. Coggs.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 4, Noes 1

Craig Summerfield Committee Clerk